We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil and wonderful”
Doornbosch Guesthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doornbosch Guesthouse
Horse riding in the 5000 ha fynbos flowers Protea suite en-suite bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Doornbosch Guesthouse
Horse riding in the 5000 ha fynbos flowers
Protea suite en-suite bathroom
Patio view
Bedroom Fynbos suite
Lounge Doornbosch Guesthouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 18 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Napier, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
OliversMo...
South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil and wonderful”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I've visited Doornbosch twice already this year. The first time because I needed some solitude to meet a deadline. I enjoyed the experience so much that I simply had to return purely for some leisure time.

The place is absolutely gorgeous, the cottages and guest lodge are homey and stunning. If you're looking for a quiet place to just relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of nature, this might be the place for you. It's not completely cut off from the world though... there are restaurants, pubs, beaches and museums just a short drive away... so you can plan adventurous day trips and then unwind on your porch back at Doornbosch at the end of the day. Doornbosch itself offers a gorgeous, sparkling swimming pool to enjoy, horse riding adventures and a wonderful game drive. They also produce fantastic honey!

The managers, Heidi and Bertie are warm and welcoming people who will go out of their way to make you feel at home. I highly recommend Doornbosch. Like I said, I've been there twice already but I will definitely be going back for another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely response. We loved having you your family and Maya and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaileyNap...
Napier
1 review
“You could be anywhere in the world .... and you just might be!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I never thoght i could or would experience such loveliness.......
we woke up after a well deserved sleep in a guest cottage**** fit for royalty on a game farm in the Overberg,normally my bladder wakes me up but today i was awoken by Guinea fowl calling their mates.Eland (south africas largest antelope )balking in nthe early morning mist.... looking out a window with coffee in hand i witnessed alittle bit of heaven unfold as the deer and antelope play (really )right outside our window on a beautiful wet cool morning.
The managers Berty and Heidi could not do enough to make us comfortable .
After a fabulous breakfast which we self prepared with venison and boerewors eggs the works .... heidi informed us we were going horse-back riding in the bushveld amongst the wildlife.
No unnatural noise.... just the splendour of the mountains and seeing Zebra ,ostrich,Springbokand deer grazing on the natural vegetation of our rental in Doornbosch-one would expect ahungry lion to pounce out of the bush- but the only thing hungry was us-but soon enough we were treated to a barbeque,where we savoured the true tastes of the bushveld
We could have beeen anywhere in the world,except we were in fynbos paradise,fit for royalty.
thankyou to the wonderful maritz family... we will definitely be back and so will our friends ... we hear the summer is even better
.... oh and i must add they offer hikes,horse riding lessons and game hunting by app only
... till; we meet again and thankyou
Aurevoir ... Tally ho, tot siens ever so much

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thanks for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas P
Wuppertal, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
Google Translation

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2015
Thank you very much. We love to show our beautiful countryside to people who appreciate the silence and nature and its surrounds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing