We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal”

The Coach at Edenfield
Reserve with OpenTable
The Coach at Edenfield is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Ramsbottom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$42
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Informal Gastro Style Pub & Restaurant serving fresh food from a contemporary menu in the borough of Bury & Rossendale. Serving premier wines, spirits and beers as well as Real Cask ales. Modern and contemporary interior for a relaxed dinning experience.
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We first visited The Coach under the new owners a week after they reopened and were so completely blown away by the wonderful flavours and dishes on offer. As a result of this I think we arrived with particularly high expectations.
Drinks:
Two members of our party of 6 order Aperol spritz on arrival and the young lady behind the bar didn't seem very familiar with the recipe. They ended up having to tell her how to make it and even then they were said to be a little poor. I had a pornstar martini which was delicious but wasn't served with a prosecco shot as is usual. The wine selection is still lovely and not so large it's overwhelming but dessert wine options would be nice.
Food:
We were unaware that The Coach had stopped serving their A La Carte menu during the week and is now only available on Fridays and Saturdays. As this was a special occasion none of us were particularly enthused by the fish and chips or cheese and onion pie on offer. Not the restaurant's fault as it does state on the website but seems a shame to limit the menu when the chef is obviously so skilled.
Starters:
All were delicious. You cannot fault the flavours the chef delivers. Only criticism would be that the mushrooms and cheese starter came on a very large plate and only consisted of one fairly small, stuffed portobello mushroom. We also sampled the prawns and mussels which were all lovely.
Mains:
The steaks, were delicious and cooked excellently but I am not exaggerating when I say I had a tea spoon of red wine gravy in my gravy boat. A shame as again the sauces are divine.
The cheese pie was said to be fairly bland.
Desserts:
The chocolate mousse was light and flavoursome. The perfect end to the meal. The sponge pudding was also praised.
Service:
The staff are extremely polite but really need some training. Leaning on walls and talking with your pad in front of your mouth is not the best idea when serving customers. All very young, which isn't necessarily a criticism as I was working in restaurants from a young age, but it's always good to have someone with confidence and authority overseeing the restaurant. No one seemed to be in charge. Also, plonking the wine on the table and asking if we want to taste it first as they walked away seemed a bit like a trick question. We said we'd sort it ourselves.

It feels as though the chef outshines the restaurant in some ways and I hope that everything else improves to match the wonderful food soon. Will be back but definitely not during the week.
Thanks guys.

3  Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame A, General Manager at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave some detailed feedback. We will of course use that to assist the development of the restaurant at our next staff meeting. We are still only six months into this business having reopened in April.

We took the decision to restrict the A La Carte menu to Friday and Saturday evenings in response to customer feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Met our friends here for Sunday lunch. Was a great choice. Would certainly recommend the Sunday lunch sharing platter. Great value and very good food.

Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame A, General Manager at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thanks for your kind comments and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Visited today for a family meal with a party of 12. The food, service and value for money were outstanding. Much more than just your usual pub grub! Made to feel very welcome. Staff were polite, professional and went the extra mile for us. Would definitely recommend.

Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame A, General Manager at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Many thanks for your kind feedback and for choosing to dine with us, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We were visiting my cousin, who booked here for lunch. It was a Sunday, and we all had the Sunday Roast. I have to say that the food was very good indeed; the meat was nicely cooked, and plenty of it, and the vegetables were good. The waiting staff were also very nice. Unfortunately, however, we had to wait about an hour from ordering our food before it arrived at the table. As we had a further long drive ahead of us, we were not best pleased!

When we asked the waiter who finally brought us our food what the problem was, it seems that there should have been two chefs in the kitchen, but one had not turned up and they could not contact him by phone.

So, it was bad luck, I think, that we had this issue and otherwise we would have been perfectly happy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TauntonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame A, General Manager at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thanks for choosing to dine with us. We are sorry about your wait which was as you suggest due to a staffing issue that day. We hope you had a safe onward journey and hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

This beautuful bar/restaurant is a very warm and cosy place to chill and eat. Its very tasteful modern design with classic and is really welcoming.
A friend suggested we try as she loved it, and we were all impressed.

Ambience and atmosphere, this place has it spot on.
We were greeted and served in an unhurried friendly and genuine way- surprisingly a lot of places forget this crucial part of the experience - 1st impression really do count.
Lovely to see the owner subtly ensuring that all the customers were happy- again this is refreshing to see such attention to detail.
The food was served - every dish looked/smelled and tasted amazing.
I have to mention the MENUS, well done on the amazing design of the menu holder/cover.

Theres obviously been a large amount of money spent on this place, and yet its done tastefully. Every small detail has been considered. Fresh flowers were beautiful.
Well done to all the staff/management, its really nice to see every aspect done so well.

Thank hankey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahame A, General Manager at The Coach at Edenfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thanks for your kind comments and for noticing the little details we work so hard to get right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach at Edenfield also viewed

 

Been to The Coach at Edenfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing