We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$157
eDreams
Booking.com
Hotels.comUS$157
CheapTicketsUS$157
PricelineUS$159
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
77
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews native bush beautiful view a wonderful stay peaceful place nugget point the main road one night the kitchen mohua park the cottages bbq dinner eco resort unsealed road sheep property walks hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2021

Catlins Mohua Park is not located on the main route, with all the traffic and the noise. You have to divert from the main road onto a dirt track for about 7 kms, which is quite passable. But you are then rewarded to arrive in a secluded place with very nice and comfortable units, with all the trimmings one would wish and lovely views over a wide sheep farm and hills. And particularly for the peace and quite one longs for in this busy world. The only sound is from the many sheep.
Do you get a 5 course dinner?? No, you ask for a BBQ pack to be delivered to your unit. It will be waiting for you to cook your own dinner on the provided barbeque. The food provided is very ample and of excellent quality. We enjoyed a beautiful steak and all the other food provided. Only one comment about it: it will be far more than one can stomach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Willem and Xandra Jonkers

Room tip: The units are individual small batches. Whilst we stayed only in one, we think they are all similar in comfort an views.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Willemnz813
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill McKenzie, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2021

Thank-you for your review it was great to have you stay with us and we are please that you enjoyed our little part of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021

The cabin is super spacious, even if filled by 4 adults, and the location is at once remote and accessible enough to make it perfect either for a quick stop as you are traveling in the area or for an extended stay. The kitchen is fully kitted, including an electric oven, and the beds were VERY comfortable. Heating for those colder days in winter seemed more than enough too. All in all, 5 stars, and although we couldn't explore the nearby bush it did seem worth a walk.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill McKenzie, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Thank-you for your review so glad that you were comfortable in your cottage we try to have everything that may be required for our guests stays available in the cottages .
We hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2021

An amazing private, peaceful and beautiful place to stay. The hosts have considered all the little things, including a toothbrush holder, that many places don't think of. They were very friendly and helpful. We absolutely loved our stay and would definitely come back. Have already been recommending it to others.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank J1674QWnataliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill McKenzie, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Thanks for your review so glad that you enjoyed your time in the Catlins with us and we hope to see again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2021

The Catlins are a place of remote beauty and the Mohua eco resort is remote within that. The silence at night is bliss, stars bright in a black sky, green lush fields unfold before you. Good WiFi in the cottages, which is rare in the area and most wonderfully, a warm, generous invitation to a fabulous hangi onsite and the company of lovely locals. We enjoyed it very much. Make sure you take the ATV tour, it runs through stunning private land that you'd never see otherwise. Cottages are compact but carefully appointed. The kitchen area is pretty small but has all the essential equipment we needed.

Room tip: All the cottages are similar
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill McKenzie, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Thanks Robert for your review it was a pleasurer having you and Kim stay at Mohua Park and that you enjoyed the Coastal ATV tour and we hope to see you both again
Lyndon and Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021

From the time we arrived until we left our very comfortable a secluded cabin four days later we enjoyed the solitude ,views and nearness of areas of interest in the upper Catlins area. If you just want somewhere to relax and unwind then this is the place whether you self cater as we did or use the catered package. Gill & Lyndon are there for you if required or you are just allowed to do your own thing. Don't be put off by the 7 km of unsealed road the drive up it is vey scenic . The tours that Lyndon offers are worth considering if you do not want to walk any great distance to see the sights.
We would certainly return here .

Room tip: There are four separate cottages with great views and seclusion from each over a valley to the wooded hills beyond
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 246DavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill McKenzie, Owner at Catlins Mohua Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Thank-you David for your review it was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews