We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr & Mrs”
other traveller has booked this property
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl Home from home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Sandstone Trail Cottages
Brown Knowl
Home from home
Bathroom
Some of our hens
Some of our bees
Dog friendly
20 mins the the ridge on foot
Need to charge your car?
Granary parking
Back home for a rest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Broxton, Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carly H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I booked our stay as Sandstone cottages as a present for my husbands 30th birthday treat. We can certainly say we had a fantastic time and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Our accommodation was beautiful, clean , comfortable and cosy set within the stunning and peaceful country side.

We couldn't wish for more friendly hosts - from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

We particular enjoyed collecting fresh eggs from the hens and eating them for our breakfast. Our two year old son thought this was brilliant! These little touches were very much appreciated.

They made our break extra special by having such a kind and caring attitude.

Thank you for having us! We would love to come back one day.

Lucy, Dan & Benjamin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRidds
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A warm welcome awaits at Sandstone Cottages”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently stayed at Sandstone while competing at the Pony Club Championships at Cholmondeley Castle. Jackie & Ray couldn't have been more accommodating. After the damp and mud of the show grounds, it was wonderful to come back to the luxury of the cottage to have a lovely soak and a good night's sleep in beautiful bed linen. After one particularly tiring day, they even supplied cold beers to come back to!! Wouldn't hesitate to book a return trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury bed linen and towels
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueDunc
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Can't Decide Which One Is Best”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is our second visit to Sandstone Trail Cottages. This time we stayed in Bakers Cottage for a long week-end. We had a great time in this beautiful cottage. Jackie and Ray again made us fell so welcome and treated like old friends. They really pull out all the stops to make you feel at home.
We had a debate which cottage was the best. They are both fantastic but if you were to twist my arm, I would go for Bakers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollythed...
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spotless, luxurious and dog friendly ”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were so pleased to find a property that looked really nice and comfortable and accepted dogs. When we arrived we were amazed. It is truly gorgeous - every detail thought of and an innovative use of space. There are great walks from the door, which the dogs loved.
Jackie greeted us on arrival and was so friendly that the motorway drive stress vanished immediately. It's just heaven. Book now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony g
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“5* cottage and 5* hosts”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just spent a week in Bakers cottage and found everything met our expectations and more. From the quality of the cottage and its fitments to the kind, friendly and thoughtful owners, Jackie and Ray. Lots of little touches from the milk in the fridge, honey and flowers, coffee and tea for a cuppa on arrival to the genuine help we received from Jackie and Ray when my mobile phone was lost. We loved the location and being able to walk from the cottage with our dog, an identification tag with the phone number of the cottages, was provided if wanted. We used the tag as mobile reception was not good. The wifi in the cottage was very good. We liked the fact that we had dedicated parking area as well as our own garden space with table and chairs. We had several meals outside and enjoyed the views, quiet and peacefulness of the location. We had intended to just use the cottage as "somewhere to sleep" devoting time to family research not spending very much time at the cottage but in the event we spent more time exploring the local area. Thanks again for the thoughtfulness of the owners with maps, pamphlets etc. places to visit being available in the cottage and also if we had a query, Jackie and Ray's local knowledge. We will definitely be coming back and thanks for a great stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing