We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
37
10
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
37
10
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road a great stay heat pump surat bay the water's edge motel estuary hosts unit owaka catlins lion kitchen advice setting mins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2021

We only stayed one night, but had a great stay. The loud "doorbell" (two noisy dogs) met us at reception. Our host was very friendly and helpful. She recommended a couple of tourist attractions. We followed her advice and were rewarded.
The surrounding area is good for walking and the rooms very nice.

Room tip: End of block
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kiwiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

Manager/owner was really helpful on the phone prior to our arrival with advice re dining options and leaving the unit ready for our late arrival. The unit was spotless and all we needed for a one night stay - not the biggest rooms but that didn't worry us. The beds were very comfortable. The estuary across the road is an awesome place to watch the sunrise! Only downside was that despite using the extractor fan, the bathroom got very damp. We were very pleased we stayed here and not another motel that as the same price but looked cold and old!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2020

We stayed in July school holidays - 2 x adults & 2 x kids.

Weather was very average - the hosts ensured the heat pump was roaring by the time we arrived to make it nice & toasty. Unit was well appointed, with a kitchen that included a cook top. There is no oven.

Beds were firm and comfy, unit was extremely clean - nice outlook out onto the water. Shower had amazing pressure.

Only suggestion would be to take fly spray - or have hosts supply it, as the bathroom has louver windows and at night - if the light was on in the bathroom you would have many bathroom buddies.

Would recommend and stay again.

Room tip: We stayed in Unit 2 and was great
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2019

This is a great place to stay if you would like to visit this remote and beautiful part of New Zealand. It is close to a stunning wild beach environment with seal lions and seals on the beach and in the water. Beautiful beach walks to be enjoyed. The owner is extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable.

Date of stay: January 2019
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingAlbatross9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2019

Saw this motel on our last visit to the Catlins and as we wanted a base for 4 nights decided to book this motel. Very pleased with the accommodation. Spacious and clean. Very friendly owner, came to check everything was ok the day after we arrived. The units are in a lovely position overlooking the estuary. Nice and quiet location. Definitely would recommend this motel, good value for money as well.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews