We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
33
47
17
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
47
17
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Another hotel that exceeded expectations both thanks to the services and the heartiness of the staff. The photos of the hotel in the internet completely correspond to the real situation. The location is simply great - 70-100 m to the seashore. Free parking on site. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are also clean. May be some purely cosmetic repair might be advised, as well as having big dispensers for soap and gel-shampoo instead of small containers, which ran out of contents quickly and had not been replaced by new ones. It is a small drawback-still it is better to pay attention to such things in the future. We had a room with a balcony (which had side walls for privacy) and the view from the balconies was amazing. You see the Esterella mountains and the sea. The breakfast (at additional price of 11.50 EUR per person) can be enjoyed inside the breakfast room and in the patio. The choice of meals is just incredible: 6-7 types of cheeses, pastry, cold meat, fruits (all types) are extremely tasty and available in good quantities. The territory of the hotel is very nice and they have a cat-very funny and polite pet . If we ever get back to Agay, we will choose the same hotel for sure!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alonas228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

This hotel is very good for people coming for holidays and that have a small budget. With the sea 10 meters to the hotel, you can go for a swim after waking up. The restaurant is also delicious with its steak tartare. You can also go at night time to the sea border market that is every night in front of the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ulysse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

L'esterella is a three star hotel that I think punches above it's weight.
Location is superb, cross the street to the beach and the whole of Agay can be reached on foot.
Our room was comfortable and clean. Good bathroom hairdryer etc
Can't comment on food as we did not have breakfast
Attached restaurant Happy Days was very good,separate review
Style of the hotel is a bit old fashioned.
Our room 11 had fabulous balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for front balcony room
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceredigionbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Love this place, it's so laid back and peaceful.
The rooms are lovely and have air con fridge and safe, the front ones have balconys with sea view, table and chairs so you can have a cosy little take away in the sun!

An english speaking and incredibly helpful owner (we had a problem with the shutters which was probably our fault and he had them repaired first thing the next morning!), free secure parking on site and a thirty second walk to the beach, what more could you ask?
Oh and wifi that works properly, that's a rarity in France..

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billcro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Beautiful Agay. Beautiful, friendly Hotel l'Esterella. My wife and I found this wonderful hotel six years ago and have returned every year since. Always to the same room - No.18. The hotel is superbly situated for a variety of local restaurants and dedicated water-sports facilities and is only a one minute walk to the beautiful, very safe, and well appointed sandy beach. Walk just seven minutes along the shoreline in the opposite direction and you'll find a tiny picturesque harbour from where at 0930hrs each Tuesday, a little ferry-boat leaves for St Tropez. An hour's journey hugging the beautiful coastline gives you the whole day to view the delights of St Tropez prior to the return to Agay at 1645hrs. It's always a fantastic sun-filled day. Just a minute's walk from the hotel, an hourly bus takes you 10kms into the beautiful town of St Raphael. Unbelievable value at just EUR2.20 per person, return. Train to Cannes, Antibes or Nice? The little unmanned Agay station just minutes from the hotel itself, provides a 30/60 minute journey to these sea-decked towns respectively - again, hugging that sun-kissed coastline until you reach your destination. Agay is so easily reached from Nice airport, we never take our car. It's always such a relaxing and magical annual holiday. Our air conditioned room no.18 is kept immaculately clean, has its own fridge, free WiFi, safe, and balcony with table, chairs, and recliners all facing out to sea. An immaculately maintained bathroom, excellent storage cupboards and crisp, white cotton bed-linen all add to the overall comfort. It's a wonderfully quiet, family-run hotel without the pomp and ceremony of the larger chains. Here, there's never a breakfast queue for the masses. It's a much more quiet affair eaten under the sun-warmed umbrellas outside. Fresh baguettes, croissants, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, a superb variety of fruits, yoghurt, jams, juices, and a bottomless coffee pot all make for a fantastic start to the day - representing superb value for money. We happily travel to many holiday destinations each year but for us? Hotel l'Esterella ticks ALL those boxes ...... EVERY time.

Room Tip: We love room 18 which provides us with beautiful south facing views.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hollick95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews