We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarata Fishaway
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Motel(Taihape)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman Motel(Taihape)(Great Value!)
US$82
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gretna Hotel(Taihape)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Rusty Nail Backpackers(Taihape)(Great Value!)
US$39
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peaks Motor Inn(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohakune Court Motel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
59
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housetroutrangitikei riverhot tubrafting tripfly fishingmagic carpet ridepiece of paradisewonderful retreatmagnificent sceneryhard workfishing experiencefresh flowerstwo nightsoff the beaten trackspecial thanksthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2016

My husband and I stayed two nights at this wonderful fishing lodge , hosted by Trudi and Stephen who, with all of their pets, are so welcoming. We both had a great day on the river fishing, rafting and taking photographs. This visit added so much to our New Zealand vacation. Be sure to take food and booze in with you because it's a long drive to the nearest town!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love sharing our little piece of paradise. Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Our stay at the Tarata Fishaway Lodge was the high point of our seven week tour of New Zealand. Hosts Steven and Trudi made our time here unforgettable. Great hospitality and what a location!... it's like waking up in a movie. Steve certainly knows what he's doing on the river, with the result that we had two fantastic days fishing on the crystal clear Rangitikei river that flows through the gorge which our private lodge (The River Retreat) overlooked. Hard-fighting, fin-perfect, rainbow and brown trout were spotted, caught, educated (artificial vs real fly identification!) and released unharmed. Family pets include the Saint Bernards, Michael the magpie, Rocky the deer plus the adorable Labrador and the cat.

I can't praise this place, and Trudi and Steven, highly enough. We'll be back for sure (not least to repay Trudi for posting my forgotten clothes on to us!)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love sharing our little piece of paradise. We thought you were movie stars. See you next time. Glad you received your clothes ok. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We spent 2 unforgettable days at this truly remarkable property! It's off the beaten track along the Rangitikei River. Our hosts, Steve and Trudi, couldn't have made us feel more welcome. We stayed in the Treehouse which was comfortably furnished and took advantage of the magnificent view of the Rangitikei. We had a full kitchen and use of laundry facilities. Outside our rooms were grazing sheep, llama, deer, and alpaca. A little farther away were chickens providing us with fresh eggs. Best of all were the 8 St. Bernard puppies to fawn over. Trudi prepared delicious meals, and Steve entertained us with his stories. Especially memorable was a light river rafting trip we took with Steve and River, the Lab--It seemed as if we had the whole Rangitikei Valley and River to ourselves. We took a small hike to see a beautiful waterfall and swam in the river, soaking in the sunshine and breathtaking view. Later that evening while secure in our rooms, we listened to the sound of pouring rain and thunder. Truly a highlight of our time in NZ!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank augustus32407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Really enjoyed your review. We love sharing our little piece of paradise. Yes its going to be sad to see the puppies go next week, they have grown so much. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2016

A remote place to relax and enjoy a great river and scenery. Although it is stated as being a Fishaway Lodge it is a great place to just relax and walk and enjoy the Rangitikei river. We really enjoyed the trip down the river, very safe and amazing scenery. For overseas visitors this is a great place to visit. Its rustic and natural but clean and pleasant to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JATWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Yes we get lots of people that come to stay that don't fish. Thank you for pointing this out to our readers. So glad you had a lovely time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Myself and another Aussie mate recently spent 10 days at Tarata and, having spent 15 years travelling to New Zealand for fly fishing holidays, can confidently say that this was the best overall hospitality we have both experienced.
Steve and Trudi (and the girls) are fantastic hosts and their property at Tarata is a credit to 20 years of hard work and a clear understanding of knowing what guests like and the special touches that you remember so well. The accomodation is modern, clean and comfortable and the view from the hot tub down to the river valley is priceless.
The fishing! Steve, what can we say? Quite simply, you're the hardest working guide either Craig or I have come across and you know The River and its tributaries like the back of your hand. On 3 days of our 4 days guiding with you, we actually stopped counting how many fish we'd caught! Your ability to pick the weather and organise back-country trips was also first-class and resulted in a couple of days fishing that I rate as some of the best I've ever experienced anywhere in the world. Thank you so much for sharing those special rivers with us!
Steve and Trudi, needless to say we are already planning our next trip to Tarata and can't wait - thanks for a great holiday and being such great hosts.
Josh and Craig.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write. Stephen really enjoyed the fishing with you both and looks forward to your return next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews