We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting, gorgeous cottage”

Review of Domaine Lavie

Domaine Lavie - aerial view of the cottages and swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Domaine Lavie - aerial view of the cottages and swimming pool
Swimming Pool Terrace Cottage (sleeps 2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Domaine Lavie - aerial view of the cottages and swimming pool
Swimming Pool
Terrace Cottage (sleeps 2)
Terrace Cottage from across the pool
Terrace Cottage bedroom with king size bed
Terrace Cottage open plan kitchen, dining and living space
Terrace Cottage open plan living, dining and kitchen space
Terrace Cottage shower room
Terrace Cottage view through the front door
Orchard Cottage (sleeps 4)
Orchard Cottage master bedroom with super king size bed
Orchard Cottage ensuite shower room to master bedroom
Orchard Cottage twin bedroom (has its own separate shower room)
Orchard Cottage sitting room
Orchard Cottage dining area
Orchard Cottage open plan kitchen and dining space
Orchard Cottage terrace
Orchard Cottage view from the terrace
Courtyard Cottage (sleeps 4)
Courtyard Cottage double bedroom
Courtyard Cottage twin bedroom
Courtyard Cottage sitting room
Courtyard Cottage open plan kitchen and dining area
Courtyard Cottage private terrace
Park Cottage (sleeps 6)
Park Cottage first floor super king OR twin bedroom with ensuite shower room
Park Cottage first floor double bedroom with ensuite shower room
Park Cottage ground floor twin OR super king bedroom with ensuite bath (shower over)
Park Cottage open plan kitchen and dining area
Park Cottage open plan sitting area
Swimming pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Salies-de-Bearn, Bearn, Bearn-Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Skaula
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed 17 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed in Park Cottage for 2 weeks from late July. It is a lovely old cottage with 3 large double bedrooms, all ensuite. It is furnished very well with comfortable beds, armchairs and a sofa. The kitchen has a microwave, oven, dishwasher, washing machine, 2 fridges and is well stocked with all the pots, pans, crockery, cutlery, glasses and equipment you would need for a self-catering holiday. It was also spotlessly clean. Julie made sure that basics were stocked and we appreciated the little welcome gifts she left for us.
The pool area is lovely and it was nice to have it pretty much to ourselves. We enjoyed day trips to the Pyrenees, St Jean de Luz, Lourdes and other attractions nearby. Unfortunately Salies de Bearn had suffered a very bad flood in the town earlier this summer so some of the restaurants and shops we would have liked to visit were closed. Hopefully the town will be back on its feet next time we visit.
It was a lovely relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2018
Thank you for your lovely review - it's great to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Domaine Lavie. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Typical French gites in a relaxing and picturesque setting.”
Reviewed 15 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed here as 3 families with 4 boys aged between 6-9 in three of the four separate gites and had a relaxing 2 week break. Julie is a great host and was always on hand with advice on where to visit for river swims, city visits, shopping and eating and also provided a great service when we needed anything. The gites are of the typical rustic French style but have all modern conveniences including Wi-Fi. If you like to spend your days relaxing round the pool with rural views into the far distance then this is the place to go. The local town, Salies De Bearns was recovering from recent flooding which has temporaraliy closed a lot of local restaurants and shops so we didn't get to see it at its best which was a shame as it is very picturesque. Day trips out included Lourdes, a trip on the highest train in Europe up the Pyrenees and the beach at St. Jean De Luz all highly reccomended. C'est bon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to have your group of 3 families to stay and a delight to see and hear (in a good way!) your boys enjoying themselves so much - and good to know that their parents managed to have a relaxing holiday too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan M
Banff
1 review
“Ideal for a relaxing holiday with family or friends in picturesque surroundings.”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in Orchard Cottage and our friends in Terrace Cottage. The accommodation had everything we needed including privacy if desired . It was spotlessly clean. The pool is large, well maintained and enjoys a southerly aspect overlooking a "sea of sun flowers" in the adjacent field. We enjoyed several evening BBQs which ended under moonlit skies.Salies de Bearn is within a few minutes drive and as well as being a delight to the eye has all facilities required . The local countryside consists of gently rolling hills of fields and woodland . The Pyrennes and the Atlantic coast are within easy driving distance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you at Domaine Lavie and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen1ewx
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Return visit to the Bearn region”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have just returned from a fab two week break in Orchard Cottage. The cottage offers the best of both worlds - access to a lovely pool and new friends for our 11 year old daughter, but with our own private garden & BBQ. The cottage itself is lovely, bright, airy and cool at night. A very well equipped kitchen, quality bedding & towels and lots of extra touches - welcome hamper, flowers & a bottle of local wine. A great location too, with easy access to the coast, Spain, the Pyrennes and the river. There are also some great restaurants close by. Julie & Ian are great hosts too and on hand to provide info on local events.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting & pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
It was lovely to meet you and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Domaine Lavie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathS72
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for relaxing, cycling or exploring”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Domaine Lavie is a cluster of gites around the courtyard of an old manor house, each backing on to the beautiful south-facing garden with its large pool. We stayed in 'Orchard Cottage' which was perfect for our family - clean, well-equipped (for both British and French cooks), comfortable and with bags of character. We were there during a hot spell, and the thick stone walls kept the cottage beautifully cool during the day. The owners, Jules and Ian, were very friendly and hospitable, and provided a really helpful 'welcome pack' of bread, milk, tea, coffee, wine, etc. We split our time between lazing around the garden and exploring the local area - Salies, Navarrenx, St Jean de Luz and the Pyrenees are all recommended. We were pleasantly surprised by how many flat cycling routes suitable for the family there were, as well as the more mountainous routes for the serious cyclist. The unheated pool was a little bracing in April, but we understand they have plans for solar heating soon. As in most of rural France, WiFi is not amazingly quick, but it was fine for checking emails and searching on the Internet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, the pyrenees, the swimming pool
Liked least: Sunburn!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing