We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandend Cottage

Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
View of Village from dunes The Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
View of Village from dunes
The Lounge
Kingsize Double Bedroom
Main king size bedroom
The Twin Room
Bathroom
Back Bedroom
Utility Room
View of Cottage from Beach
Terrace view
view from the terrace garden
Sandend rooftops near the harbour
Winter view from the bedroom
What more could a dog want?
Only a road separates us from the beach
Rough seas
Coastline near Portsoy
The old Portsoy swimming pool
Shoreline
The wide expanse of sand that is Sandend Beach
Twin bedroom
Modern and well equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portsoy, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Matthias2...
Windeck, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in Sandend.There was a nice warm welcome after a long journey. We stayed in this cottage for the second time. One day we saw dolphines in the bay. The cottage is established very well with all you need. Wendy (the owner) is very friendly and helpful, she told us that the northern lights will be there in the night so we can go to the habour and look at them. It was gorgeous. A big thank you for this information. The weather in this week was so good that we used the bench in the lovely garden (with an amazing view) to have a tea. Kind regards from Germany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Hi Matthias and Birgit, so glad you got to see the Northern Lights! That's made my day! Hope you had a good trip home and hopefully till next time!
Regards
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elinor B
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Can't recommend this cottage or location highly enough!!”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Right from the word go we knew this was going to be a memorable destination. As we drove down the narrow road into Sandend the first thing that met our eyes was the beautiful beach with the sun glinting on the sea. When we unlocked the front door and entered the cosy cottage it felt lovely and warm and welcoming due to the very convenient gas heating and then as we surveyed the interior we just felt more and more at home. Comfortable furnishings, homely touches, well equipped kitchen, excellent bathroom with bath and powerful shower. After a comfortable night's sleep we had coffee on the terrace looking out to sea. A brisk walk on the beach with our springer spaniel gave us an appetite for the bacon and eggs kindly supplied by the owners (as well as a bottle of Cava and fresh flowers which were enjoyed as the week progressed). We were very lucky with the weather as it was unseasonally settled, warm and calm with sunshine from morning till night every day. Though to be honest there is so much to see and do in the area that even if the weather had been inclement we would have enjoyed it just as much.
As the week draws to a close now and we must hit the trail for home tomorrow we do so feeling truly refreshed and relaxed with a very happy dog and will definitely visit this cottage and Sandend again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this property met our expectations.
Liked least: Nothing negative to say about his property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage by the sea”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely holiday in this comfortable and well equipped cottage. It is situated by the beach. It has beautiful views of the sea. At night you can hear the roar of the waves. The children enjoyed rockpooling paddling and trying their hand at a bit of surfing. We could sit on the garden bench and watch all the activity on the beach.
The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious. It is perfect for dogs, with its utility room and proximity to the beach. There are lots of coastal walks and beaches nearby. Spotlessly clean but a real home from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Amazing as always”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Great, spacious, everything you need is right there for you. This is the second time we have stayed and will be back again sometime soon. Love the views from the kitchen and the roof top garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinah H
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb, thoroughly recommend.”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we were welcomed by a comprehensive selection of essentials one of which was a bottle of Cava! Being my birthday this seemed very appropriate. The cottage was spotlessly clean and warm on arrival. All needs seemed to have been anticipated with an extremely well equipped kitchen with a state of the art 'hob'. The bed was very comfortable and ample in size. Sandend is a lovely village, with its typical fishermans cottages and beautiful beach, a great asset for our dog. Excellent walking from the cottage and being a runner I thoroughly enjoyed the Portsoy circuit. The waves were 'up' and next time we'll bring the longboard and by then will need another bottle of the Glenglassaugh Evolution!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Hi Dinah, thank you for a fabulous review. So glad you and Bob enjoyed it! If you bring your longboard, can I come along and visit?!
Regards Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing