We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
75
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
75
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews native bush beautiful view a wonderful stay peaceful place nugget point the main road one night the kitchen mohua park the cottages bbq dinner eco resort unsealed road sheep property walks hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Just loved our stay at Catlins Mahua Park.
A fabulous way to get back to nature.
We didn't have a lot of time and so want to go back. We stayed in Kahu cottage and views were outstanding. Bird song was something I haven't heard in a long time. The little hikes around our cottage were great. If you want to connect to nature this is the place

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jody556
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian McKenzie, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Thanks so much for your review and that you enjoyed our nature walks and birdlife ,we are always so happy when our guest come and just relax and enjoy what we have to offer.
Kind regards
Lyndon and Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2021

We absolutely loved the setting, looking out over the valley, sitting on the verandah enjoying the sunset with only the beautiful birdsong in the background, comfortable beds. Would have loved a bit more water pressure in the shower.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PugFan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill McKenzie, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Thank-you for your review and that you liked our beautiful valley, as far as more water pressure we are on rainwater collection for all the cottages and have low pressure to conserve our water supplies.
Hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

We loved our night at Mohua Park. We stayed in Kahu cottage which had a beautiful outlook to sweeping meadows and the Catlins River. I can honestly say it was the most peaceful place I have ever stayed. The cottage was spacious, comfortable, warm and beautifully presented. We want to come one back soon!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dunedinlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill McKenzie, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Thank-you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2021

Catlins Mohua Park is not located on the main route, with all the traffic and the noise. You have to divert from the main road onto a dirt track for about 7 kms, which is quite passable. But you are then rewarded to arrive in a secluded place with very nice and comfortable units, with all the trimmings one would wish and lovely views over a wide sheep farm and hills. And particularly for the peace and quite one longs for in this busy world. The only sound is from the many sheep.
Do you get a 5 course dinner?? No, you ask for a BBQ pack to be delivered to your unit. It will be waiting for you to cook your own dinner on the provided barbeque. The food provided is very ample and of excellent quality. We enjoyed a beautiful steak and all the other food provided. Only one comment about it: it will be far more than one can stomach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Willem and Xandra Jonkers

Room tip: The units are individual small batches. Whilst we stayed only in one, we think they are all similar in comfort an views.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Willemnz813
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill McKenzie, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2021

Thank-you for your review it was great to have you stay with us and we are please that you enjoyed our little part of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021

The cabin is super spacious, even if filled by 4 adults, and the location is at once remote and accessible enough to make it perfect either for a quick stop as you are traveling in the area or for an extended stay. The kitchen is fully kitted, including an electric oven, and the beds were VERY comfortable. Heating for those colder days in winter seemed more than enough too. All in all, 5 stars, and although we couldn't explore the nearby bush it did seem worth a walk.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill McKenzie, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Thank-you for your review so glad that you were comfortable in your cottage we try to have everything that may be required for our guests stays available in the cottages .
We hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews