We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures
from US$163.14
More Info
from US$81.57
More Info
from US$89.80
More Info
from US$4,714.50
More Info
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
131
18
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
131
18
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews abel tasman sailing experience afternoon breeze open water private charter wonderful afternoon local history great company martin wind bays boat maree cruise ensuite marahau commentary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We booked this tour because we thought it would give us a good impression of Abel Tasman NP and also enable us to walk through the native bush after the cruise. There wasn't a lot of information given to us whilst on board although wildlife was pointed out and also some of the special islands and features e.g. Split Apple Rock. Unfortunately the day was miserable and as we started the 12km walk it started to rain and continued steadily all the rest of the day. This coloured our appreciation of the area and also our feeling about Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures. We had looked at the weather forecast and knew it was expected to rain early afternoon so I rang the company and said we thought we should cancel. The girl said that it was going to be fine until late evening and because we felt she would have up to date weather information we took her advice and continued with the tour. I also asked about what to wear and she said walking boots were not needed and that in fact she had worn flip flops when she did it so I just wore trainers. This was a mistake - walking shoes/boots are definitely needed. It is a long walk on uneven ground which is made worse in the rain. I am sure in lovely weather this is a good day out but unfortunately we didn't feel that on the day we did the trip.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank ClanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailing09, Owner at Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

I always wish we could have sunny weather for our sailors but that can't always be the case. We do try our best in interrupting the weather forecast but may not always get this right. Flip flops are fine on the beach or short walks but I would always recommend strong footwear for the longer walks. Generally good trainers are sufficient. Many thanks for sailing with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Pick one of a good range of boat trip and walking options highlighting the beauty of the Abel Tasman National Park from the sea and the coastal track. Take a picnic and your swimsuit to make the most of the day. Brilliant.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailing09, Owner at Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Yes, it's not just sailing trips we offer but you can combine a half day sail with walking, water taxi combo or even with kayaking. Mix it up so you can get the right trip for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Despite a moderate day weather wise this was fab! We did kayaking in the morning up to watering cove, then walked over to anchorage and sailed back in the afternoon and it was lovely! The kayaking against the wind can be tough at times but not too bad and if you get sea sick perhaps not for you, one poor girl in our group suffered towards the end of the kayaking. We could see the seals and pups which was lovely and sailed in behind a cove into a lagoon and through caves (only possible at high tide and highly recommended) our guide (oscar) was great, full of local info and kept us right all day. After a tasty lunch we walked over to anchorage which although steep is short and nice up through the forest and boarded the boat for the sail home which again was great. It was a bit cooler on the water and a jumper is a good idea but you could have a go at sailing if you wanted and hot cups of coffee were made to keep us warm by our captain who was lovely. All in all it was a really lovely way to see the beauty of Abel Tasman in a day and even in cloudy weather it was enjoyable!! Highly recommend!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank 879emmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailing09, Owner at Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

So happy you had a great day out! The Abel Tasman is certainly a beautiful place in all weathers. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We did the Sail and Walk option - It was a brilliant day. We were picked up at Marahau with a free shuttle back to Kaiterietiri - had a bit of time to get a coffee before starting the sailing - sailed slowly up to Anchorage - hopped off the boat and slowly walked our way back to Marahau. The walk was easy and a lovely way to see the Able Tasman.
We stopped at a couple of beaches and took our time walking back to the car - walk time was 3 and half hours but we took 5 hours with stops. Communication with the company was good. Would recommend this - easy to medium fitness required for walk.
Thanks

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Mehappytotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailing09, Owner at Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

It sounds like you had a lovely relaxing day. Thanks for sailing with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Top notch boats, highly knowledgeable skippers/tour guides, see this beautiful, unique NZ park from both the water and (if you want) the land. We did an overnight tour with Captain Martin and one other couple. He's a highly skilled and experienced sailor and a wonderful guy, we were going in style in their new Leopard 46 catamaran (google it, you'll see!), with only as much onshore hiking as we wanted (a compromise between my hiker wife and no -hiker me). Boat is more like a floating condo than your typical cramped sailboat accommodations--plenty seaworthy (they sailed her to NZ from South Africa, for heavens sakes!), but also really comfortable. **Highly** recommend this first-class company for any single or multi-day tour!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank arnamdo470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailing09, Owner at Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Thanks for joining us on our new sailing catamaran, Te Harinui, it was a pleasure to have you on board. She is certainly a lovely boat and with her 4 Queen cabins each with their own ensuite, she will certainly appeal to those wanting a comfortable and special overnight and multi-day experience of The Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews