We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Sunday Roast”
Review of The Devon Doorway

The Devon Doorway
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 24/09
20:00
Ranked #14 of 62 Restaurants in Heswall
Price range: US$6 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our menu changes with the seasons and is modern British, comfortably interwoven with some Mediterranean influences.It ranges from traditional favourites such as fish and chips and steaks to freshly made pizzas and pastas with the chef’s daily specials showcasing the finest market fresh ingredients. There’s something for everyone and for all occasions too. You don’t have to go for the full works if you don’t want to, just have a snack and a lovely drink in the bar with your friends.Wine is something of a passion for us and nothing pleases us more than when we unearth a new discovery that blows our socks off! We’ve got everything from crisp refreshing whites, trendy pinks to fat juicy reds by the bottle or glass so we are really looking forward to your reaction to all the latest treasures!We are also very proud of our beers and we have a great selection of cask ales, super chilled draft and bottled beers to quench your thirst.Just stop by for a pint of ale, read the papers and chill out or book a table and enjoy simple food prepared with care.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the first time going to the Devon Doorway and we'll definitely go again. The Sunday Roast was very tasty and the portions were very generous. The kids menu was a bit expensive (drinks and desserts not included in the price) but the food was nice.
The service was a bit slow but the food more than made up for it.

Date of visit: August 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Charlarina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, General Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2021

Looks nice, staff were nice, salad was shocking and smelt off and the entrance smelt like drains, wouldn’t go back

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Jack9605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jack, so sorry to read about your experience. I can assure you our salads would not smell off, as they are delivered fresh everyday and are prepared each day on site. If your salad was not to your taste we would have been more than happy to swap it for something else.
With regards to the drains at our main entrance we have no drains that run at the front, again if it was an issue raised to us we would have been more than happy to move you to more of a less offensive position in the restaurant.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Devon Doorway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021

We enjoyed our first family lunch for over 2 years at the Devon Doorway. With 2 vegetarians in the party we were slightly concerned that choice might be limited but this was far from the case and all the dishes provided from starter to dessert were pronounced as tasty, filling and value for money. All the food had the feel of being individually cooked. Being a Sunday it was very busy, but the staff did a great job of getting everyone seated and providing just the right amount of attention so as not to be overbearing. The online booking system is easy to use and effective. Tables were well spaced to allow a degree of private conversation whilst retaining a cosy feeling. Mask wearing was not mandatory but many complied, which was reassuring for the oldest member of our party. All in all a pleasant experience which will be repeated.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank captainplugwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we do hope you come back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

Came into the Devon doorway with my mate for some drinks and was served by two lovely girls on the bar, Honor+ Gina, they were really friendly and keen to serve us quickly, the cocktails were amazing and the service was perfect, new local!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank danieldP3920RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this lovely review - we will pass this on to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

We called in the Devon Doorway on a Monday evening at 8.30pm. We were driving home after a disaster at another pub restaurant where our order never arrived. It was our wedding anniversary and when we explained to staff they couldn't have been kinder or more attentive. The menu was interesting and varied and we were really spoiled by the staff. It made up for the terrible start to our evening. It was comfortable too. Highly recommend and we will definitely return.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Heswalldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at The Devon Doorway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review. Our team have all spoken so highly of how lovely you both were and they were all so happy to provide this fantastic service and make sure you had a great evening.

Thanks again,
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Devon Doorway also viewed

 

Been to The Devon Doorway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.