We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corrrrr what a roast”
Review of The Tilbury

The Tilbury
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Datchworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Tilbury is owned & run by brothers Tom & James Bainbridge. The beautiful building sits in the heart of Datchworth, a picturesque village in the Hertfordshire countryside. With several areas to dine in The Tilbury can offer private dining for various occasions, with a cosy snug with fireplace for colder months & a beautiful terrace & garden for the summer. The brothers aim to deliver British cuisine, focusing on classic dishes with a modern twist. With new creations weekly the menu can offer light lunches as well as a full A La Carte Menu & those relaxed Sunday lunches with the family. You can also expect an impressive & exciting wine list & premium spirits to get your evening started. You'll find something for all tastes on the menu and little ones aren't forgotten as a child's menu is available along with smaller portions of the 'big menu' available too.
Reviewed 7 September 2021 via mobile

Great roast dinner amazing taste, includes cauliflower cheese, cooked to perfection. The starter we had the crispy squid was a bit disappointing it came out oily and very salty. The starter was something you would expect from a weatherspoons to be honest. However, mains was polar opposite and did justice.

Will be visiting again and regularly!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Dontshowkeithyateeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2021

We visited for a date night in July and it was lovley. Service was warm but not too clingy and the food was very good! I have a nut allergy and they were very supportive and knoweldgable. The veggie options are lovely too... I am a convert to Watermelon salsa! My husband had some local pork and thought it cooked perfectly,

Also as we travelled I drove and I was very impressed with the non alcholoic selection of drinks.

We will be back

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ELFRobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2021

We had Sunday lunch in a lovely tented area in the garden - perfect for a not-so-warm day although possibly wouldn't work so well on a warm day when you might want to be outside. Good, short menu with vegetarian options. Starter and main course both very good - we didn't make it to dessert. Staff were really attentive and friendly and coped well with Covid restrictions.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2021

The whole garden set up is fantastic - yes it was a cold night & our table in the tipi was soon swopped to one in the courtyard with an overhead heater!! (Thank you)
The service was great - the waitress even remembered that I didn’t want ice in my drinks.
The menu choice was amazing & we all thoroughly our food ...in fact we are planning our next visit shortly .
Just put the banana & fennel soup on the menu!!

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard_Vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2020

The Tilbury is our ‘go to’ restaurant when we are celebrating a special occasion so we came here for my mums 60th in October on a weekday. It was very quiet, which is unusual in ‘normal times’, but all the COVID measures were followed. I was saddened that the menu appeared to be quite limited but clearly this is due to the current climate. The dishes were all delicious, well presented and their usual high standard which we have come to expect from The Tilbury. The staff were attentive and friendly, they cannot do enough for you. I cannot wait to return once covid is over and really hope this beautiful pub can weather this storm that we are in.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Departure795040
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Tilbury also viewed

Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Stevenage, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Tilbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.