We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do when in the zone”

Restaurant Onkel Taa - Bad Egart
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Parcines
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$31
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Ristorante: Fascino - Ambiente storico I Bagni Egart sono dal 1430 una locanda e sono i Bagni termali piu vecchi in Tirolo. La famiglia Platino ha trasformato negli anni la locanda nel ristorante Onkel Taa, che ospita anche il museo dedicato alla storia degli Asburgo. Nel ristorante e nel museo, si fa una gita nei tempi reali e imperiali ... Goduria culinaria Nel ristorante Onkel Taa, viene cucinato nel contesto della tradizione Asburgo. La cucina e creativa che gioca sugli ingredienti locali, alcuni in particolare autoprodotti - dalle erbe e dalle verdure biologiche che vengono coltivate nell`orto a fianco del ristorante - fino alle autentiche star della casa, le lumache dal proprio allevamento proposte in un'infinita di varianti. Ogni giorno vengono proposti piatti creativi che abbinano la tradizione Asburgo alla modernita e soprattutto nella qualita. Si possono gustare anche i piatti prelibati dell`Imperatrice Elisabetta - meglio conosciuta come Sissi e dell`Imperatore Francesco Giuseppe I. Janett Platino ogni giorno propone delle novita in cucina e si diverte a incuriosire, come nel caso delle specialita all'ortica, declina i sapori tipici della tradizione locale in diverse versioni, ne rilegge i canoni classici avvalendosi con misurata inventiva di materie prime inaspettate, qua e la da sfogo alla fantasia anche nella presentazione.
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

This is truly something special.
Service is very friendly and the atmosphere is certainly unique in many ways. It's a throwback to somewhere is a romantic mess made of ... many things. Well for the food this is also certainly unique. What is historically correct and what is left for the tourists that we are is subject for interpretation but the meal was just delicious. I had home made ravioli with season mushrooms absolutely amazing. Then we discovered so many herbs! This is plain incredible. So tasty so unexpected ! In a word wonderful. So ok it's not in the cheap, it's certainly special and you must not be dust freak to go there. But this is genuine, it is home made and this is top notch food. Last but not least...men toilets are another appetizer...;-)

Thank benjamin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett P, Manager at Restaurant Onkel Taa - Bad Egart, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Mr Benjamin,
thank you very much for your recension. :)
King regards Janett Platino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

all time I turn around to look who its the chef. Only one woman there and two women serving and help, that mind if you muss wait long time for your meal, do not complain. Look the display, meal decor and test what she did with foods, special are herbs. All very fresh, simple quick cook or making salat, really good! Fish very fresh, vegetable as well. But not dor very hungry ones, cause portion just enought to test. The best its order several course, for test and for full stormach.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett P, Manager at Restaurant Onkel Taa - Bad Egart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Mai P,
thank you for your feedback. Nice greetings - Janett & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Visited Onkel taa some years ago but have never forgotten probably the most wonderful meal we have ever eaten. This magnificent restaurant was recommended to us and while on a months holiday we drove very many miles out of our way to visit. The museum was most amazing and not to be missed. And even though we could nit speak a word of their language and they in turn not speaking a word of ours we just let the staff feed us. and WOW what a meal. We speak of it often and would just love to return. If you are ever anywhere near do not miss this quirky magnificent restaurant

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LabuanHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett P, Manager at Restaurant Onkel Taa - Bad Egart, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you soooo much for this wonderful feedback.
We hope, that you see again. Sincerly Janett & family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Very nice place, you can eat as Franz Josef and Sissi during the Austrian Empire, great! The old meals, in the traditional atmosphere, great! Absolutely worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flo68-mun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett P, Manager at Restaurant Onkel Taa - Bad Egart, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Flo68-mun,
thank you very much for this nice feedback.
Best regards of South Tyrol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Quaint, close to the Trautttmansdorff Gardens, and most unique in napkin folding, one can indulge in special paper-thin potato "Onkel Taa, Tyrolean cheese dumplings, local greens with crayfish and Apple Strudel with cranberries and bourbon vanilla sauce! The owners are the chefs as well as servers and so friendly!

Thank jane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janett P, Manager at Restaurant Onkel Taa - Bad Egart, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Thank you very much for this nice Feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Onkel Taa - Bad Egart also viewed

Parcines, Province of South Tyrol
Parcines, Province of South Tyrol
 
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
Parcines, Province of South Tyrol
 
Lagundo, Province of South Tyrol
Rabla, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to Restaurant Onkel Taa - Bad Egart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing