We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Llanina Arms(New Quay)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
Melyn-y-Gors(New Quay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Penwig(New Quay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechwood House(New Quay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
143
58
13
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
58
13
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer gardenthe pubsunday lunchplay area for childrenlovely hotelspecials boardevening mealprivate car parkdylan thomassea viewfull welshtop floorspectacular viewsgood sizelasagnastayed here for one nightate here
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Went to the black lion for lunch on April 1st , missed Sunday lunch , so booked a table for 5pm , sat in the bar watching the rugby lovely atmosphere, lovely pint , ordered food , what a disappointment , what I can only describe as mush , was supposed to be beef chilli , was dry over heated and tasteless , my husband couldn’t believe I wouldn’t complain about the meal , but I really couldn’t be bothered , was a total disappointment , husband steak was lovely tho he said , you would think that if the workers saw a nearly full plate of food going back they would ask aswell mind , never mind

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela Davies G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We have eaten here on a few occasions over recent months and have always found the welcome to be warm and friendly. The food is tasty, wholesome and well cooked; there's a good choice on the menu but I tend to have something different from the specials board; just to see if everything is ok there's always a 5 minute check too something that many places seem to forget about these days! The atmosphere/ambiance is always pleasant and the dining room is a pleasure to eat in, very cosy when the candles are lit. Will certainly eat there again when next in New Quay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chrissie-abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Despite arriving on 2 occasions 20 minutes before the kitchen closed, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Proper home cooked food. The lasagna, chilli and battered cod are definitely worth a try! Quiet in March time but definitely recommend this little gem! Amazing views from the beer garden in the summer.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MDDG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2515
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Had food here with a couple of friends, the food was amazing!!! The atmosphere was lovely, candles everywhere. A special thank you to the chef Ian! I am definitely going here again when I next visit. And would recommend to anyone visiting Newquay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Didn't stay at hotel but ate here and have to say very impressed. Welcoming bar friendly helpful staff, log fire and good choice of ales for the men and wine for the ladies. Something for everyone on the menu ,fresh fish and lovely lasagne, best I've tasted and the home made chips fantastic. Would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank WG-ONHOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews