We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“what a fantastic place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Ship Inn

External
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External
Main Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
External
Main Lounge
Kitchen
2nd Lounge
Pool Table
Dormitory Room
Dining Room
Dinning Room View 2
Sample Bathroom
Sample Bathroom 2
Sample Bathroom 3
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 6
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
Bedroom 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Old Colwyn, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amy G
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a fantastic place”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

35 people (aged 1 to 60+) travelled to the ship inn for a weekend to celebrate 2 40th birthdays, we were all so impressed with the ship inn it was so warm and comfortable and and everyone had a fantastic time, the bedrooms were soooooo comfy everyone commented on how comfy the massive beds were, the kitchen was well equipped and the lovely bathrooms were great. the pool table was a massive it, only down side was that the huge projector screen was out of action, but we managed without it ,we are defiantly going to make a returned visit!!!!!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the huge living ara
Liked least: the properties security
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for taking the effort to review the Ship and again thank you for your understanding about the failure of the projector. I have a new one in there now and indeed have the original back as a back up so hopefully better prepared for the future. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future if you fancy a re-visit!
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynette w
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The description poem says it all really, a great place to spend quality time with the whole family!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Well where do I start....The Ship Inn exceeded my expectations I spent 3 months searching for the perfect place for a surprise 40th birthday celebration for my husband and my sister, thankfully I came across this property in March 2013 & booked for the weekend of 11th to 14th Oct 2013 in those 8months inbetween I had constant contact with Mark the owner and nothing was too much trouble for him, he was extremely helpful throughout. (Thank you Mark). From the babies to the great grandparents and everyone inbetween (even the many teenagers) we all absolutely loved the place it was huge yet incredibly beautiful and homely. Extremely well equipt kitchen for so many people, there was room for everyone to have their own space and plenty of space to allow us all to join together to eat, watch tv, play games (& laugh together lots), one highlight for the boys especially was England playing and our home team on tv in the same weekend too! Meanwhile the girls all had a pamper session at the large tables with candles, manicures, glasses of wine, ipod on and gossip of course...bliss! We have great memories of our quizzes and games in the main living area. A huge game of killer on the pool table was great fun, let alone the shot roulette game we played in the kitchen as you can probably tell we all partied hard yet we relaxed together by the fire too which was so welcoming when some of us came back from the zoo or beach. The beds were so comfy & warm. Overall we all felt the owner has clearly spent time, money and effort on this property to ensure his guests are happy for their stay. Our only main disappointment now is that it is already booked for New year 2013 so we are looking to see if we can get a date sorted maybe for Easter or the summer 2014?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the space, comfy beds and the pool table1
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thank you for your cracking review and you have hit on exactly the points we tried to design it around so very pleased it worked for you! I look forward to welcoming you back!
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennyBany...
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic House for a party with friends”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my son stayed here for a weekend in September with five other couples and their kids.

First Impression
House is huge, takes a little while to get your bearings as the rooms are on all three floors, but masses of space everywhere and a great house for the kids to get lost in.

Rooms
All of the bedrooms are an ample size with plenty of bathrooms, one of them was out of order, but that didn't cause a problem at all. The dormitory for the kids is fantastic and is kitted out with load of toys, which we all thought was a great touch.

On the first floor there is an added snug room, kitted out with comfy seats, tv and Wii, this was a great place to nurse the hangover following the Friday night let your hair down session.

Downstairs is absolutely fantastic, huge kitchen with two sinks/two dishwashers and loads of glasses, cutlery and crockery. The main tv room was amazing, projector screen attached to the tv, which the kids loved and loads of sofas and cushions to make everyone comfortable. The pool table was a massive hit, with everyone thinking they were some sort of hot shot.

Location
Perfect location, with a lovely walk to the beach (despite the masses of dog muck on the path). Loads of local shops, pubs and takeaways in walking distance of the Ship Inn for those bits you forget to pack.

Overall Impression
The Ship Inn is a fantastic party house, we had an amazing weekend, with loads of laughing, dancing and frivolity. It is highly recommended and hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge TV Room
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thank you for your kind words and I am thrilled you had a ball!
I look forward to welcoming you back!
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
511Sarah...
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay! Would definitely rent again!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We rented the ship inn for a family celebration. There were about 30 of us ranging from 1-80 years old! It was fantastic! So much space and very modern throughout! All bedrooms were a fantastic size with modern bathrooms. There was a large dorm with bunk beds that all the children just loved! The kitchen was a great size and it was lovely to all eat together at the large tables provided. The lounge has a large projector which was great for films and football!! Had a great time and would certainly stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
Hey Sarah,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for leaving it so clean and tidy too. We are checking out the wardrobes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toiletles...
1 review
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I spent a long weekend with a large group of friends and could not have asked for a better place to stay. Beautiful rooms, great facilities including pool table, barbecue, full sky TV package and a huge projector. Great pub just across the road and a short walk to Colwyn and good transport links to Llandudno. Can't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge living area and kitchen (perfect for poker)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2013
Thanks you for your kind words and glad that the Ship added to your enjoyment of the area. Thanks for leaving the place nice and tidy too!
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing