We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Safari Motel(Taihape)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rusty Nail Backpackers(Taihape)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peaks Motor Inn(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$123
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohakune Court Motel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gretna Hotel(Taihape)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
59
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree houserangitikei riverhot tubrafting tripfly fishingmagic carpet ridepiece of paradisehard workfishing experiencefresh flowerstwo nightsoff the beaten trackspecial thanksthe main houseother guestsbeautiful scenerylovely place
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We have stayed at Tarata Fishaway twice now (within a month) and we will definitely be back!!

The first time we stayed in the River retreat which is just amazing. It’s nestled in the bush with beautiful views over the hills and down to the river, and the spa pool on the deck looking out is just divine. Sitting in the spa overlooking paradise in every direction really is magical.

The second time we rented out the tree house for my parents 50th wedding anniversary. All the family stayed and made the most of the space in the house, as well as exploring the grounds and walking down to the river. It’s the perfect place for a large group to get together and sitting at the dining table looking down the gorge and out over the river (while having a few wines) is bliss. Whichever part of Tarata Fishaway you decide to stay in - it really is a paradise that should be visited. The serenity there is something you can’t explain – it needs to be experienced. Trudi is simply amazing too. She goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need and will do all she can to make your stay perfect!

We will be back – more than once!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2015

Thank you for your great review. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

My wife and I were on a self drive trip and needed a spot to stop between Rotorua and Wellington. Our trip planner picked this location because we said we liked the outdoors and nature. Don't give up ... it some 15km after you leave the main road. We only were passing through but really enjoyed the rustic tree house room. When we arrive the owners (Stephen and Trudy) were out ... they had left a note on a chalkboard that was so cool. It was a map of the B&B showing us were to bunk down .... no key needed. We were tired and it was getting late when Trudy stopped by to make sure we were settled in. She asked if we had food and when we said no ... she replied "Well, you have to eat with us" They provide (for a modest fee) dinner with the family. We joined a Canadian couple who were on their 5th visit to New Zealand. He came to Tarata to fish; she to ride horses. We joined with the Canadians and our hosts in a meal of local green lipped mussels, grilled steak and vegetables. Great conversation over great home cooked food. These were real Kiwis who loved the B&B business.

We were housed next to 8 senior male Aussies (one was 87) who were on their annual pilgrimage to catch trout. Fisherman rise early so they go to bed early and sleep soundly ... we didn't even know they were in the adjoining rooms. When I asked how the fishing had been that day, one replied I caught 15 (5-12 pound) trout released 14 .... one's dinner. They all said this was the greatest place for trout. For us we enjoyed the quiet, the dramatic river gorge outside our door, the fantastic stars and the interaction with the owners and other guests. If you want to catch some beautiful fish ... this is your place. Don't come if you like the nightlight .... but the starlight is magnificent.

Room Tip: If you live to fish ... this is your place.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

My wife and I visited Tarata in October of 2010 (no chance to select that date - sorry). Although it was not the best time of year for fishing, Stephen and I had 2 fantastic days on the Rangitikei. I really enjoyed visiting with Steve and he is superbly skilled at rafting and fishing. The accommodations are exquisite and the meals were absolutely first class. I found Tarata in a fishing review that stated, "if you ever get the chance, you must fish the Rangitikei with Stephen," and it was absolutely accurate. You will miss a chance of a life-time if you don't stay at Tarata Fishaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SnorkelingSeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

Tarata Fishaway is a great B&B!

Our family stayed here for 2 nights after completing the Tongariro Alipine Crossing earlier the first day. We used our time here mostly for rest after that tough hike, and boy was it worth it!

They don't advertise about the drive in, but it's already beautiful! About 15km off the highway, you cross over several one lane bridges, through deep valleys and steep hills. Gorgeous views, and this is just a preview of what is to come!

Trudi and Stephen run a great B&B with their daughters with several buildings/rooms. We stayed in the "Tree House", which has 2 bedrooms above, with a kitchen and living room, and amazing view overlooking the Rangitikei River. There's also a single room on the lower level where another family stayed.

We had intended to relax, but we couldn't pass up the opportunity to go rafting down the Rangitikei River with Stephen. Stephen is full of great stories (some true, some tall tales). =) The view on the Rangitikei River is the greatest! If you enjoy being outdoors at all, you'll enjoy this a lot! There are a few small rapids, but nothing too difficult for even a novice family like ours.

We're not a fishing family, but Stephen knows everything there is to know about this river, so I'm sure you'll catch some big ones here!

Be prepared to be off the grid while you're here: no wi-fi, no cell service. And that's just the way we wanted it these days.

Breakfast supplies were brought to our treehouse so we could make our own breakfasts in the morning, and we joined the hosts and another couple staying at the Tarata Fishaway for supper one evening. Great food, wine, and pavlova! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2014 via mobile

An outstanding days guided raft fly fishing today with Steve and Brierley. Many fish on the bank.
Steve is an outstanding guide who is lucky enough to guide on a world class trout fishery. He knows the names and addresses of every fish in this sensational river and works hard to ensure every client has an outstanding day. Thanks!!

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rnewton62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews