We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastings with Tasty Food”
Review of Soljans Cafe

Soljans Cafe
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Kumeu
Price range: US$14 - US$26
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Family owned for three generations, Soljans Estate Winery & Cafe is located at the gateway to Kumeu Wine Country, Auckland's heritage wine region. Sample award-winning wines at the cellar door then enjoy exceptional New Zealand cuisine in the highly acclaimed winery cafe.
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

On arrival we tasted some of the local wines, which are exceptional. The cafe was warm and inviting, the staff friendly. The menu and was not extensive but a good variety and matched perfectly with suggested wines. Definitely a must stop on the Wine Trail.

Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Robyn F,

Great to get your review and ultra pleased that everything was to your liking. We are very proud of the wines we make and having customers like you enjoy them very rewarding. Being part of the Kumeu Wine Country wine trail is just great and good for the visitors to learn what we all have to offer. Very pleased you enjoyed Soljans and we hope to see you again very soon.

Regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Saturday lunch to celebrate nanas big birthday. All ages represented. Great meals including good provision for kids meals. House wines of great standard. All meals were enjoyed.

Thank Merv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Merv,

Not sure how I missed responding to this earlier but thank you very much for your kind words. I think it is very important that events such as Nanas Birthday that the range of food we provide can cover all ages and tastes so very pleased that they we all enjoyed. Of course great wine all important and we can provide that as well.

Thank You and Regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Soljans Cafe offered us good food, fine wine and friendly service. However, the high noise level in the restaurant, due to lack of sound proofing or noise omitting materials, is very disturbing.

1  Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Felix T,

I have taken note of your points about the noise and while we do have soundproofing panels on both side of the ceiling it can sometimes get a bit loud.
I was very pleased to see you touched on three important points however, good food, fine wine and friendly service, all the points that ring bells with me and keep our cafe very busy. Thank you for your comments and you may like to try the veranda next time you visit, far more peaceful.
Regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We were on a wine tour and had lunch here. We did the tasting and loved the Sparkling Muscat which is unlike anything we have had before.

We had lunch next to the fireplace which was cosy. People were dining outside as well which was a little cool but had a lovely view of the vineyard.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Duane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Duane W,

We get lots of people in on wine tours and it is a great way to see what wineries have to offer. I am very pleased you liked the Sparkling Muscat, it is one of our most popular wines and has fantastic fruit characters, it has won more awards that any other NZ sparkling wine which we are very proud of.
On a cold day nothing like sitting by the fire or under the veranda with the heaters but leave outside seating until the summer.

Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

it was my first experience at soljans winery, and i loved the staff that had served our table great waiters who were Darlene, and Alethea, Antoinette i will be going back for more great food and awesome service loved the wine tasting AWESOME,AWESOME time i had Thanks for serving us with a Great smile and awesome chat you girls ..u girls ROCK!! beautiful view.
Bernadette

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bernadetterakena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear bernadetterakena,
I am always pleased when people mention the names of the staff that gave them such great service, I take note of it and it means a lot to the team as well. It is a fantastic review and I thank you on behalf of the team as well for posting it and we look forward to you visiting us again in the not to distant future.

Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soljans Cafe also viewed

 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Soljans Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing