We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Thomas W
Santpoort-Zuid, The Netherlands

Authentic hotel near the centre of Interlaken

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Aug 2022
Very nice hotel in quiet surroundings of Interlaken and near the lake side. Room is nice and clean, bathroom is modern and clean and has nice shampoo and shower lotion. Personel is wearing traditional dresses and very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a spa and sauna. Parking is in front of the hotel.
Diner at the hotel restaurant is a real recommendation. A lot is home made, from the own garden. Nice atmosphere.
Breakfast is just what you need to start the day.
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonja Salzano, General Manager at SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant, responded to this review
Responded 23 Oct 2022
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking time to let us know about your experience with us.
It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope seeing you again and wish you all the very best for your future.

Sunny regards from Interlaken
Family Salzano & Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $544
  • Priceline
1.5 km from SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.7 km from SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.4 km from SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
View of Alps from balconies
  • Vio.com
1.5 km from SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.8 km from SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.6 km from SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $487
  • Priceline
1.5 km from SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant
$1,446
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,446
2.1 km from SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant
Free Wifi
Ausblick Zimmer 44
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $721
  • Priceline
1.9 km from SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant
View more hotels in Unterseen
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
220
100
33
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
220
100
33
13
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2022 via mobile

We’re actually only on our first of four nights staying in this hotel at the time we’re writing this, but had such a great experience on our first day, that we had to go ahead and write a 5-star review!
We booked the Salzano through on an online travel agency and didn’t really know what to expect, but loved the rustic Swiss chalet vibe and don’t mind a short (completely flat) walk or quick bus into town, so we booked it.
Upon arriving this morning (June 5, 2022) around 11am, the lady at the front desk informed us our room wasn’t ready yet, but should be ready around 2pm. She offered to store our luggage for us, which was nice and we set off to exploring the area. When we returned around 3pm, she not only remembered us, but had already completed the check in process for us AND had taken our luggage to the room—a service we’ve never had done for us in all of our travels. She then gave us all the information for the spa, which was included with our room—being sauna enthusiasts, we were so excited for this feature. She also offered to book us a reservation at the restaurant.
We immediately got to our room and got ready for the sauna. We ended up trying every room in the spa and loved the experience. The panorama sauna was our favorite and we really liked the outdoor showers. The spa is a naked spa, but we really didn’t mind and it was not busy or crowded, so we were very at ease.
We are greatly looking forward to our next 3 nights stay and hoping to give the restaurant a try before our stay has concluded.
Yes, it’s a bit outside of the center of Interlaken, but the #21 bus is super easy (we haven’t spent more than 8-10 minutes on it back into town and the stop is only a few yards from the front door of the Salzano OR it’s only a 20 minute walk, if you’re so inclined…
Would definitely recommend the Salzano if you’re looking for a quiet, Swiss chalet vibe with gorgeous views of the mountains (we’re street side and still have an extraordinary view!)

Room tip: The #21 bus is your lifeline to the center of Interlaken and the rest of the Bernese Oberland—and it’s covered with Swiss Pass!
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank METtoMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonja Salzano, General Manager at SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2022

Dear METtoMED

Wow, so so nice to read your review and it is even a pleasure that you did not wait writing it till the end of your stay. :-)
It was really nice having you here as our guests and it makes me and the whole team very happy to see, that guests see the small things we do for them, this is what we aim for and are hoping that this makes the difference.

Big THANKS for your lovely words and for the time you took to let other travellers know about your experience with us. :-)
This is highly apprechiated. We hope you had a good rest of your trip and it would be great, seeing you in the future again.

Thank you again and sunny regards from Interlaken

Family Salzano & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2022

A nice and small-ish hotel, with very friendly staff and good and various breakfast.
The overall price for what you get is high, in addition that the spa area is only allowed to be accessed naked, which unfortunately wasn't mentioned anywhere...

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank aerahmim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonja Salzano, General Manager at SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2022

Dear aerahmim

Thank you very much for your review and for staying in our Hotel.
We area sorry, that you did not get the information about the nude spa. We will take note and see, where we have to ajust our information, so that all guests can see.
It was a pleasure having you here and we wish you all the very best.

Kind regards
Family Salzano & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2021

very good experience. I will repeat as soon as possible
Good quiet rooms.
Friendly and competent staff.
Great kitchen. Very good choice with several options.
Let the sommelier pick the wine for you. You will be impressed.
See you soon!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonja Salzano, General Manager at SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2022

Dear Carlo M

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a pleasure having you here and we are already looking forward to your next stay.

Take care and all the best.

Family Salzano & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Don’t waste your Money! Plenty of better hotels in the town!

After traveling around Switzerland and staying in three different hotels prior to SALZANO we were shocked when a Blonde lady at reception was so unwelcoming and unfriendly when checking us in on arrival.

We were shocked at how small the room was, they offered us a larger room for an extra 90CHF a night! However this room was even more dated than the first.

The first night we didn’t sleep at all, the room was so hot even with a fan, it felt like a sauna. With the windows open we ended up with so many flys and bugs in the room, and woke up covered in bites.
The bathroom was so old the hotel really needs updating for the prices they are charging per night!

We asked if we could check our early as we really didn’t want to stay another two nights. The blonde lady just remarked with it’s their policy that you have to give 5 days notice for cancellation and that we would be charged in full if we left!

That same morning we were so surprised at how basic the breakfast was! Only Egg choice is boiled and no hot food!
For the price your paying I just couldn’t believe they can’t even offer eggs or a cooked breakfast!

The second day we came to breakfast at 9:30am (breakfast finish’s at 10am) there was no bread or Croissants left! 30 Minutes before breakfast finish’s and they run out of food for the guest that are paying an extortionate amount of money to stay.

Only positive was the spa is modern compared to the rest of the hotel.
We had Dinner in the restaurant and it was excellent, that’s why we couldn’t work out why the breakfast was so poor and limited!

Interlaken is beautiful this was the best part of our stay and we made sure to spend little time as possible at the hotel.

Would not recommend unless you are looking for the most basic hotel for a premium price!

I will not be returning

Room tip: Don’t stay here
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank laurenleanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonja Salzano, General Manager at SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2021

Dear laurenleanneb

Thank you very much for taking time to review your experience with us. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here in our Hotel. I am very sorry that you did not feel welcome. Regarding the early departure I also mentioned that we can try to sell the night, if the night would have been sold before your departure you wouldn't be charged.

But as we are in high season, we would have been able so sell the night in advance so this is why we are not able to change the reservation so short notice whitout the fee.

Regarding the breakfast we would like to note, that we are cooking different eggs on request, did you request for another type of egg with the staff? We are very sorry regarding the finished bread and croissants on the buffet, this should not happen and we will surly see how we can improve.

We are a small family owned business and are slowly updating our rooms and the hotel in general. We just finished a stunning appartment above the SPA-Building. In the next steps we are planning on renovating our bathrooms, as you are right, they need an update. But we just wanted to let you know, that we are very happy about your review, as it gives us an idea where we have to improve.

At the end we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Interlaken and we wish you all the very best for your future.

Kind regards
Family Salzano & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2021

Starting with the warm welcome from the Salzano Family, to the unique SPA and their facilities and ending with the impressive nature-inspired menu, I have to say, this is a lovely experience and I am highly recommending it to any of my friends constantly for their special weekend.

Other than impeccable facilities I just want to add a note on the service level of this venue. Not only did they accommodate my needs with my dog but also gave my mother a beautiful swiss-inspired gift to my mother for her birthday.

I discovered this venue because of their restaurant, came back for their SPA and will always come for the services.

Thank you for everything dear Salzano family!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dianedY396JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonja Salzano, Geschäftsführer at SALZANO Hotel - Spa - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear dianedY396JQ

Wow, thank you so much for the great words :-) It was a pleasure having you here and we are very thankful for having such kind and apprechiating guests as you. We are already looking forward to your next stay and wish you all the very best.

Sunny regards from Interlaken
Family Salzano & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews