We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Family Holiday Base”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Isabella House

Isabella House with off road parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Isabella House with off road parking
Lounge Conservatory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Isabella House with off road parking
Lounge
Conservatory
Open plan lounge leading to conservatory, dining room and kitchen
Open plan Kitchen with island hob, American style fridge freezer and wine cooler.
Dining room
Lounge
2nd Double bedroom
Master en suite bedroom
En-suite vanity basin
En-suite spa bath
Family bathroom
Family bathroom
Double bedroom
Decking Area
Enjoy a drink in the sunshine
Newcastle Millenium bridge
View from Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Consett, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
daisymac7...
Conisbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Holiday Base”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived here with family members from age 70 to 11 years for a one week stay at the end of July 2015. Was met by Liz as per the arrangements who manages this property for the owners and from start to finish can only compliment them on the whole experience. The house was just as described in the details with plenty of room and excellent facilities and equipment. It was spotless from the previous occupants (Liz does an excellent job in the few hours turn around that she works in) and beautifully presented - a real home from home. there was equipment in abundance - we could have held a street party comfortably! - as well as books games and dvd's to suit all tastes. We could not have asked for more from either the owners, Liz or the property in general and would certainly book again if we were holidaying in the area.
A quick mention also for the neighbors who were friendly and helpful with details of the best local take-aways etc and the Royal Oak a short walk down the road with excellent food and hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all around excellence
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent spacious stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We needed a house for our trip to visit family in Newcastle / Durham . We'd normally use hotels, which were expensive and problematic in trying to spend time together.
The house was so spacious for us all. We had a family of 6 and the house was more than big enough and so comfortable.
The beds were amazingly comfortable. Kitchen, lounge and conservatory great. House had everything you need. The heating boiler broke down while we were there and was all fixed by the time we got back after our day out which was amazing service,
Would highly recommend this house for large families or extended family holidays where you'll need some space .
Just wish we'd found this jem earlier.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and has everything you'll need
Liked least: Nothing really. Has everything you'll need
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet T
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent area to stay and very comfortable.”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived to find a clean and well equipped house with a lovely garden. Sadly the weather did not allow us to enjoy that but the house was warm and comfortable and spacious. There were many places we wanted to visit in the area and Beamish Museum is well worth a visit (two if you can manage it because there is so much to see. The tickets last for a whole year too! If you don't mind an hour's journey the National Trust's "Cragside" is amazing. We could have done with a second week as did not get time to try out the local Pubs/Restaurants. Thank you Di and Liz who looks after the house.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacopelan...
Wells
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Have stayed here a few times and once again we had a great week at Isabella House. Lots of space, great views and a lovely warm conservatory (under floor heating) to sit in when the weather is unkind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy0191
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent family base”
Reviewed 31 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed here for new year and the place was fabulous. It is an extremely well appointed large house which feels so comfortable as the owners have thought of everything. You feel more like you are house sitting than staying in a rented property. The kitchen is huge and the open plan format of the property mean that everyone feels as if they are all together. A large garden to the rear faces on to open fields and a lovely view of the valley below. We found the people of Meadomsley to be open and welcoming and if you enjoy country walks then this is an ideal base. Choppington, Ajax and Hamsterly are all close by providing beautiful woodland walks as well as the opportunity to see majestic Red Kites which are in abundance in this area. Beamish museum is also close by and well worth a visit but it does need a full day. We found the owners to be very helpful and available when we needed them and their communication and desire to see that we were comfortable was first class. I already miss the comfort of the huge bed in the master bedroom-great on a cold night with the wind howling! All in all a magnificent family retreat and base for anyone visiting this beautiful area. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing