We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
486
241
86
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
241
86
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deer park fishing lake library restaurant venison country park afternoon tea hotel grounds lovely location trouser press four poster night break evening meal comfortable hotel lovely room both nights wedding reception sunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Just back from having a excellent afternoon tea , best one we have had yet. Lovely tranquil surroundings , wonderful food and very friendly staff , Can find no faults at all , well done Whitworth Hall

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjoj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for your “well done” it was fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind regards

Christopher Ashby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

My boyfriend treated me to a night away here for my birthday and we had a lovely stay. The surroundings of the hotel are beautiful and the deer are just a fantastic addition. Really unique. The only thing we could fault the stay on was decor of the room. The room was clean, and we had a lovely view of the lake and deer, but was very dated, and could really do with being renovated. We had a slight issue with the TV not working which was quickly rectified whilst we were eating Dinner in the restaurant, which also couldn't be faulted. Overall a wonderful night at a very reasonable price.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Hello and thank you for taking the time in posting your review here on trip advisor, following your recent stay with us for your birthday treat. I will take on board your comments about the room, in our continual refurbishment programme.

Once again thank you and hope to see you again.

Regards and happy birthday
Christopher Ashby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We have just had 5 days 4 nights here, lovely staff, comfortable rooms, good food, homely feeling we were on a coach trip
The Hotel is set in a beautiful deer park, sunny patio with chairs and tables. a lovely walk though a fairy lit garden. The wifi was erratic in the rooms

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlt335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you for all your kind words following your 4 night stay with us, it is a credit to all the hard working team. The fairy lit walk through Dene is a great feature and one not to be missed.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards
Christopher Ashby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights as a birthday treat. Everything about this hotel was perfect the wonderful friendly deer in the park, the beautiful lit up garden walk this was just the outside. Inside the hotel is beautifully decorated throughout, the lounge areas library and dining rooms are all very spacious. All staff were very polite and helpful. Only 30 rooms so nowhere was crowded. We didn't eat in the restaurant although the menu looked very nice apart from breakfast, this was a cooked to order plus a buffet of cereals and fruit. Rooms were spacious and clean with plenty of wardrobe space and drawers. All rooms seem to have wonderful views of either the gardens or the deer in the park. Would definitely stay here again and look forward to doing so

Room tip: All rooms have good views of either garden or deer park
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank annesmith129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you for such a nice review posted here on trip advisor following your birthday 3 night treat, I have of course passed on all your comments to the team.

It was great to read how you enjoyed your stay all round, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards and Happy Birthday.

Christopher and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

This was my first visit but certainly won't be my last. We came for afternoon tea on a voucher and it as excellent. You were served a small cup of soup which was exquisite and a small quiche. There followed the usual three tier plate with sandwiches, scones with jam and cream and then three dainty little cakes each. As much tea as you could drink was all served by a very pleasant waitress. I even finished with a lovely cup of coffee. We finished by walking in the grounds where deer wandered.

Room tip: Can't say as we didn't actually stay
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamhogg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGeneralManager, General Manager at Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Really nice review, thank you for posting it here on trip advisor.

It was great to read how much you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us, followed by a walk in the Deer Park, we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Christopher Ashby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews