We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great spot, great time”
Review of Tarata Fishaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taihape
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarata Fishaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Taihape B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Tarata is in the middle of no place in a sparsely inhabited part of North Island - part of its charm. On the recommendation of our travel guide, Veronica, the wonderful owner of Aroha Luxury NZ Tours, we stayed for two nights on our two week North Island tour at Tarata. Veronica had made sure that we knew that this was not going to be the 5* accommodations we used to but assured us that we would love it none the less.

She was so right. It was one of the highlights of our two weeks on North Island. Well off the beaten path. My wife, stepson and I stayed in the Tree House accommodation. Because it was winter we had it all to our selves with spectacular river and canyon views, a spa pool to chill in at days end, and the milky way to view at night.

Trudi and Steve are the very best of NZ both as people and as hosts. We were treated as personal friends and welcomed into their home for dinners and conversation at day's end. Trudi is as warm as they come. Steve is a story teller of 1st order. River, the resident canine is a friend to all.

The three of us took the 14 km raft trip down the river with Steve as our guide. A remarkable and special experience. We did the clay shooting thing but Steve also took us on a night possum hunting trip - a first for all of us. He also took the time to take us to the "shed" for some real life (vs tourist demonstration) time at sheep shearing, giving Stephen, my stepson, some actual shearing time.

Did I mention the tranquility. Did I mention the warmth. Did I mention that the next time we are on North Island (one of earth's VERY special places) we will make sure a couple of days are spent with Trudi and Steve at Tarata.

And special thanks to Veronika for convincing us to stay at this very special place. This was the second trip we've done with her. Two weeks on South Island in 2013 and two weeks this year on North Island. Aroha is the best and Veronika, as the owner, is the best of the best.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank noclvrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2015

So Glad you had a lovely time. We loved having you. We really enjoyed the picnic down by the River after your rafting trip. Thanks for a great review. Look forward to your return. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2015

We have stayed at Tarata Fishaway twice now (within a month) and we will definitely be back!!

The first time we stayed in the River retreat which is just amazing. It’s nestled in the bush with beautiful views over the hills and down to the river, and the spa pool on the deck looking out is just divine. Sitting in the spa overlooking paradise in every direction really is magical.

The second time we rented out the tree house for my parents 50th wedding anniversary. All the family stayed and made the most of the space in the house, as well as exploring the grounds and walking down to the river. It’s the perfect place for a large group to get together and sitting at the dining table looking down the gorge and out over the river (while having a few wines) is bliss. Whichever part of Tarata Fishaway you decide to stay in - it really is a paradise that should be visited. The serenity there is something you can’t explain – it needs to be experienced. Trudi is simply amazing too. She goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need and will do all she can to make your stay perfect!

We will be back – more than once!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2015

Thank you for your great review. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

My wife and I were on a self drive trip and needed a spot to stop between Rotorua and Wellington. Our trip planner picked this location because we said we liked the outdoors and nature. Don't give up ... it some 15km after you leave the main road. We only were passing through but really enjoyed the rustic tree house room. When we arrive the owners (Stephen and Trudy) were out ... they had left a note on a chalkboard that was so cool. It was a map of the B&B showing us were to bunk down .... no key needed. We were tired and it was getting late when Trudy stopped by to make sure we were settled in. She asked if we had food and when we said no ... she replied "Well, you have to eat with us" They provide (for a modest fee) dinner with the family. We joined a Canadian couple who were on their 5th visit to New Zealand. He came to Tarata to fish; she to ride horses. We joined with the Canadians and our hosts in a meal of local green lipped mussels, grilled steak and vegetables. Great conversation over great home cooked food. These were real Kiwis who loved the B&B business.

We were housed next to 8 senior male Aussies (one was 87) who were on their annual pilgrimage to catch trout. Fisherman rise early so they go to bed early and sleep soundly ... we didn't even know they were in the adjoining rooms. When I asked how the fishing had been that day, one replied I caught 15 (5-12 pound) trout released 14 .... one's dinner. They all said this was the greatest place for trout. For us we enjoyed the quiet, the dramatic river gorge outside our door, the fantastic stars and the interaction with the owners and other guests. If you want to catch some beautiful fish ... this is your place. Don't come if you like the nightlight .... but the starlight is magnificent.

Room Tip: If you live to fish ... this is your place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

My wife and I visited Tarata in October of 2010 (no chance to select that date - sorry). Although it was not the best time of year for fishing, Stephen and I had 2 fantastic days on the Rangitikei. I really enjoyed visiting with Steve and he is superbly skilled at rafting and fishing. The accommodations are exquisite and the meals were absolutely first class. I found Tarata in a fishing review that stated, "if you ever get the chance, you must fish the Rangitikei with Stephen," and it was absolutely accurate. You will miss a chance of a life-time if you don't stay at Tarata Fishaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SnorkelingSeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Tarata Fishaway is a great B&B!

Our family stayed here for 2 nights after completing the Tongariro Alipine Crossing earlier the first day. We used our time here mostly for rest after that tough hike, and boy was it worth it!

They don't advertise about the drive in, but it's already beautiful! About 15km off the highway, you cross over several one lane bridges, through deep valleys and steep hills. Gorgeous views, and this is just a preview of what is to come!

Trudi and Stephen run a great B&B with their daughters with several buildings/rooms. We stayed in the "Tree House", which has 2 bedrooms above, with a kitchen and living room, and amazing view overlooking the Rangitikei River. There's also a single room on the lower level where another family stayed.

We had intended to relax, but we couldn't pass up the opportunity to go rafting down the Rangitikei River with Stephen. Stephen is full of great stories (some true, some tall tales). =) The view on the Rangitikei River is the greatest! If you enjoy being outdoors at all, you'll enjoy this a lot! There are a few small rapids, but nothing too difficult for even a novice family like ours.

We're not a fishing family, but Stephen knows everything there is to know about this river, so I'm sure you'll catch some big ones here!

Be prepared to be off the grid while you're here: no wi-fi, no cell service. And that's just the way we wanted it these days.

Breakfast supplies were brought to our treehouse so we could make our own breakfasts in the morning, and we joined the hosts and another couple staying at the Tarata Fishaway for supper one evening. Great food, wine, and pavlova! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taihape hotels
18.9 km away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
59 reviews
7.7 km away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
199 reviews
18.9 km away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
53 reviews
18 km away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
32 reviews
18.3 km away
Gretna Hotel
Gretna Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taihape
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarata Fishaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarata Fishaway

Address: 925 Mokai Road | Rd 3, Taihape 4793, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Taihape
Price Range: $120 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Fishing/Farm lodge in the remote Mokai Valley right on the Rangitikei River. Trout fishing right at your door step. Gorgeous accommodation and amazing scenery. Very quiet and private with own spa pool and the trout fishing is amazing. Enjoy a scenic raft trip or just enjoy the stunning scenery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing