We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
The large deck overlooking Crocodile river and Kruger Park. The best view in the whole park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
The large deck overlooking Crocodile river and Kruger Park. The best view in the whole park
Spend the day relaxing while still game viewing. Others must drive for a look at Kruger. You don't
Probably the best breakfast bar in the world
The fold away doors from the living area open out to the great deck. Guests have seen Big 5 here
Living room
Twin bedroom
Living area downstairs leading to a fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need.
Downstairs shower
The house in full. This is all your to rent. No sharing.
The house at night. So close to the river you hear all the great African sounds of the night.
Expect regular visitors in the garden.
You will see plenty of visitors in the garden to give you a real safari bush experience
The splash pool to cool down during the hot day
With its position, not only overlooking Kruger but in line for magnificant sunset every night
The house in the African bush
The view from the deck over Kruger Park. One of the best views in Africa.
The house surrounded by the African bush
Double bedroom.
Live like a South African and enjoy barbques at night
Sunset from the deck. An amazing experience
Every morning, grab a coffee and have a look to see whats at the river
More visitors in thew garden
More of the view from the house
Spotted from the deck regu
The garage in the park. Shops too not you are not too isolated.
You will get very close to the game. Closer than in most parks
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 1
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 2
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April - Part 3
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 4
Lion hunt photographed from deck April 2012 - Part 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Melanie W
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

First the Positive: Nicki, the manager on duty gave us a warm, friendly welcome upon arrival. The property was spotless and we didn't want or need anything. Everything was provided for.
We had a truly fabulous, awesome, terrific week at Majuli. The property and location were EXACTLY as advertised!
We were a family staying there. My husband and one of our sons (20 years old). My husband enjoyed the deck and he had his binoculars, camera and tripod set up within minutes of arrival. The sightings we saw from the deck across the Croc River into KNP alone were amazing. Buffalo, Elephant, Hippo, Fish Eagles; King Fishers, Water buck, Monkeys and Impala --- to name but a few. On the property, we had daily visits from Wildebeest, Zebra, Warthog, monkeys, birds a plenty.
Both bedrooms had aircons, which we used every day.
The splash pool - ideal venue to cool down with a sundowner of an afternoon.
Tiny little negative: (It's an suggestion on improvement rather than a negative)
Both the upstairs and downstairs showers could do with 'shower buddies' hanging on the taps, so there's somewhere to put your soap, shampoo, sponges while showering, etc instead of dumping them on the floor. Perhaps also a hook or two to hang clothes on while in shower.
THANK YOU MAJULI FOR A WONDERFUL BREAK - WE W-I-L-L BE BACK !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous upstairs wooden deck overlooking the Crocodile River
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shetjan
Oyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great House, Great Location, Terrific wildlife”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is the third time that we have stayed at this property, and it just gets better, the house is in a fantastic location and the views into Kruger are terrific, if you sit on the balcony and wait you will be amazed what comes wandering along. Every time we have visited the house has been improved a little, and the new manager Jeannine has continued this, the house was spotless and there is a new cooker which has been fitted since our last stay in December 2012. The house is equipped with everything you could need, including a charcoal/wood braai in the garden and a gas one on the balcony.

Each time we have stayed there have been different experiences and viewings, and this time we added lions, rhinos and ground horn-bills to our list of animals seen from the balcony without travelling more than a few yards from the bedroom. The completion of the tarmac road to Crocodile gate has improved things terrifically and it is now only half an hour from the front door to Crocodile gate where you can enter Kruger park. As usual during our stay the garden was visited by the usual assortment of Kudu, Zebra, Impala, Warthogs and Baboons on occasion.

We did several day trips into Kruger, mixed with lazy days just sitting on the balcony, and saw a huge variety of wildlife, including the big 5, several packs of wild dogs, lots of Hyenas and a huge variety of bird life, this is a great location for your African holiday, and i am absolutely sure we will be back again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location is fabulous
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
We were honored to accommodate you again and we are delighted the changes/upgrades we made have gone down well. You really had a special stay seeing 4 of the Big 5 from the deck of the house!

Can't wait to see you in the bush again.

Derrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco824
Male , Maldives
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming house ; amazing location”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed 10 wonderful days at the lodge which has everything , except food and drinks , to make one feel comfortable and secure . The house balcony offers a grat view on the crocodile river with its amazing animals and birds activity . The front and back yards are often visited by a variety of game . The Kruger gates are a few kilometres away which allowes exiting daily park visits and warm home returns in the evenings, where to enjoy the privacy and beauty of the lodge and its surroundings .
...would have stayed for years there ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge and its location
Liked least: I just liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob B
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LODGE,STUNNING VIEWS”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

WOW!!we arrived on Good Friday for the Easter weekend trip to the Kruger Park,the lodge was amazing,stunning views over Crocodile river watching the hippos and fish eagles!The lodge was brilliant comfy bed and air conditioning,everything you needed was there!If you go and in a small car like we were don't take first Marloth Park sign as the dirt road was very bumpy!we did have fun though!There was even a skottel for a beautiful morning breakfast!
DO NOT HESITATE TO BOOK THIS LODGE YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2013
Thanks again for your booking and review. We are delighted you enjoyed it as much as you did. It's a magical little house in a safari park and we love when others fall in love with it as much as we do. Thanks again and don't hesitate to contact us again if you fancy a trip to the African bush.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shetjan
Oyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is a great place to stay and watch the world go by”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

this was our second visit to Majuli lodge, and it was even better than last time. The house has been de-cluttered a bit, and the new manager Douw was very helpful whenever we needed something. If you want a perfect place to sit on the ek spent with all the family in a lovely house.balcony, chill out with a cold drink and watch the wildlife then this is it. We had elephants just beyond the fence on our side of the river within half an hour of arrival, and throughout our ten day stay there was always something to see, including a terrific assortment of birds of all shapes and sizes.

The house is fairly basic but has everything that you need, and the views are to die for. there is an endless stream of visits both in the garden and across the fence in the crocodile river; we had zebra, kudu and warthogs in the gardens whilst we were there, saw ostrich, kudu, giraffe, zebra, wildebeest wandering around marloth park amongst the houses,and saw elephants, hippos, buffalo, crocs, water buck, warthogs, and impala amongst others coming for a drink or playing in the river. I can't tell you how much fun it is just sitting on the balcony waiting to sek spent with all the family in a lovely house.ee what comes along next, other guests have seen a lion kill on the river bank but we weren't that fortunate. If you put animal feed out ion the garden then you will see more animals visiting, and can even hand feed zebras etc when they get used to you.

The back road to Kruger crocodile gate is now complete and it makes the journey into Kruger very quick, about 15 minutes for the marloth East gate now. We spent several days travelling through Kruger on day trips and occasional overnight stays, and saw pretty much everything in good numbers, with more lions than we have seen in our whole lives in this one trip. We still didn't see a leopard, but we saw several cheetahs under a tree so that was some compensation. It is so easy to do these trips around Kruger, just hire a car and drive yourself on mostly tarred roads.

make sure that you lock everything up when you go out and don't leave the windows open as the baboons will try to get in and are pretty smart, apparently they make a real mess if they do but we didn't see much of them in our stay.

We flew to Kruger mpumalanga from joburg which makes the drive much shorter, about 90 minutes to the house, although its worth stopping at the big spar and bottle store outside malelane to fill up on the way so that you have most of what you need when you arrive. food and drink is very cheap at the moment compared to the UK with a high exchange rate, and its pretty cheap to live in SA.

We will be back again later in the year, its just such a thrill and so relaxing. there is a good 3G signal so we picked up a cell c dongle at joburg and it gave us full internet access throughout the stay. we had 3 gigs on the stick and used less than half of that.

for a great holiday its worth having a couple of days staying in Kruger somewhere like SATARA rest camp during your longer stay at Majuli lodge, so that you can have an early morning drive at the camp, which opens an hour before the main gates for residents.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fantastic views from the balconies
Liked least: it was over 40° C some days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing