We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
65
48
7
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
48
7
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We stayed a couple of days with friends and found all the staff, owners to intern welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room (standard Comfort room) was clean and functional and the breakfast good local produce that made a great start to the day. Short walk to a couple of really nice restaurants ... and more importantly, short walk back. :) We will be going back when the weather is warmer so we can use the swimming pool

Room Tip: Prestige rooms by the side of the pool will be our next choice so we can sit outside in the shade early evening
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larrys41fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMELIE_et_FRANCOIS, Propriétaire at Le Manoir de l'Antiquite, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thanks a lot for your comment & hoping to see you back during summer time !
Regards,
Amélie & François

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

This hotel, "Le manoir de l'antiquité", is has my opinion one of best which is in Challans. We received a very warm welcome and the breakfast is convivial and copious offering locallybreads & croissants, cereals, jams and fresh fruit including tea and coffee... Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Culture53059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We had to stay for another night and is was rather stormy on our way to Ile de Ré. We found this small hotel by accident through the web and since the rate was ok we decided to stay there. Rooms were clean and quiet, and the manager was very nice and welcoming. Not sure if I would want to stay ther for a longer holiday but for this 1 night it was really ok.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terlindenraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We were looking for a quiet getaway after a month long of family reunions. That was it. Besides the excellent accommodations (great breakfast) the owners were very friendly and eager to help booking restaurant tables (only a handful are open on Sundays and Mondays in off season France). Very accommodating yet non intrusive, they made our stay a better experience. Breakfast features local and organic products.

Room Tip: the Zen suite is at the end of the garden, very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Georges B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Arrived after a long drive to find the hotel locked up and a notice to say it would open at 1730 with a phone number - not a promising start (although it did mention the checking-in time on the booking, we didn't expect to be locked out!).
We returned 2 hours later and were shown to room 6 - very clean, pleasant and comfortable. Not much storage but interestingly furnished and decorated (including paint effects) with a modern and stylish shower room. Wi-fi was good.
The patio doors lead out to a lovely enclosed courtyard then on to the pool and deck area. This was lovely - the plants, trees and furniture all beautiful.
We used the pool everyday, often having it to ourselves and listening to the relaxing music.
We turned down breakfast due to the price (12€ each) and went out and got an adequate breakfast for 5€ each.
We slept well but as there is no air conditioning, we had the windows open meaning that we had a number of insect bites by the morning.
Challans is a busy little town - we loved the market (open on certain days) and the shops in the day although in the evening it was a bit lacking in atmosphere.
The nearby building work with some large cranes didn't affect us at all. We always found somewhere to park, luckily the hotel is just outside the "payant" area.
We visited St Jean des Monts and Noirmoutier but most of the time did very little.
Although we stayed 3 nights, most guests were just passing through - much nicer than the usual chain hotels.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank marcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antiquite, Propriétaire at Le Manoir de l'Antiquite, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir apporté votre contribution à la communauté des internautes.
Lors de la réservation, vous avez reçu un e-mail vous informant des horaires de check in avec un plan d'approche en PJ. Sur cet e-mail, nous vous informions également que ces horaires peuvent être aménagés sur simple appel téléphonique le matin de votre arrivée. Pourquoi êtes-vous alors surpris ?
Quant au petit déjeuner, comment pouvez-vous juger d'un prix trop élevé sans en avoir profité ? Saviez-vous qu'il vous est proposé environ 30 produits à volonté (tous frais issus de l'artisanat local), du café expresso à volonté (arabica Brésil en commerce équitable), du Thé Damman à volonté, etc.... Nous serions en mesure, nous aussi, de vous proposer un petit déjeuner à 5 €, mais il serait de fait très restrictif et de piètre qualité et ne correspondrait pas à la demande de notre clientèle qui, elle, apprécie notre prestation.
Challans bénéficie d'un climat privilégié, ou l'air marin apporte en permanence une légère brise qui rafraichit l'air ambiant, sauf les rares journées caniculaires comme celle que vous avez vécues. La climatisation n'est donc pas nécessaire, d'autant plus que notre engagement environnemental suppose la limitation de nos rejets polluants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews