We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
fieryred33
Taupo, New Zealand

Heaven at Hotel Lake Brunner

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Sept 2020
Using a Grab One deal we stayed 2 nights at Hotel Lake Brynner for our 37th wedding anniversary .
The hotel is a lovely hotel where the restaurant and bar is situated and the accommodation is behind. The lake view studio room was just perfect. Comfortable beds, fantastic shower, and clean rooms. We ordered the continental breakfast which was ample, way to much for us actually. Service was great for the rooms and the restaurant.
Our room looked out over the lake and was only a short distance to the restaurant.
Lovely walks around the area.
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: The upstairs rooms would have a perfect view of the lake. We were in B7 which still had a great...
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$130
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $130
1.2 km from Hotel Lake Brunner
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
4.4 km from Hotel Lake Brunner
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovely large room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $88
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Hotel Lake Brunner
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Park
$48
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $130
  • Priceline
    $48
  • Expedia.com
    $124
18.9 km from Hotel Lake Brunner
Free parking
One of our guest rooms
$85
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $85
  • Vio.com
    $85
  • eDreams
    $85
20.2 km from Hotel Lake Brunner
Free Wifi
Free parking
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Agoda.com
24.1 km from Hotel Lake Brunner
Free parking
Restaurant
Theatre Royal Hotel
$154
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $154
24.5 km from Hotel Lake Brunner
Free parking
Restaurant
$224
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $224
  • Vio.com
24.5 km from Hotel Lake Brunner
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
24.8 km from Hotel Lake Brunner
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Moana
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
72
51
18
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
51
18
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub lake brunner pleasant surprise railway station burger an amazing view you will not be disappointed an overnight stay comfortable bed new zealand unit views meal accommodation coast west stop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in the older style motel type accommodation. The unit was clean but very basic and the shower was tiny. This was perhaps reflected in the price of $140 for 4 adults
We had a meal in the evening and it was enjoyed by all of us. The guys had the chicken schnitzel with mash and vegetables. Us ladies had the 2 different pastas on the menu and shared these between us. The shrimp and chorizo pasta was very spicy, the chicken was very creamy and delicious. Our room rate included a continental breakfast but it wasn’t available until 9 am and again was very basic. Lovely walk close by thru the bush and over a swing bridge. Unfortunately it was drizzling the day we arrived and heavy rain thru the night and before we left so didn’t see the Lake at its best.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sharpeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2020 via mobile

Good clean room, comfortable bed, lots of lighting, plenty of power points, plenty of space for the two of us.

ok wifi, lots of off road parking

Pub meal was typical NZ pub food .... fish and chips were a good rendition

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2020

I was somewhat disappointed with several issues at this hotel. For example the car parking areas were atrocious at this time of the year, which made it very difficult to make trips from your vehicle to the accommodation without causing some issues with the carpet area of the property. Other problems included the microwave not working properly, water pressure in the bathroom sink and a few other minor issues that all added up to spoiling the visit.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGS05
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here. Great pub with really nice restaurant and generous portions. Lovely log burners keep the place really cosy. Awesome staff and a big shout out to Tasmin who looked after us for the evening. Gorgeous girl who is the epitome of West Coast hospitality. Rooms pretty standard but still really nice with good views. Thanks so much

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rodersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2020

Lake Brunner is a lovely out of the way place with a great feel. The Hotel is divided into the older front part with the restaurant and bar and behind are two stories of modern bedroom units. There was a warm vibe when we arrived and the room was clean, warm and inviting. We had dinner in the restaurant with good service and nice, tasty New Zealand-style food. The wine list was a bit thin but didn't detract from the experience. We were able to walk in the bush and along the lake the next morning before checking out, amazing scenery.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L7510TErichardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews