We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
461
322
144
98
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
461
322
144
98
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel swimming pool afternoon tea new forest red letter short break cakes wedding venue lovely setting wedding guests peppa pig world the general manager relaxing break beautiful grounds evening meal wedding breakfast night break
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Spent sometime at this hotel attending wedding, but took the opportunity to stay the night.
Our room was in the newest part of the building, a great room on the 2nd floor with everything you could possibly need. No issues with service levels at breakfast, orders taken quickly and food arrived hot, the restaurant was very busy.
a very good wedding venue, good food.
My only reasons for not scoring 5/5 are the lack of air-con in the bedrooms and restaurant could be an issue in hot weather, and I felt bar prices were a little step.

Room tip: Get a room in the newest part
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yeti72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

very comfortable and relaxing hotel set in beautiful grounds in a central location for the best of the new forest and the surrounding area with its own small pool to relax in and unwind after a long day, friendly attentive staff on hand to assist you with any matters

Room tip: most are ok back of the hotel are quieter with lovely views
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank duncangill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

This was our first time staying at Barley Lodge and we were very pleased with our choice. The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming and rooms clean and comfortable with plenty of storage space (although a few more hangers in the wardrobe would be helpful!). The grounds are lovely and the restaurant and meeting/function rooms overlook a lovely terrace with views into the countryside.

Breakfast was good - with plenty of choice and cooked to order (there is also a small buffet). Dinner was also good but for diners staying two nights or more a more simple menu might be helpful.

All the staff were very helpful and with regards to a couple of specific issues we could not fault the assistance of the Head of Housekeeping and Reception staff. We look forward to a return visit next year.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KatherineHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

My son got married here and we all had an amazing time. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the Manor House was very comfortable and cosy. The grounds and location are stunnimg. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank brendafoskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We chose this hotel so that friends we were visiting could walk home after a meal with alcohol in the hotel restaurant. We decided to make it a short break including the meal with friends, so arrived a couple of nights early. Staff were brilliant. Room was good, but no safe. Thankfully we got a room there was a lift to, I suspect some rooms are not accessible without climbing stairs.

Using this as a base to drive to places in the New forest to then go walking was wonderful. However the deer viewing platform had no deer. Fortunately the bit of woodland beside the hotel had three. :-)

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we will be going back.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Russel_Winder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews