We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location ...... but construction...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Tanjung

Absolute waterfront
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Absolute waterfront
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Absolute waterfront
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Nusa Lembongan, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter S
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing location ...... but construction happening right next door”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and I stayed at Villa Tanjung for 8 nights with our three adult kids and their partners. We booked the trip 15 months prior and did a lot of research in order to try and find the perfect villa. My biggest concern about the villa was that we had established from the owner that someone had bought land on the penninsular. In the end we decided to go for it as the owner was not aware of plans to build and she told us it wasn't near the villa anyway. So, imagine how we felt when we pulled up at the entrance to the villa to find a huge construction site right next to the villa's grounds. The reality was that because of the stage of construction, it actually didn't effect us that badly. However, by the time we left, it was already getting noisier and I imagine it could end up being really bad over the next few months. Once finished, the construction is apparantly going to be a restaurant, so I would be concerned about music playing and the general increase in noise from scooters etc coming and going. I would advise anyone to request clarification on noise levels prior to booking.

The villa itself is wonderful. Incredible views, particularly in the early evening when the sun sets. The rooms are very nice, although you should note that the two bedrooms furthest from the villa are right next to the construction. Staff are helpful, albeit I recommend you ask plenty of clarifiying questions so that everyone is on the same page. Access to the water from the bottom of the steps is possible but I would recommend you always use scuba gear as the currents are strong. Also, you should only jump in off the cliff at high tide!

Breakfast was very good with the staff being super flexible about 8 people all wanting little variations from the menu! We ate dinner in every night because the food is as good as most restuarant food and the setting perfect. It ook us a few days to arrive at the right quantity. We brought our own booze, but also used mixers etc from the fridge. These were constantly restocked, so we were never wanting for alcholic beverages! We found the restaurants, particularly in the South and East, great places to go for long lunches. We got taxis everywhere, but most people use scooters. They are super cheap to rent.

Overall, the villa was spectacular and we had a wonderful time however I can't give it a 5 star review because of the construction. I do worry about the impact of this on the villa both in the short term (construction noise) and long term (restaurant noise and general traffic). Based on what we saw, I would struggle to recommend the villa to a friend now.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FABourdai...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Indonesia at a different level. This is what you're looking for.”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We were a group of a couple of families and independent travelers - about 10 total.
If you are looking for a great Indonesian experience, but are put off by Seminyak and Kuta, this is the answer. First the Villa - one massive covered structure with kitchen dining, couches, a day bed and seating area by the bar. Very large, and very impressive architecture. Easily large enough to handle our group of 10. And, a big screen TV and wifi if you must. In front of the pavilion is a nice pool overlooking the ocean. Second - the staff. Great service. Anything we wanted to do was arranged by Ketut without a hitch - transportation, dinner reservations, snorkeling with manta rays, scooters, surfboards and even a boat to pick you up and take you out to the surf breaks. They make a fantastic breakfast morning, and can make lunch and dinner if you choose. The rooms are very private and well appointed including air con and really comfortable beds. We had a very relaxing and stress free stay, and would definitely go back. It's quiet with none of the craziness you find in much of Bail. You can swim in the ocean directly off the villa. The water is clear and warm. Just be careful if there is a big swell as the ladder can be a little tricky. All in all one of the best holidays I've ever had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew E
1 review
“Photos don't do this Villa justice! Highly Recommended!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Villa Tanjung is off the charts! The spot on the Lembongan headland is truly incredible, as is the island itself! The open plan lounge, alfresco and infinity pool overlook 180 degrees of the most amazing ocean views - we even watched pods of dolphins playing on two occasions! The amenities are all top shelf and are too many to mention and the staff were brilliant. We particularly enjoyed having running drinking water freely available in the alfresco area. The food was great in and out of the Villa, with the staff equally happy to prepare meals for us or suggest Warung or Restaurants. We hope to be back again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steph T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You are in for an exceptional experience”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

You are in for an exceptional experience. If we could give seven stars we would, but unfortunately we are limited to five. The fun starts with the check in where Ketut and his crew welcome you with the famous Bali smile. The staff are terrific and enjoy a joke. They know when to help and when to give you space. Ketut is Mr Fixit and can get anything done either at the Villa or in the local area - no fuss. The staff are available 24/7 if needed. The stunning view as you walk through the garden and into the living area is jaw dropping, and cannot be overstated. We honestly struggled to speak for the first few minutes when we entered the villa. On clear days, you can see details of the volcano across the straight, and in the evenings, the sunsets reflect beautifully along the length of the 19m pool. The day bed is the perfect spot to read a book or just enjoy the view. The design and architecture of this building is amazing. Its prominence from the sea and land is justified by its detail and interesting construction. Do read the coffee table book showing how the site was developed All the bedrooms have beautiful views, and being only 18 months old, still have that "new" feel throughout. As for wildlife, the snorkelling off the point is very good. We saw corals, sea slugs and many fish during our swims. There are also a variety of gekos and lizards, one of whom is around 1.5m long! A real treat if you spot him before he runs off. We also saw a large pod of dolphins swim across the point several times. A secret beach adjacent to the point provides a quiet spot for a swim or just to sit and read a book. Ask Ketut how to find the track. The location also enjoys the happy combination of privacy, but centrally positioned. The breakfasts were a highlight. Do try the omelette! We ate out a lot, but the lunch and evening meals we had at the Villa were at least as good. The food is very well priced, as are the drinks. Overall probably the most beautiful villa we have ever seen in one of the world's most beautiful spots. Thank you Michael for sharing your diamond :)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPrenti
2 reviews
“Amazing trip!!! Would highly recommend!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We spent 4 days at Villa Tanjung and only wish we had booked more. Everything about it was fantastic, from the amazing staff to the beautifully designed villa and even the breathtaking views. I will definitely be returning with my family as soon as I can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing