We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage in an amazing situation!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandend Cottage

Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
View of Village from dunes The Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Sandend Cottage with a sprinkling of snow
View of Village from dunes
The Lounge
Kingsize Double Bedroom
Main king size bedroom
The Twin Room
Bathroom
Back Bedroom
Utility Room
View of Cottage from Beach
Terrace view
view from the terrace garden
Sandend rooftops near the harbour
Winter view from the bedroom
What more could a dog want?
Only a road separates us from the beach
Rough seas
Coastline near Portsoy
The old Portsoy swimming pool
Shoreline
The wide expanse of sand that is Sandend Beach
Twin bedroom
Modern and well equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portsoy, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
320Jen
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect cottage in an amazing situation!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in this lovely cottage 7th-14th June. It was perfect for our two dogs and us as the garden was fenced in, the beach was a stone's throw away and there were lots of good walks in the area. We have never stayed in a cottage with such an amazing view - the waves rolling in and a beautiful sandy beach - just brilliant! We felt very welcome and Wendy had thought of everything holidaymakers might need. The cottage is very clean and attractive and we had a very enjoyable week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Condition of the cottage and the situation
Liked least: Nothing to add here
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopinajar
Dunnington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab-u-lous!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a family holiday in the Easter hols and as frequent holiday cottage users I can happily say it was the best! We had friends over who live nearby in Whitehills who were also super impressed and going to recommend to their own friends. The beach was amazing and the welcome pack of food and drink was lovely plus a beautiful, clean warm home. The owners seem just lovely and so helpful, it felt like we were staying at a friends place. We would love to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Thank you so much! Always happy when guests love the place as much as we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffree45...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good friends In a fantastic property, with the best views ever”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Back again, with friends this time. We had a really lovely time showing our friends all the places we loved last year, but we agreed that the house is what made it such a pleasant experience.
Wendy is lovely, organising a welcome pack which included a bottle of bubbly , nice touch as it was our friends 40th anniversary.
The weather was kind to us only 1 & half days of mist, but it gives you another view of beautiful Scotland ,
Can't wait to go back again

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acumbrian...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the perfect Scottish beach cottage!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This place was so perfect I almost am tempted to not post up a review or tell any of my friends in case it gets too popular - but as have already booked in a return visit and it was so good it would be mean not to give it the 5* it deserves. We visited in mid Feb and were blessed with mild weather for the time of year, so much so that we had to turn down the heating on a number of occasions. If you have any concerns about a winter visit then don't, the house is well insulated and warm and the log effect burner is a cosy touch (though we had no need of it). Views were wonderful, and you are literally a couple of meters from a fantastic beach and seascape. Kitchen well equipped and modern, great shower and bathroom and the wet area and back door set up for coming in from the beach is well thought through. Bedrooms comfortable, with some nice touches for the kids and the extra bedroom / access to the terrace made a great playroom / kids TV room meaning we could watch the winter olympics in peace! Plenty to see and do locally, if you can tear the kids away from the beach. Add to that the best ever welcome pack (cooked breakfast anyone?) and a very pleasant host / owner in Wendy and this is a place we will come back to again and again. We holiday extensively in self catering in Scotland and this one is done well, with thought and care, is well maintained and comfortable and is in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort.
Liked least: Only having 3 nights!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2014
Thank you Sue! I'm going to be smiling all day after that review! See you next Easter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryann...
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent family holiday home with everything you need to make your stay perfect. Views are out of this world from inside the house and outside from the top terrace a great place to go in the summer as it also has a summer house to sit in to watch the day go by.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing