We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
33
14
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
14
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We had a lovely welcome The hotel is charming and the owner makes every effort to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We had a large room at the front of the hotel. From our balcony we could watch the sun setting over the sea. The hotel is very near the beach, local shops and restaurants. We twice yisited the local market which was just around the corner. The hotel is well situated for good walks, cycling and has its own car park. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hermid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

This is a classic French resort hotel that has been well maintained and retains it's period charm. My room was amply sized for one or two and very comfortable. Obviously a lot of effort had been made to retain it's period charm while at the same time providing all the modern conveniences. My room had a balcony with a view towards the Atlantic. Breakfast was very good and featured a number or home made preserves. The proprietress was very friendly and accommodating and patiently tolerated my lack of French language skills. On this visit, I stayed here by myself while visiting friends in the area. My only regret is that I did not have the time to stay longer. Next time I stay here (and I do hope there will be a next time) I will have to bring my wife and stay for several days.

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floors with view towards the Atlantic.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GuyNoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We booked for 5 nights but extended our stay for another night. The hotel has been in the family for three generations and it's charming owner made us very welcome. We enjoyed our breakfasts, plenty of fruit and different pastries. We were fascinated by the many lobsters and crabs being sold across the road, some of enormous size. The hotel is well situated f or exploring the local area. We visited Challons for a special fair, St Gilles de Croiz, the Isle of Noirmoutier and walked along the dunes to St Jean de Mont. In St Hilaire de Riez we enjoyed the rock pools and local markets and some good meals in the local restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea, large and spacious with a balcony (more to look out of than to sit on )
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hermid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

A hotel which has undoubtedly had its grand moments, and retains its 30's charm. Agatha Christie would have been at home here.

We had an enormous room with windows on two sides, both looking towards the sea. The hotel is situated up above the shore, part of which is sandy beach, part rocks uncovered at low tide. We enjoyed watching the tide come in and out, leaving rock pools behind.

There is a long marked path along the shore that start just near the hotel, and is very pleasant.

Service slightly amateur rather than trained professional. You sort of wondered if it was a collection of Aunties and cousins roped in to help out . . . Very friendly, but certainly not graduates of any hotel course!

Breakfast was delightful with a wide choice of home-made jams (made by Grand'mere) and a basket of fruit placed on the table to help yourself - which was charged extra to my surprise when we came to pay.

The restaurant wasn't a restaurant at all, but a Seafood Bar. You had to order in advance your plateau de fruits de mer. We didn't wish to do this, so wandered round the little town where there were a lot of restaurants to choose from.

Good parking.

Room Tip: Sea view, preferably the large room with windows both sides
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Turista-Inglesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were met by Catherine who was absolutely charming, showed us to our room, got us some help with our luggage and explained about late entry and the secure car park. The situation of the hotel was somewhat surprising as it gives the impression that it is right on the beach and this is borne out by the photo of the hotel on the website.

However, the photo must have been taken when the hotel was built in the thirties as there is now a road, a fish warehouse and a block of flats between the hotel and the sea!

The decor in the rooms is thirties style, the bedroom large, bed comfortable and tea and coffee provided. The balcony to the room could have been a real wow factor but instead contained a few pots with dead plants and generally was run down and not somewhere that you wanted to be.

Breakfasts at 8 euros each was a bit on the high side for what was basically a few sticks of bread and a croissant altough orange juice and tea/coffee were limitless and we were offered extra bread. We did think about going out for breakfast, but there was nowhere other than take aways and virtually no savings.

The hotel has a large restaurant that is soulless and no-one ever ate in there - probably because they only had one dish which was an expensive plate of seafood,

Hotel was very clean but a bit expensive at 100 euros a night plus breakfast and the staff were charming

Room Tip: If you book directly with the hotel, you can choose your room. Most are sea facing (and you can just about see the sea).
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews