We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dr.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Birds View Room- stunning views of the volcano
Birds View Room- corner jacuzzi and views of forest
Birds View Room- view of the Arenal Volcano from your queen bed
Birds View Room- the perfect spot for a romantic evening
Birds View Room- full kitchen
Birds View Room- walk in shower and enclosed outdoor shower
Birds View Room- enclosed outdoor shower
What are you looking at?
Relaxing on the observation deck
Outdoor breakfast area with volcano view
Your stay includes a delicious breakfast
Vibrant colors surround the villa
Forest views to the right of the volcano
Lake Arenal to the left of the volcano
Dozens of hummingbirds surround the Garden View Room
Keeping a watchful eye
A view to remember!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
El Castillo, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Johnny U
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Dr. ”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Majestic view of volcano. I would definitely recommend it as a honeymooners. Nature is at your fingertips hear all around you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnny U
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Our perfect nights in elcastillo arenal”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife I enjoyed our stay truly blessed to see such views. You will never want to leave.

View truly magnificent such a site to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarshaHea...
LaGrange
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lived Up to Its Description”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We rented both floors for 4 separate adults. The owner was very accommodating and eager to please. The views are incredible and both floors very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts that were prepared for us and we even enjoyed a delicious dinner made for us after a long day of hiking. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. I gather from the owner that the previous owners had a window washing company acid wash the lower level windows giving the impression of being dirty. Frankly, this would have to be a minor concern since there are beautiful grounds and an outstanding observation deck to enjoy the breathtaking views. I found our host amiable and very willing to give us our privacy and solitude if asked. He was very solicitous to make sure we had everything we needed and arrangements to fully appreciate the areas sights and actvities. Yes, it's an "interesting"" drive to get there but we were advised to get a 4x4 and we did not want to stay at one of the more touristy lodges.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbertaBu...
alberta
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hope you're not scared of Heights”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This is a rental for a select type of guest. First of all have your own rental car, next be prepared to drive a rough road for 45 minutes after leaving pavement( and if you're in Costa Rica you should expect this) next get ready to climb a steep series of hills until you get to the last mile or so when you will climb a really really steep hill to get to the home.

The house is perched on the side of a hill with fantastic views of the lake and Arenal when the clouds lift. The room was comfortable and the bed was good. The cleaning however could be better and for a place marketing it's views it should wash the windows once a decade at least.

DO NOT COME HERE IF YOU HAVE MOBILITY ISSUES. The steps into the house are very steep and a long way up from the drive. It is a round river rock walkway, and very dangerous when wet, which is every day. If you have trouble walking a flight of steps pass this one up.

The owner was a nice guy and pleasant to chat with, he was around quite a bit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view was exceptional
Liked least: cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshata V
2 reviews
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I loved staying at the Bird song villa. The house and the view makes it perfect for a romantic getaway. The view of rainforest, volcano and lake were surreal. Kelly, the house manager was really helpful and had great suggestions for things to do around. A 4WD is good to have to get to the property. We definitely want to go back to this place soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing