We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stil Hotel Sensimar Los Gigantes
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ona El Marques(Santiago del Teide)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Globales Tamaimo Tropical(Puerto de Santiago)
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dragos Del Sur(Puerto de Santiago)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Allegro Isora(Playa de la Arena)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
US$234
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Casona del Patio(Santiago del Teide)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,632)
Filter reviews
2,632 results
Traveller rating
1,083
980
348
123
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,083
980
348
123
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos gigantesthomson goldsea viewthomson repscouples hotelfresh water poolla gomeraelton john tributegold hotelyounger couplesshow cookingevening entertainmentrelaxing holidayhighland paddyplenty of choicepool baraverage age
Filter
Updating list...
659 - 664 of 2,632 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Thank you we had a great time. The hotel feels clean, safe, and has stunning views. The Thomson entertainment staff are really lovely and lift spirits!
The food was enjoyable and there is a fair amount of variety. I often won't eat meat in certain places abroad, but enjoyed doing so here.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 683ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio R, Front Office Manager at Stil Hotel Sensimar Los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear 683ruth,

First of all, we would like to express our gratitude for selecting Sensimar Los Gigantes for your holiday.

We are more than happy you shared the positive impressions of your stay on TripAdvisor, and that you could find such nice words about our hotel.

We hope your journey back home went fine, and we would love to welcoming you again in our resort.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

On arriving at the Sensimar very late due to a delayed flight we were greeted by a very friendly efficient receptionist who booked us in and gave us all the information we needed then he pointed us towards the restaurant for supper.
When we arrived at our room on the 1st floor we were pleasantly surprised by a very clean good size room and an enormous bed and a sea view to die for.
I would give the food 9/10 but due to lack of staff they have to race about and with people carrying there hot food etc. it's an accident waiting to happen they don't seem to look when they turn round and many a plate has been dropped and we noticed that especially the older waiting staff were very abrupt and not very friendly it's my only criticism but it's worth mentioning.
We would certainly return.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio R, Front Office Manager at Stil Hotel Sensimar Los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear Dave R,

Please, let us thank you for passing your vacation on Tenerife at Sensimar Los Gigantes.

Your review is highly appreciated, we are very happy to read you had an enjoyable holiday in our resort, and we thank you for your remarks about the rooms, reception staff and the food. Your comments about the restaurant staff will be looked into and forwarded to the respective head of department.

We would be thrilled to seeing you back again for another relaxing time.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic holiday we had... starting with a very late arrival and the staff very kindly kept us some cold plates back for a late dinner. We were checked in with no fuss and good grace! Following on from this we had a wonderful week in the sun, the staff were very polite and catered to all our desires. The meals were all very nice and the restaurant was clean - drink service was very quick too! The views from the hotel are fabulous whether a sea-view or a mountain-view... we were located on the first floor just above the main entrance and noise from outside was barely noticeable! I couldnt recommend this hotel enough and we will definitely be back at some point in the future

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio R, Front Office Manager at Stil Hotel Sensimar Los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear John J,

In first place, let us thank you for spending your holiday at Sensimar Los Gigantes.

We are delighted to read your positive review on TripAdvisor, and that you had a fabulous time with us. The satisfaction of our guests is our first aim, and we are proud that we achieved it in your case, all our staff will be pleased to see their efforts so much appreciated.

We hope your journey back home went well and are already looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The good.
Friendly Hotel staff in general, Thompson reps and Entertainment staff and happy, helpful and chatty
Nice location, although there’s not really a decent beach within walking distance and area is very hilly and not a variety\routes or areas to explore on foot.
Rooms very clean and the buffets are as you would expect for a 3-4* hotel.
Local restaurants, bars are decent.
Outside bar area , pools have great views and well maintained.

Bad.
Entertainment is too repetitive - we were there 10 nights and saw the same acts again and again , they should be on a 2 week loop not one.
The acts all cater for the over 50's and all music based (how about a variety act).
Cocktails are very poor , they use mixers not fresh ingredients - which is fine if you are at an all-inclusive hotel , not if you are charging normal bar prices. Hint go next door (outside the hotel) to the cocktail bar if you appreciate a real cocktail.
Food is repeated - how about having a night with an outside BBQ?
Sun loungers - can’t really blame the hotel for this (although they could police it better) but more a reflection on the selfishness of British holiday culture (Ps I’m British and it’s not the younger people as well) , towels out by 7am , leaving them until midday before taking and if you do a day trip , leave them there anyway.(Shame on you people!)
Trousers in the evening, personally i think it’s a good idea as it ensures people make an effort and judging by the girls who a dress code is not enforced, it's just as well! Otherwise you would have guys sitting there in speedos.

Overall just over average for the points that are in the hotels control , points to management - concentrate on mixing up the evening entertainment\food , people are not tied to the hotel in the evening for drinks (so its in your interest), they can go elsewhere as we did for the full 2nd week to avoid the poor drinks and entertainment loop\time warp.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio R, Front Office Manager at Stil Hotel Sensimar Los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear johnthants,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Sensimar Los Gigantes for your vacation, as well as for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

We regret that our facilites and services did not entirely meet your expectations, and that especially the entertainment was not to your taste. Please be sure your comments will be forwarded to the respective department. On the other hand, we appreciate your kind words about our staff and will make sure they reach them.

We hope you arrived back home well and would be very glad to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We will start with the positives !!!!
The Suite Room was very large and fantastic views and the shower had so many shower heads and reached parts other showers didn't..reach.

Now the Negatives !!!!
Some of the waiting staff mainly older ones were very miserable, when you came for evening meal and sat down they would come over and say " room number" (can you see what is missing? Please) didn't even say please or thank you, when you said oh I don't want any drinks it was as if you had just insulted their mother or children,they wrote on the bill and they banged the bill on the table and walked off, it was like they had to sell drinks or they would be in trouble or they were on commission to sell drinks.
At breakfast drinks were included, including orange juice, coffee and some alcohol but in the evening everything was turned off even the water, we were on Half Board basis and everywhere we have stayed before all around the world water or juice has been provided on half board basis whilst having your meals, what I do not understand is why do you get drinks with the breakfast but not the evening meal?
All they seem to want to do at this hotel is charge for everything they can at every opportunity.

The lifts as people have said are very unreliable and small, maximum 4 people and any more the lift alarm goes off and the lift won't move, good safety feature I suppose but a big hotel like this lifts should have a bit more capacity.

The rooms are looking a bit dated, bath sealer is dirty and needs resealing around the bath and the shower, the units in one of the bedrooms the edging is hanging off and needs sticking back down, table edges all chipped and just needs a touch up to make it look a bit more presentable after all this is a 4 star hotel not a 2 or 3 star.

Sheets it states are changed 4 times a week and believe me they are NOT changed 4 times a week.

The food is what I would call average for a 4 star hotel, the Alacarte Restaurant you get one free visit but it is definitely not Alacarte quality, if I had paid for the meal I would have sent it back, it is definitely not the standard you would expect, the cut of pork was very poor quality and even the sauce did not hide the fact it was poor quality, the meat had a strange taste to it.

All in all very disappointed, this hotel could be great if The owners got their heads together and looked through these reviews and took the guests advice, the suites are fantastic as are the views, put in place a maintenance plan for the rooms and when any faults are found the housekeeper informs maintenance and the repair is fixed, keep on top of faults before they build up and become major repairs, don't let it fall in to disrepair as the old los gigantes hotel did, this could be a great hotel.

1. Provide drinks with both breakfast and evening meal instead of just breakfast, even if it's only water and juice.

2. Retrain some of the older staff to be more polite and friendly towards guests even if they don't buy drinks, remember a smile is the same in all languages.

3. Start a maintenance plan and have a rolling maintenance schedule, have proactive maintenance where checks are done by all staff whilst they are in a room so if they see a fault they report it and reactive where the maintenance staff react to the fault or any other urgent faults.

It's a shame because this could be a good hotel..

Now would I return to this hotel? NO.....

Not in its present state..........

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank bevhjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio R, Front Office Manager at Stil Hotel Sensimar Los Gigantes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Dear bevhjs,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Sensimar Los Gigantes.

We regret that your holiday did not meet your expectations, and that the hotel’s services and facilites were not to your liking.
We would like to pick up a few of your remarks, for example, most hotels do not have any drinks included in the half board option, if there are not any special deals on offer. We are sorry if you expected this at Sensimar Los Gigantes, as there is no mentioning in the catalogues or on the websites.

The maintenance of our rooms is hold to a high standard, but of course, as any other hotel, certain signs of use cannot be avoided. Nevertheless our rooms are controlled regulary and any maintenance work is carried any time when needed and possible.

The Culinarium is actually not offering an a-la-carte Service, but a set 5 course menu in waiter’s Service instead of the usual buffet for dinner. Again, we are sorry if you felt this serice not to the standard you expected, as most of our guests are very content with it.

Please be sure your remarks will be looked into and not simply passed over, as the feedback of our guests is very important to us.

We hope your journey back home went without any incidences and you arrived well.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews