We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and interesting menu”

Ristorante La Vecchia Locanda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant "La Vecchia Locanda" was born from the meet between Sabrina and Gaetano and by their common love for the traditional cuisine, authentic and refined. A few kilometers from Bologna, nestled in a beautiful seventeenth-century court, called Olmatello, and in a informal atmosphere, you can enjoy the traditional dishes of Emilia-Romagna such as tortellini in capon broth, the noodles at the “Romagnola” or with Bolognese old way sauce and main meat as the "Bolognese Cutlet" and "the Petroniana" with truffles, as well as various dishes with porcini and white and black truffle from territory. Entering the restaurant you will be welcomed by the odour of freshly baked bread and the scent of sweet genuine. The pasta is stetched with the rolling pin for a better guarantee of genuineness; the staff will be on hand for the selection of wines and vegetarian menus. The owners are happy to organize your business dinners, corporate parties, graduation, weddings and your every anniversary.
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Warm, busy atmosphere. Helpful friendly staff. Don't be put off by "tacky" pictures outside restaurant... the food was lovely

Thank louiseV5149LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Tiny roadside ristorante serving serious food - imaginative pastas, meat, tartufi. No fish. Impressive winelist.

Thank ChristianStr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perSabrinaC, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ristorante La Vecchia Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank for Your positive review, Mr. Christian.
We are pleased that our kitchen and our wine list was to his liking.
For our choice and for the size of the restaurant, we do not offer fish dishes.
We look forward to returning soon to our welcome guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We were in Bologna for a wedding and were looking for a nearby place to eat some home-style food and good steak. This place is fantastic! The hosts always greet you with a glass of prosecco and an appetizer, then you can choose a variety of home- made pasta or beef dishes. They have a menu in English but I recommend checking the Italian one with the google translate app because it has more variety. We tried the tomowak steak which is a huge giant thick steak that you eat in at least two people. AMAZING! It's about 3 lbs of meat but they will cook it different ways if you want to share it.
We were so pleased that we came back the day after for some hand made pasta. They will also give you a free shot of liquor called 'ammazza caffe' after coffee typically, it's part of the Italian meal tradition. If your party is big I recommend calling ahead because they have about 10 tables only. Overall a fantastic service and great food, you will be pleased!

Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perSabrinaC, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante La Vecchia Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Goodmorning Sara,
we are happy that you have enjoyed our restaurant, our "glass of prosecco and appetizer" welcome, our food and our service.
We are proud of our variety of home- made pasta and beef dishes, so we are always happy when our customers appreciate our menu. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our tomawak and tha various way of cook. We like to know that you have also appreciated the tradition of the "ammazzacaffé".
We will be happy if, during your future visits to Italy, you will come again to eat from us.
Thanks You from all the Staff.
Now I answer as responsible for menu translations: I hope my translations are sufficiently clear and correct.
Really I think that: all the Italian menu should be translated, not just the main part, but the hosts often change the "chef proposes" menu and considere the turnout of foreign tourists insufficient to require a biweekly translation; Likewise, they prefer not to translate the tasting menus because, not knowing the other languages, they would not be able to explain the dishes present.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

From the moment we came in they spoiled us with lambrusco wine homemade bread and grisini.friendly waiters and tasty food.Free limoncelo in the end of the meal to sweeten the reasonable price

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 168dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benny L, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante La Vecchia Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thanks for nice words that spends to us.
We hope to have you soon in our Restaurant.
Yours sincerely
The Staff from "La Vecchia Locanda"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I went for a meal with a close friend here. It is a family restaurant with excellent food.
The people make this restaurant special, but there is great food. It is beautifully presented, with starters, with the main course - the pasta is fresh, home made, delightful. Further the drinks are wonderful. Oh, and the dessert.
Go with your friends and experience it, but best with a good friend.

Thank you to everyone.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amandabray2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benny L, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ristorante La Vecchia Locanda, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016


Ms. Amanda , thanks for nice words that spends to us.
We hope to have you soon in our Restaurant.
Yours sincerely
The Staff from "La Vecchia Locanda"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Vecchia Locanda also viewed

Ozzano dell'Emilia, Province of Bologna
Ozzano dell'Emilia, Province of Bologna
 
Imola, Province of Bologna
Ozzano dell'Emilia, Province of Bologna
 
Ozzano dell'Emilia, Province of Bologna
Castel San Pietro Terme, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Ristorante La Vecchia Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing