We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
298
109
29
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
109
29
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews axos bar lovely bar live band hotel bar self catering air con great holiday lovely hotel the bus large balcony run hotel sky park few minutes walk couples and families bars and restaurants nothing is too much trouble great fun
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2014

We stayed two nights at Axos. The hotel room was fine - nice with a small kitchen and a big balcony. Friendly and helpful staff, WHO e.g. provided a highchair for our son (18 months). The pool is small, and the areas with sun changes throughout the day. Ok kid-friendly pool area. The breakfast was ok, but nothing to boast about. As agreed, we got a Superior Studio, which turned away from the pool and bar. Unfortunately the hotel was on the same floor as - and right by - the reception. This meant some noise - from the reception and common reception area - during the evenings and nights. Wi-fi only worked near the reception and pool. Not in our room or on our balcony.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the pool- and bar area.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Camillawagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manosd, Owner at Hotel Axos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Dear Mr Camillawagner,
My name is Manos Dafermos and I am one of the family owners of Axos hotel. I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and also for the time to write this review. I only reply to your review just to let you know and also other people that might read this, is that ‘’WE DO NOT PROVIDE WI-FI IN THE ROOMS BUT ONLY IN THE PUBLIC AREAS’’ such us the reception, the pool or the bar area. Please if you have seen this in any website advertised that Axos has WiFi in the rooms, do email me at info@axos-hotel.gr in order to remove it because we also had another guest writing this on TripAdvisor. I think that it’s not fair for us to be judged for something that we do not advertise at all on the internet and since I am responsible for all the on-line reputation of Axos, I know that I haven’t included such a facility in the rooms when I make the descriptions or ‘’tick’’ the room facilities.
Thanks again for your kind words about our rooms and about the Axos family
Manos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014 via mobile

First time stay at Axos and not disappointed at all, it is very well located with easy access to both the beach and the national road. The bar is good fun and very friendly without being excessively noisy for guests once the doors are closed.
The apartment was certainly big enough having a main bedroom for myself and wife and a bed in the living area for our 3 year old son. The room was cleaned regularly and clean towels supplied every other day.
The pool area is very clean with plenty of beds and some seating also.the pool is lovely, a decent depth as there is a small children's pool also.
I would certainly recommend Axos for a good well presented clean and friendly place to stay in Crete

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank darrenmurphy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

I would like to review the axos hotel, we stayed here for a fortnight in august, this was our first time we have stayed at this hotel, despite previously staying in platanes twice before. Firstly can I say that our holiday overall was so good we will be back next year, Maria, Anti, Manos, Yiannis & all the staff made our stay possibly the best greek holiday we have had. Over the fortnight there is not one bad thing we can say about the Axos, the hotel, pool area and public area were all kept clean, rooms were cleaned on a regular basis and the staff were friendly and made you feel at home, we look forward to seeing everybody again next year, to anybody who is thinking of going to the Axos but it insure because of negative reviews just book because it is a great place to stay-Ian & Marlene

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank johnburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A real treat to stay here, although we were not subjected to the busy adjacent road, and would not want to be! Excellent apartment, good aircon, comfortable, with maid service every morning and good parking facilities. The pool area is very nice, and just 5 min walk down to an excellent sandy beach: you are also within 5 min walk of many bars, restaurants, shops etc. The proprietors are on hand 24/7 and really nothing was too much trouble and always delivered with a smile. The kitchenette facilities were a little sparse - the very basics are there but no sharp knife, servers etc and cooking for 4 on 2 (wonky)burners is very demanding - only suitable for simple breakfasts really. Would definitely return - the beach and facilities are just so handy,

Room Tip: We had a room not-overlooking the main road (which is noisy 20/7). Just ensure you are not at the front of the hotel. I guess if we had asked we could have had the kitchen equipment supplemented.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DrDavidKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Having never been to Crete, we decided to stay at Axos mostly due to the number of positive Tripadvisor reviews. Unfortunately we were left disappointed for a few reasons.

The “family room” is advertised on their website as being able to accommodate two adults and two children and having a separate living area. Whilst it might have had enough room for everyone to sleep, there definitely wasn’t enough room for everyone to be comfortably in the living/kitchen area, and the awkward room layout meant it was impossible for four people to be able to watch the tv.

Strangely, the shower head in the bathroom didn’t fit the holder, so we had to use the shower as a handheld for the full week, which was a shame.

The airconditioning was another reason we selected Axos, but we found one of the air conditioning units to not be operating correctly, so the front room was never at a comfortable temperature unless the bedroom was very cold. We told the front desk, and in fairness they did send someone to have a look at the airconditioner, but it didn’t make any difference. The airconditioning fans were placed on the balcony, which meant sitting outside on the balcony was noisy and unpleasant. Worse still, rather than having the water pipes from the airconditioning going to a drain, they were going into water bottles! Every evening I had to empty the bottles out to prevent them from overflowing.

We found the cleaning to be completely inadequate. Our room was cleaned, and towels replaced, after two nights, but we were left with the same towels for the remaining 5 nights, which is ridiculous. On the second last night we asked reception for fresh bath towels, and were given a stack on handtowels instead as apparently they’d run out of bath towels.

Other reviewers raved about the friendliness and positive attitude of everyone as it’s a “family run” hotel, but we certainly didn’t feel any more looked after than we have been in larger hotels. We’ve stayed in other family run hotels where the hosts genuinely went out of their way to be hospitable, but didn’t experience that at Axos.

There are a lot of positives mentioned by other reviewers, which I mostly agree with. It was easy to get a sun lounger, and the wifi in the public areas was free and provided good speeds. Parking was also very convenient, and we were able to get a place outside the front door at most times. On the occasions those spaces were full, there was a larger carpark for hotel guests on the side street next to the Maram Restaurant opposite.

It’s a shame our experience at Acxos wasn’t as good as most other’s. Being the peak summer season, maybe they just couldn’t handle operating at full capacity?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CallumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manosd, Owner at Hotel Axos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experience here with us even though from what we read was not the best experience you had and we are truly sorry about this but it was not in our intention to ‘’ruin’’ your holidays. But just some small things that we noticed while reading your review
-First you mention that we advertise that the family rooms have a separate bedroom which is true but you also mention that the there is a separate living area which this is false since we do not advertise that there is a living room separate from the room that the children sleep since the other 2 beds are located in the living room. So I would like you to communicate personally with us at info@axos-hotel.gr in order to let me know where you have seen this advertised in order to have it removed!
-You mention about the towels which in this case we do admit that we had no bath towels to give you for this particular day and we are sorry about this but if you all of our reviews you will notice that this is the first time that something like this is mentioned. This happened because even if we advertise that we change the towels 3 times per week, a lot of guests had their towels on the floor for us to change even if they were not supposed to be changed this day. You mention that ‘’ Being the peak summer season, maybe they just couldn’t handle operating at full capacity?’’ but I would like to inform you that Axos is full from the 15th of May until the 15th of October so trust us this was not the case at all. We had already ordered new bath towels but they were not delivered yet at that time.
-As far as the air-condition, if you see all the guest reviews, you will see that we try to maintain our unit systems as best as we can since this is Greece and gets very warm. When you indicated this problem to us and as you say we did send someone to check it, so we assumed that since you never came back to let us know that it was still not right we couldn’t have known about it so there was nothing we could do more. I can now reassure you that the problem has been resolved now.
-Another thing is that I would like to remind you that since Axos is a ‘’Green Key’’ hotel for the past 5 years, so the air-condition units in all of our rooms in order to run you must have the doors and windows closed so we find it hard to believe that you could not stay in the balcony because of the noise from the air-condition fans since if you were in the balcony you could not have the balcony doors closed.
We would like to thank you for choosing Axos for your holidays and we are truly sorry again if your experience with us wasn’t as good as most our other guests. I've left you already our email and we would be happy to discuss the matter more with you personally if you want to.
Thanks in behalf of the Axos family
Manos Dafermos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews