We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$113
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
180
130
39
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
130
39
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nelson lakes lamb shank superior room lake rotoiti family room sand flies spa pool new zealand the ground floor lounge area south island great place to stay leighton stream backpackers accommodation wetlands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2022

Had a meal one day and coffee and snacks the next day . Great service and friendly efficient service from the staff. Very peaceful setting outside. Close to the lake for walks and tramping. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2022
Thank Marion521
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2022 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 2 nights just before Christmas in a 2 bedroom apartment. We loved our stay here and the atmosphere of the Alpine Lodge. From the moment we arrived, 2 hours late at night (due to the ferry being delayed) the staff were very accommodating and helpful, and ensuring the restaurant kitchen stayed open to provide dinner for us. The apartment was very spacious for our family of 4, very cosy and full of character. Everything was well
maintained and presented and the kitchen was well equiped for our family of 4. There was plenty of room to park our boat and the staff even recommended a mechanic for us. Their knowledge of Lake Rotoiti for boating was very helpful too. The food in the restaurant was delicious, well presented and the menu had lots of options to choose from. The service in the restaurant and lodge was fantastic. Highly recommend staying here.

Room tip: Loads of parking for a boat. The 2 bedroom apartments were spacious for a family of 4.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TraceyT1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2022

I didn't stay here, just ate here. The menu isn't extensive but the food is simply brilliant and I would be surprised if there was better tasting and presented food anywhere in the top of the south and probably further. This is the only restaurant in this little alpine town but there is no complacency in quality of the dinners. Unbroken view across a pretty flax wetland to the mountains of the Nelson Lakes National Park.

Date of stay: January 2022
1  Thank jwspoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

The food was great, lamb shank, rib eye and a nourish bowl however the overall service was very disappointing. As 2 of the main courses came out we were told our 3rd meal "ceviche" was actually off the menu!! Twenty minutes later as two of us finished our mains we were still waiting for the replacement rib eye to appear. Raised our concerns with the manager who took it in his stride, it certainly didn't seem to concern him and there was no such thing as an apology. One waitress, Gael was great, however in general it wasn't a great experience.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank henrygrantc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine Lodge, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2022

Hello Henry,
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback.
I have spoken with my husband Leighton who along with Gael and Vanessa served you.
It seems that our kitchen did not pass on the fact that we had run out of carpaccio (not ceviche) and simply sent out the lamb shank and the nourish bowl. We completely understand that this was an unpleasant experience for you.
Subsequently Vanessa ordered the Ribbey and you were made aware of the 20 minute wait.
Given that Leighton is not only the Manager but also the owner of the business he is well know for his excellence in customer service, reflected in countless customer reviews.
It is also important understand that on that particular night we broke our record with 218 meals, around 50 covers over our capacity. Most of our staff have been working 70 hour weeks over the Christmas period with smiles on their faces happy to accommodate customers like yourselves who walk in with no reservation.
We agree that the communication between kitchen and front of house could have been better, but unfortunately when we are tired mistakes happen.
We are terribly sorry that you did not like your experience with us, and recommend that you try another restaurant next time you visit St Arnaud.
Kind regards Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2022 via mobile

An excellent choice if staying in St Arnaud. The room even if slightly dated was clean, and comfortable. The restaurant food was great and every dinner and breakfast very much enjoyed. Could do with aircon in room, esp with current heat wave. Close to the lake and a dairy opposite on the other side of the road. Last EV charger was at Murchison but this accommodation was very amenable to charging via a three point pin plug overnight. Great service. Thank you.

Room tip: Room 303 great as away from parked cars and from direct sun.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jonsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews