We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Our lovely thatched farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our lovely thatched farmhouse
The setting. The cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Our lovely thatched farmhouse
The setting.
The cottage
The view
The luxury kitchen
Sitting room
Spacious entrance hall
Hall way
Twin bedroom
Master bedroom with en-suite
En-suite bathroom
Shower room
Hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ilminster, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma P
1 review
“Gorgeous little cottage”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage is set in a lovely, quiet location with stunning scenery. It's comfortable, has everything you need, and the hot tub is an added extra. We went to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday, and it was a perfect getaway. There are some nice pubs located a short drive away, we had a lovely meal at The Winyard Gap about 20 minutes away, and enjoyed a day at West Bay (where Broadchurch is filmed), about 45 minutes away. We would highly recommend this cottage for a family or couple's getaway. Thank you to Helen and her housekeeper for all their help and for making our stay enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totallyme...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from a 2 night break with the girls, Beautiful location, fab hosts, clean well presented cottage with more than just your basic features, fully equipped amazing kitchen!. And the hot tub was amazing! Thoroughly enjoyed by all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Going Home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely country Cottage, a little holiday let needing tweeking, to make it a five star”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Setting and cottage in owners ground on arrival looked idyllic. Helen gave a very warm welcome.
Hot tub is adjacent to owners property not the cottage. Although the hot tub use was a nice extra.
Good walks from the cottage. we walked into Illminster which is quaint town. lots of antique shops. We ate in the Lemon Tree café which served a good lunch.

Overall good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, lovely cottage.
Liked least: Having to walk past owners property to use hot tub. No useable wi-fi. Owners personal belongings in cottage. Unused food in cupboards fridge, freezer. Lack of final cleanliness check upon arrival (unfortunately lots of dead flies in bedrooms)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bubulish
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Last minute booking. Helen & Martin made us feel very welcome and left us to it, but were on hand if needed. Cottage is fab, spotless and has everything you would need. Set in a beautiful village with pubs nearby. Hot tub was lovely and perfect for a relaxing stay. Cannot fault this place. Am looking to go back later this year

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A brilliant short break from start to finish”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here with another couple for the New Years eve period. We had a really great time whilst in the cottage and felt it was the perfect home away from home. We would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay in the area.

The only minor thing which we would like to mention was that the shower downstairs was not really very hot when each of us used it. However, this small thing would have only been a cherry on top of an already AMAZING stay, so didn't impact the holiday experience much at all.

The owners were really helpful and friendly so I would like to thank Martin and Helen personally for such a lovely stay.

I wish them all the best for the future and hopefully we will see you again soon

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing