We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great short break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Willow Cottage

Pretty 15 century cottage set in the heart of the countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty 15 century cottage set in the heart of the countryside
Patio area overlooking the garden and French doors into the lounge Approach to the cottage good secure garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Pretty 15 century cottage set in the heart of the countryside
Patio area overlooking the garden and French doors into the lounge
Approach to the cottage good secure garden
View from the field back over the garden
Cosy lounge with wood burner
Lounge with French doors out to the patio
Fireplace with wood burner
Well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with seating for 6
Hall from the kitchen to the dining room
Really useful utility /boot room/pantry
Stair case ,typical Suffolk cottage style winding up to the bedrooms
Pretty bedroom with a king size iron bed
En suite bathroom
Double bed in the second bedroom
Dressing table in main bedroom
View from the kitchen window and patio
Set in a lovely large garden meadows extending to 2 acres
Walk to the lake across the meadow adjacent to the cottage full of butterflies in the summer
Fabulous lake ideal for a relaxing afternoon,stocked with pike, rudd, tench and perch
Characterful Dining room
A happy fisherman
Happy fisherman !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Framlingham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Audrey E
Guyhirn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Great short break”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just back from our 2nd visit to Willow Cottage this year. A delicious cake was waiting when we arrived and, as before, the cottage was perfect. Lovely walks with our two small dogs and plenty of room to relax after days out. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the accomodation
Liked least: The weather!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey E
Guyhirn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“A wonderful step back in time!”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Penny and Nick were great hosts and the homemade cakes were very much appreciated. We plan to revisit as soon as possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner
Liked least: We couldn't fault it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed in Willow Cottage for a long weekend with another couple and found it a perfect base for 2 couples to enjoy the Suffolk countryside and Coast. A lovely cake was there on our arrival and everything that we needed including a log fire just needing to be lit. Framlingham is a short drive away and a lovely town to look around. We also visited Sutton Hoo and Jimmys Farm in one day and Aldeburgh and Southwold on another. All about 30 to 40 minutes away. Lambing had just started during our visit and Penny invited us to see the new borns...a lovely end to our holiday. We can recommend the DanicingGoat in for a lunch, Aldeburgh chips are a must (always a queue for these) and Mr Chans chinese was good.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracyi229...
Bedfordhsire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great character cottage, loved the sloping floors”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Had a lovely 3 day break, the carrot cake was a welcome surprise as was the real fire which we lit every night. The downstairs shower was amazing . Will definitely return,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: character
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terry s
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Cottage with large dog friendly garden in ideal situation to explore the Suffolk coast”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A warm welcome by Penny the owner, even left us a beautiful cake for our arrival . on a by road so could hear the birds in the garden as we sat on the patio for breakfast
A traditional Suffolk cottage but at over 6ft did not find ceilings that much of a problem and very modern downstairs shower room balanced well the roll top bathroom upstairs
I personally would have no more than 4 staying at the cottage ,however dining table could seat 6 at a pinch Stairs are steep so very small children and elderly/disabled may have difficulties getting to first floor
Location superb for exploring Framlingham a 15 minute cycle ride away with good facilities and places to eat ,the Crown ,the station and a relaxed Café for breakfast ( try the eggy bread!)
Other local places to eat Dennington Head very good.
Easy to get to Sutton Hoo,45mins,Orford,Aldburough,Dunwich,and Sizewell ( quieter beach at weekends) 30 mins and our favourite place Southwold 40 mins . ( more sandy beach here dogs allowed only September to end of April ) busy but worth a trip ,Coasters restaurant very good and next door" beaches and cream" sweet shop sell dog friendly ice cream which our dog really enjoyed )

If you go to this cottage I hope you enjoy it as much as we did

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: having to come home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing