We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dining experience of our whole trip”
Review of Didyme Ristorante

Didyme Ristorante
Reserve with
Didyme Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$73
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Didyme is one of those restaurants you will remember long after your holidays are over. We went there as a couple for dinner. It's located a bit of the main streets of Santa Marina Salina, about 100m behind the car rental. It has a really nice terrace with a view over the harbour and to Lipari.
Carmelo, the owner, was a fantastic host. He described all available meals to us (in English), the provenance of the meat, nice little details like how their Caponata is made etc.
Most importantly, the food was awesome! We had linguine with freshly made eolian pesto, bistecca alla veneziana (a whopping 800g! :-), and caponata. Everything was very tasty and had that little something to it.
Highly recommended and worth every penny.

Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna3311, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Didyme Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thanks for your review, it's a pleasure for us to know that our work is appreciated.

I hope to see you soon in Salina Island.

Carmelo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

This is a super fantastic restaurant. Five stars. It is just passed the scooter rental on the hill. You can sit outside and have a view of the ocean. Carmelo is a great owner and recommended plates which were all delicious. The swordfish carpaccio was so fresh, it just melted in your mouth. Primi consisted of ravioli stuffed with grouper and tagliatelle with meat sauce. The secondis were 2 separate plates consisting of stuffed calamari and meatballs seasoned with herbs, from their garden. All so delicious paired with a bottle of wine from the Fenech winery. The desert was chocolate mouse made by Carmelo himself. - decadent. The finish was complimentary Malvasian wine from his family’s vineyard.
A fantastic evening. Carmelo and his chef make a great team.

Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna3311, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Didyme Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it and we hope to see you again at our restaurant.

Best regards

Carmelo and Didyme Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food, great atmosphere and very friendly owners. We came back several times during our stay on the island. The amazing sicilian/aeolian food combined with craft beers in such a relaxed, laid-back setting is a pretty unique experience! Oh, and ask about the rum :)

Thank Matthijs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna3311, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Didyme Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear Matthijs, thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you.

See you soon,

Didyme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Expect a warm welcome from the hosts who take pleasure and pride in their food and drink. As a vegetarian and a vegan we were catered extremely well and the food was delicious. The house wine is very nice and there is an extensive range of craft beers. It’s set about a 5 minute walk away from main town and has gorgeous views.

Thank Den B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna3311, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Didyme Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review, it's was a pleasure for us.

All the best
Staff Didyme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

By far the best in Santa Marina.
The owners welcomed us and assisted us with a great service. You Can see how much care they put in what they do. Starting from the nice forniture, the beutifully edited menu, to the enthusiastic dishes explainations. Food is good, very special, LOCAL (and sicilian). Mixed of sicilian charcutierie was very nice ad well as the pasta dishes - we had linguine with shrimps and tomato and the penne with swordfish peppers pinoli and raisins... Super top!

Thank Annaclaudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Didyme Ristorante also viewed

 
Santa Marina Salina, Isola di Salina
Isola di Salina, Aeolian Islands
 
Santa Marina Salina, Isola di Salina
Santa Marina Salina, Isola di Salina
 

Been to Didyme Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing