We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome day sailing”

Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.77*
and up
Anchorage Sail and Walk
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Kaiteriteri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a local family owned yacht charter business who have been providing great sailing opportunities in the region for 20 years. Skippered tours include daily scheduled sailing tours, private personalised sailing tours & multi day sailing holidays in the Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson and Tasman Bay waters. Our fleet consists of 3 day sailing catamarans and 2 larger cruising sailing catamarans. Guests experience a quality, personalised and friendly service and a most memorable holiday. Join a scheduled day tour with others, selecting either a full day sailing tour or a combination tour including half day sailing and half day walking, kayaking, cycling or motor water taxi. Or arrange an exclusive tour for either a full day or an overnight multi-day holiday. Stay on board the comfortable cruising catamaran, choose your length of stay and customise your time on board to suit your timetable. Your skipper is your host and guide. Enjoy the bay the Peaceful, Quiet, Relaxing way!
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We were traveling with a group of friends, (two other couples - six of us in total) and chartered a private sailing tour.

We had an awesome time. The boat was comfortable, and great for the size of our group. Our captain Tim took us around Abel Tasman park and tailored our route and stops to our preferences, and he picked places we really loved. We got to watch seals play for a while and had a picnic lunch in a beautiful lagoon that we had all to ourselves, and then a stop at an empty beach.

We've all been on the water once or twice before, so we came adequately prepared with various layers since we kept hearing New Zealand tends to be rainy. Our preparedness paid off in that we got totally lucky and the day was perfect. No rain jackets needed but always better safe than sorry - the boat had plenty of space to stow our extra gear.

The wind was so perfect that afternoon, and Tim even got out the spinnaker for our trip back to Kaiteriteri, routing us a bit offshore so we could see some Little Blue Penguins (which we did!).

Sailing was a spectacular way to get to see Abel Tasman National Park, highly recommended.

Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailing09, Owner at Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

A private tour is certainly a special way to experience some of the quiet and magic places of The Park. No fixed itinerary means we can customise the trip to what you enjoy and it seems Tim did this just right for you. Thanks for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"split apple rock"
in 12 reviews
"abel tasman"
in 36 reviews
"tea and coffee"
in 4 reviews
"great sailing"
in 4 reviews
"captain martin"
in 4 reviews
"national park"
in 7 reviews
"day sail"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful morning"
in 2 reviews
"saw seals"
in 4 reviews
"unique nz"
in 2 reviews
"paddle boards"
in 3 reviews
"sea birds"
in 2 reviews
"big catamaran"
in 2 reviews
"skilled sailor"
in 2 reviews
"perfect trip"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful guy"
in 2 reviews
"adele island"
in 3 reviews
Filter

44 - 48 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2017

We booked this tour because we thought it would give us a good impression of Abel Tasman NP and also enable us to walk through the native bush after the cruise. There wasn't a lot of information given to us whilst on board although wildlife was pointed out and also some of the special islands and features e.g. Split Apple Rock. Unfortunately the day was miserable and as we started the 12km walk it started to rain and continued steadily all the rest of the day. This coloured our appreciation of the area and also our feeling about Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures. We had looked at the weather forecast and knew it was expected to rain early afternoon so I rang the company and said we thought we should cancel. The girl said that it was going to be fine until late evening and because we felt she would have up to date weather information we took her advice and continued with the tour. I also asked about what to wear and she said walking boots were not needed and that in fact she had worn flip flops when she did it so I just wore trainers. This was a mistake - walking shoes/boots are definitely needed. It is a long walk on uneven ground which is made worse in the rain. I am sure in lovely weather this is a good day out but unfortunately we didn't feel that on the day we did the trip.

Thank ClanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailing09, Owner at Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

I always wish we could have sunny weather for our sailors but that can't always be the case. We do try our best in interrupting the weather forecast but may not always get this right. Flip flops are fine on the beach or short walks but I would always recommend strong footwear for the longer walks. Generally good trainers are sufficient. Many thanks for sailing with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Pick one of a good range of boat trip and walking options highlighting the beauty of the Abel Tasman National Park from the sea and the coastal track. Take a picnic and your swimsuit to make the most of the day. Brilliant.

Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailing09, Owner at Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Yes, it's not just sailing trips we offer but you can combine a half day sail with walking, water taxi combo or even with kayaking. Mix it up so you can get the right trip for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Despite a moderate day weather wise this was fab! We did kayaking in the morning up to watering cove, then walked over to anchorage and sailed back in the afternoon and it was lovely! The kayaking against the wind can be tough at times but not too bad and if you get sea sick perhaps not for you, one poor girl in our group suffered towards the end of the kayaking. We could see the seals and pups which was lovely and sailed in behind a cove into a lagoon and through caves (only possible at high tide and highly recommended) our guide (oscar) was great, full of local info and kept us right all day. After a tasty lunch we walked over to anchorage which although steep is short and nice up through the forest and boarded the boat for the sail home which again was great. It was a bit cooler on the water and a jumper is a good idea but you could have a go at sailing if you wanted and hot cups of coffee were made to keep us warm by our captain who was lovely. All in all it was a really lovely way to see the beauty of Abel Tasman in a day and even in cloudy weather it was enjoyable!! Highly recommend!

Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailing09, Owner at Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

So happy you had a great day out! The Abel Tasman is certainly a beautiful place in all weathers. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We did the Sail and Walk option - It was a brilliant day. We were picked up at Marahau with a free shuttle back to Kaiterietiri - had a bit of time to get a coffee before starting the sailing - sailed slowly up to Anchorage - hopped off the boat and slowly walked our way back to Marahau. The walk was easy and a lovely way to see the Able Tasman.
We stopped at a couple of beaches and took our time walking back to the car - walk time was 3 and half hours but we took 5 hours with stops. Communication with the company was good. Would recommend this - easy to medium fitness required for walk.
Thanks

Thank Mehappytotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sailing09, Owner at Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

It sounds like you had a lovely relaxing day. Thanks for sailing with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures also viewed

Marahau, Nelson-Tasman Region
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
Motueka, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Abel Tasman Sailing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing