We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went to Tarata Fishaways to determine whether it will be suitable for an extended family visit at some stage.It was!”
Review of Tarata Fishaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taihape
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarata Fishaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Taihape B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The accommodation was spotless - not shortcomings anywhere - perfect bedroom, bathroom and kitchen plus if you need it, accommodation for pets! Waking up in this beautiful spot fell like paradise! Apart from the environment there are many summer activities as well - including organised fishing.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank caroliedekoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

My partner and I booked into Tarata Fishaway at the River Retreat and fell in love with it. After a couple of stressful months we wanted to go away for a night that was away from the rest of the world and that's exactly what we got. No cellphone coverage, no distractions - just a spa, an amazing view and the sound of tuis. The food was made with love and little gestures like fresh flowers scattered around the house, petals on the bed and candles with dinner just made it so much more romantic.
Overall, the view, the hospitality and the accommodation was just amazing. We will definitely be back! Thank you so much!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank kiwi-sightseeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

let me share one unforgettable day out of 27 days of self drive NZ country side tour
i wanted to visit this place after watching lords of ring and hobbit which were shot at this place. you need to plan properly and book in advance choosing right season to avoid disappointment coz of rain
we were 2 and drive from lake taupo to taihape took 4 hrs do not be in a hurry drive is beautiful passing mokai valley. the best place to stay is tarata lodge hosts trudi and stephen are very good but do not be disheartened by long drive and very much interior location, takes 1 hr from taihape to reach the lodge on the day of arrival u may regret for choosing this but wait till next few days. book for 3 nights resort is kitchen attached and if u want to cook yourself take fresh salmon and enough food materials as there are no shops
next day book for scenic river rafting with steve - 14 kms, huge canyons both sides pleasant rangitikei river u would like to visit again
3rd day book for trout fishing and explore remotest NZ countryside
on the way gravity canyon is there but u can do this in aj hacket, kawarau do not forget to take good wine and beer fill petrol at taihape book directly better to carry nzd cash also
it is difficult to describe in words - big thank you trudi and steve

Room Tip: if u r 2 opt for river retreat more than 4 book tree top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suresh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

My husband and I stayed two nights at this wonderful fishing lodge , hosted by Trudi and Stephen who, with all of their pets, are so welcoming. We both had a great day on the river fishing, rafting and taking photographs. This visit added so much to our New Zealand vacation. Be sure to take food and booze in with you because it's a long drive to the nearest town!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love sharing our little piece of paradise. Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Our stay at the Tarata Fishaway Lodge was the high point of our seven week tour of New Zealand. Hosts Steven and Trudi made our time here unforgettable. Great hospitality and what a location!... it's like waking up in a movie. Steve certainly knows what he's doing on the river, with the result that we had two fantastic days fishing on the crystal clear Rangitikei river that flows through the gorge which our private lodge (The River Retreat) overlooked. Hard-fighting, fin-perfect, rainbow and brown trout were spotted, caught, educated (artificial vs real fly identification!) and released unharmed. Family pets include the Saint Bernards, Michael the magpie, Rocky the deer plus the adorable Labrador and the cat.

I can't praise this place, and Trudi and Steven, highly enough. We'll be back for sure (not least to repay Trudi for posting my forgotten clothes on to us!)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love sharing our little piece of paradise. We thought you were movie stars. See you next time. Glad you received your clothes ok. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taihape hotels
18.8 km away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
448 reviews
7.6 km away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
195 reviews
18.0 km away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Gretna Hotel
Gretna Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taihape
3 reviews
18.8 km away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
55 reviews
0.0 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarata Fishaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarata Fishaway

Address: 925 Mokai Road | Rd 3, Taihape 4793, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Taihape
Price Range: $120 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Fishing/Farm lodge in the remote Mokai Valley right on the Rangitikei River. Trout fishing right at your door step. Gorgeous accommodation and amazing scenery. Very quiet and private with own spa pool and the trout fishing is amazing. Enjoy a scenic raft trip or just enjoy the stunning scenery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing