We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home, beautiful area”
other travellers have booked this property
Our home looks over the National Park Jungle, and features the Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our home looks over the National Park Jungle, and features the Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal
 Surrounded by Rainforest, cloud forest, plants and nature this is a place of spiritual beauty. The Cloud forest as seen from the terrace at sunrise
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Our home looks over the National Park Jungle, and features the Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal
Surrounded by Rainforest, cloud forest, plants and nature this is a place of spiritual beauty.
The Cloud forest as seen from the terrace at sunrise
Arenal Volcano as the sun begins to set...seen from the terrace
One of the White Hawks flying by the house
Knock on the front door to enter The Home of the White Hawk.
Floor to Ceiling glass brings the outside in.
A comfortable modern Living room
A modern, fully equipped kitchen with window that open to an outdide bar
On Demand hot water here and in every bath
The wrap around terrace gives you Volcano, Lake and Jungle views
A private spot on the terrace where you hear the jungle rivers and look directly at the Rainforest
A perfet place to share a glass of wine in the evening as your dinner cooks
There are stairs from the terrace to the garden trails here and on the side of the house.
An art filled stairway leads to your upstairs bedroom, bath and terrace
As you enter the bedrrom, you see a walk-in closet, and the sliding glass doors to your terrace
Sliding glass doors with screens let you enjoy the fresh mountain air all night long
Your upstairs Bedroom with a queen bed and air conditioning,...
Your walk-in shower with on demand hot water...
American style toilets where you can flush toilet paper
As you walk thru the gardens or start your walk to the waterfall, the house shows a different face.c
The Arenal Volcano view on the way.
You've arrived at your private waterfall...
Susan enjoying this beautiful, quiet space
Susan at the river you hear from our home 24/7, and the river our waterfall joins close by
A Toucan eating from a tree near our terrace
A spider monkey photographed from the yard behind the house
Hummingbirds glaore in the gardens (with many walking trails for you to use
A Green Iguana, about 5 feet long along the road to our home
A three toed Sloth, on the between San Ramon and La Fortuna
Horseback riding is up the hill at Charlies', the home of our manager.
The cloud forest in action early one morning, picture taken from the terrace.
Sunrise...welcoming you to The Home of the White Hawk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
damiennma...
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful home, beautiful area”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was one of three homes that we rented around Costa Rica for our honeymoon, and this was our favorite. It is an absolutely beautiful home with AMAZING views (you wake up to views of the volcano!), and the property has private hiking trails, one of which has a waterfall...the water was chilly, be we had to take advantage of the moment and take a dip. The owner of the house was in touch before our stay and was, by far, the most informative regarding things to do in the area. While there, we hiked the Cerro Chato trail (quite challenging) and went zip-lining through Sky Adventures...both of these activities are only 15 minutes or less from the house. I definitely recommend (as the owner recommended to me) having a vehicle with 4wd, as the road up to the house is quite rough. We loved this place, and hope to come back in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
So glad you had a great time. Thanks for the kind words about our home. It is always special to rent it to those who seem to love it as much as we do. Thanks for staying with us...come back soon...Susan and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeremy z
1 review
“Amazing view”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

For me I really enjoyed the location and house. The house is comfortable and you can tell it is cared for. Once you get to the top of the hill you really feel close to the volcano. I enjoyed sitting on the porch and watching the birds and weather, we were lucky to have a lightning show one night. The house overall was clean and the home cooked breakfast was tasty. I look forward to staying here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thanks for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to relax and watch the tropical world drift by. Many have felt it is a spiritual place and glad to hear you enjoy it here as much as we do. Always glad to share. Susan and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca H
Wauwatosa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous quiet get away”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A long and winding drive up the mountain, past other quaint B&Bs, a restaurant and endless views ends at this beautiful home. Furnished with a mix of unique Costa Rican and American furniture and artwork. Modern amenities in the kitchen, spacious waterfall showers, internet access, tv if you want it, and a perfect view of the lake and volcano.

This is the perfect romantic retreat to enjoy the silence and beauty that surrounds. Glass windows in the living room provide an endless view of the jungle, or choose the open air patio to breath in the fresh mountain air.

Access in this private home to two full baths, an upstairs bedroom with the same amazing views, the full kitchen, living room, patio and of course the gorgeous garden with every plant and flower you could imagine. Follow any of the easy to follow paths down to the jungle and wander through the jungle, river and waterfall.

A 10 minute drive to a local quaint town of El Castillo for groceries and restaurants, about 30 minutes to La Fortuna for everything else you can imagine, from zip lining to hot springs.

The perfect place to stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Thanks for your kind words...glad you had a great time and enjoyed our home and the surrounding area...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaggieThe...
Petaluma, CA
2 reviews
“Artful modern house with captivating views”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I knew this was the place for us when I saw the views of Mt. Arenal and the surrounding jungle on the rental page. Floor-to-ceiling glass walls, spacious terraces, original artwork, modern kitchen . . . perfectly comfortable and delightful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, architecture, amenities, friendly owner
Liked least: We needed a four-wheel drive to get there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thanks for your kind words about our home...glad you found it to be as special of a place as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing