We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome place, Great Experience!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Ship Inn

External
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External
Main Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
External
Main Lounge
Kitchen
2nd Lounge
Pool Table
Dormitory Room
Dining Room
Dinning Room View 2
Sample Bathroom
Sample Bathroom 2
Sample Bathroom 3
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 6
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
Bedroom 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Old Colwyn, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SamJBrear
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place, Great Experience!”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I organised a Stag-do at The Ship, with 26 guys in attendance. We had guests coming from Aberdeen, Northern Ireland, and London, so The Ships location in Old Colwyn right in the middle of the UK was spot on. The Ship it'self is a gem! The facilities were great and there is everything you need to accomodate 30 people comfortably. With a giant screen, pool table, table football, and other board games, you have no problems keeping everyone entertained!
The booking and check in/check out experience was really smooth and laid back, making for a great weekend!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Thanks Sam for those kind words. I trust you sent the Groom off in style!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dm2mo
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house for a large group”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A group of about 30 friends (half adults, half kids) stayed here for a long weekend earlier in the year. We had such a fantastic time that we are about to book it again. As I'm reading the reviews, I've realised that I forgot to write one after our stay! We obviously had an amazing time, so good that we can't wait to do it again. Loads of room. Loads of entertainment for the kids. Soft play area within walking distance and an easy walk to the beach. Loads of supermarkets and takeaways in the town. The house itself is very well equipped and had everything that we needed. Everyone, especially the kids, had an absolutely ball and haven't stopped talking about it.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Hey Di, thank you so much for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you back in Jan 2016! Mark and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrytew
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We used The Ship Inn for our annual family summer holiday with our children and grandchildren and it proved to be excellent accommodation for 14 adults and 16 children.
There is an abundance of good quality toilets and showers and great communal areas including a large kitchen / diner.
We were happy from the moment we arrived with very good sleeping arrangements and very comfortable beds helping us enjoy our holiday.
The immediate area offers plenty of shops, pubs and takeaways and there are plenty of beaches and tourist attractions including Snowdon within a short drive.
The owner Mark is very helpful and easily contactable by phone if required.
Definitively one of the best large houses that we have stayed in.
Many thanks to Mark and his team for helping us enjoy a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and abundance of bathrooms.
Liked least: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Why thank you kind fellows! Thank you so much for taking the time to lodge a review and for the kind words contained within. I am so pleased the Ship lived up to your expectation and that the whole family could get together to enjoy each others company. That is, afterall, what it is ALL about. Hope to see team 'Tew' again in the future!
Mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L0NRjulie...
Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
“5************** Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

24 people from 0-80 all loved this house. Grandparents on ground floor, children in the middle and the adults on the top. The house was better than any we have ever stayed in and the 2 lounges, pool table, indoor basketball, football table, Wii, WiFi, projector screen and cupboards stashed with beer, wine , champagne glasses and mugs meant everyone was catered for. The 7 luxurious bathroom meant even the dirtiest of boy was happy to be cleaned and the big comfortable beds with plump pillows and beautiful cotton duvet covers ensured we all had a great night sleep. The locality was fantastic, on a street with shops and take aways and a short pretty walk to the beach. We all loved the area, so much to do, sadly not enough time. Mark the owner could not have been more helpful at the end of the phone to answer all our questions and we were even visited by the infamous welsh fairy much to our delight!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the house exceeded everyone's expectations
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Fabulous News! Glad the 'only fairy in the village' was on-hand when required! Look forward to welcoming you guys back in the future. Best of luck with everything until then!
Mark and the team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally C
Wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect location, clean and straight forward accommodation, approachable owner”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our group of 34 aged between 8 and 63 really enjoyed the Ship. Clean, well equipped and spacious with a pool table and home cinema . All the bedding was fresh and comfortable, all the showers worked and there are shops nearby. We have been holidaying annually as a large family group for over 25 years . We have been to good and not so good places but this is the first place that really had thought through what a large group needs...2 dishwashers, two large fridges, two sinks, masses of cutlery, crockery and glasses AND pans big enough to to cater for the numbers (a first..we always bring our own and this year they were redundant). The car parking was brilliant . Most importantly the owner was on the end of the phone and responsive.

The area is brilliant ...mountains, rivers, beaches, seaside entertainment , shopping, gardens, castles, all within 20 minutes/half an hours. Also directly outside the property a bus stop with regular services to all surrounding towns including Rhyll, Llandudno, Colwyn Bay, Bangor, Caernarvon, Conwy, and Betws y Coed. We used the buses several times. A good way to see the area and no parking issues at destinations.

Basically highly recommended...it's not fancy but is clean warm well equipped and therefore relaxing. Would definitely use the Ship again if we choose the area another year.

The

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space, well equipped for all ages. Down to earth.
Liked least: Hard to say..could have had direct access from yard to carpark but a very minor issue.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words - it really does mean the world to us!
Hope to welcome you to The Ship (or indeed its new 'sister' property - the even bigger 'Mountain View' in Penmaenmawr - in the future!
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing