We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The view from the cottage in winter.
Portgower Beach 3 minutes walk from the cottage
The view from the cottage.
The front of the cottage.
The river Helmsdale nearby is a popular fishing spot for Prince Charles.
Sunrise from the living room window.
Dornoch Golf Course 3rd Hole.
The village is idyllic. It is surrounded by fields and faces the sea.
Enjoy beautiful sunrises from the comfort of the cottage.
Relax in front of an open fire in the living room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Helmsdale, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peachy221
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lorna was really helpful with information and tips for our stay. The cottage was a lot bigger than we expected, it's rustic but has a lot of charm, and had plenty of extras (like soaps in bathroom and some pantry items in the kitchen) that made our stay really comfortable. The view from the cottage was truly gorgeous, a rolling green hill with grazing sheep and beyond that the sea. It was really perfect for us. Lorna's neighbours were also very friendly, gave us some great tips for places to go nearby. We made an easy drive up to John O'Groats which was breathtaking - a must do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy M
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with breathtaking views”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

As a family we have been travelling to this area for years because my parents had lived in wick. We needed somewhere local to this area and found that the cottage in portgower was ideal. We visited all our old haunts. Dunbeath, lybster, wick, John o groats, brora, golspieand even went over to the west coast. All these beautiful places are worth going to. This part of the world never fails to impresscus and the cottage location is ideally positioned for anyone to visit them. The cottage is well equipped and very cosy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet g
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect peace and relaxation”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is much bigger than we first in a lovely quiet lane , the view from the sitting room is fabulous you could just sit looking at the the sea view for hours , the house was well equipped and lovely and cosy when we arrived from a long 11 hour trip everything we could want with thoughtful touches . Although some of the museums and attractions are not open till the season begins we found lots of lovely walks and things to do and see, visited john o groats and all the historic villages perfect for us .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charley S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value Cottage”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Palm Tree Cottage. It is set in a peaceful location and the views out towards the sea were lovely. Both of the double bedrooms were a good size and it was a bonus to have wifi too. We feel that the stay represented excellent value for money and would return if we were to stay in the area again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacK345_1...
Orchha
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming cottage perched on the coast amid glorious scenery”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful short break at Palm Cottage. The place is clean and well equipped, with comfortable beds,a large, handsome kitchen and a coal fired range. More importantly its located within some of the most stunning scenery I've come across, green fields sweeping down to cliffs, beaches, charming seaside villages. Cracking value, and worth the drive! I will definitely be back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$91
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing