We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
boxdoc7
Las Vegas, Nevada

Unique in every way

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Mar 2024
Pen and Lee make you part of their family.
The location is lovely, the rooms perfect and the “vibe” is unlike anywhere else I have been.
The artwork alone is worth the trip. Lee’s passion for Japanese art and history has made me want to learn more.
Pen cooks truly incredibly healthy and tasty meals
The surroundings are magical as are the meditation sessions…just a wonderful way to start your day
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Enjoy the onsen
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Split Apple Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.2 km from Split Apple Retreat
Free parking
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
2.9 km from Split Apple Retreat
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Split Apple Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
    0.2 km from Split Apple Retreat
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Abel Tasman National Park
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    2.3 km from Split Apple Retreat
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View from unit
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    2.9 km from Split Apple Retreat
    BBQ area and outside dining
    Expedia.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    3.3 km from Split Apple Retreat
    Free parking
    Abel Tasman Kaiteriteri B & B
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    2.8 km from Split Apple Retreat
    Bar/Lounge
    Bird's eye view
    Booking.com
      3.6 km from Split Apple Retreat
      View more hotels in Kaiteriteri
      Reviews (217)
      Filter reviews
      217 results
      Traveller rating
      217
      0
      0
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      217
      0
      0
      0
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews wine cellar infinity pool the abel tasman national park private beach amazing chef sourced locally tasman sea oriental art slice of heaven breakfast and dinner spent nights water taxi lee meditation pens revelation host
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 217 reviews
      Reviewed 17 March 2024

      Split Apple is a "magical"place, from the stunning views, superb food that exceeds all expectations and tip top accommodations; the place is a gem. Pen, Lee and their team are warm, friendly and make you feel like you are in your own home. My wife and I have several dietary restrictions which they have no issue at all tailoring the amazing food so we can enjoy the full experience. Finally, from their property, they will arrange for any and all of the incredible experiences to do in the area.

      Date of stay: March 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Paul N
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

      Can’t think of an adverse comment to make on anything - except the time to reach them from Nelson which of course is part of their charm. The food by Pen and Alanna was sensational. The infra red sauna was a delightful discovery for me as well. My wife loved the infinity pool and an added high spot was the private water taxi to her old favourite, Watering Cove

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Dick74
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 25 January 2024 via mobile

      This is a place you will never be ready to leave ! After 2 weeks of travel around New Zealand we arrived at split apple ready to relax. And it didn’t disappoint. The staff are all wonderful, Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The owners make you feel like royalty and the food cooked by Penn is exceptional - even making me read her wonderful cook book. And if you can drag yourself away from the retreat beautiful walks and views await. Truly a wonderful place.

      Date of stay: January 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      2  Thank Adrian B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 December 2023 via mobile

      Pros—Extraordinary in every way.

      We weren’t fully expecting just three rooms, and a little skeptical and somewhat hard to believe a luxury hotel with just three suites, but that hesitation disappeared upon arrival. Remove your shoes and settle in.

      We were in the Fuji suite one of the two smaller ones, but all are spectacular each with an outside private deck as well.

      JJ, the manager, Marcus, who knows the wine list and provides transport, Pen, who prepares inventive and delicious meals, and Lee, her husband and proprietor are the team.

      Rooms include a delicious breakfast and dinner and during the day we were out boating, hiking and bike riding.
      We came here right from our flight from the states and stayed four nights, which was perfect. You could stay three, but not less than three would be our recommendation

      JJ planned a boating trip, helicopter hiking and bike trip to vineyards all were totally delightful and set the standard for the balance of our time in NZ.

      Massages were excellent.

      Cons or areas for improvement.—a fitness room, the original fitness room was converted to a massage room. Fitness rooms were generally not found at all hotels in NZ, to my surprise. And that would be are only shortfall, if that matters to you.

      Go you will not at all be disappointed.

      Room tip: You don’t need a car at all and they have quick inexpensive laundry service, a plus!
      Date of stay: November 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Fred H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 9 December 2023

      Split Apple Retreat is the most exceptional lodging we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. It's not just an ultra luxury boutique retreat; you are welcomed and pampered by Lee and his wife, Pen, like family. Each of Pen's gourmet dishes that she personally and meticulously prepared was not only nourishing, but a work of art. Each day was so fulfilling and interesting. We cycled in bucolic countryside, hiked from a secluded beach past a family of native Weka birds, to a cascading waterfall, learned mediation in a way that was gentle, yet transformative and profound. All we can talk about is when and how soon we can return.

      Date of stay: December 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Laurie G
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews