We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal cottage for two couples and a good spot...”
other travellers have booked this property
Drummeenagh Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drummeenagh Cottage
View from above the cottages Courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Drummeenagh Cottage
View from above the cottages
Courtyard
Sitting room
View from the bedroom
Kingsize bed
Twin room
Pretty courtyard
View from the cottages of rolling fields
Double bedroom
Living area
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castlebellingham, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
101Michae...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An ideal cottage for two couples and a good spot to base for a week”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in cottage 2 with another couple. The facilities are excellent - clean, modern and very suitable for a week's accommodation.Good beds, one bedroom has an en-suite, and washer and dryer available too. It is a good launching spot for Newgrange and Knowth, Carlingford, Kells, Mourne Mountains in Northern Island and a day trip to Dublin by train from Dundalk. There are local beaches too. Owner lives on site and is most helpful. Parking off street but narrow gateway so take care.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable in every way
Liked least: Narrow entry through gate needs care
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2013
Thank you for your great review, it was so nice to meet you all.
You did make the most of our great location visiting many of the local attractions. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.
Please send my kindest regards to the rest of your group.
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Memmingen, Germany
1 review
“Cosy and wonderful!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We (two couples) spent a few days in June in this wonderful cottage and really enjoyed our trip!!
You can feel like home there and the owner, Mrs Cowling, is a very lovely person!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosy atmosphere
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it was so nice to meet you all and I am very pleased you enjoyed your trip to Ireland. I hope that you will return to the cottages in the future, you will always be most welcome.
Kindest regards
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyLoni...
Westmeath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nicest place we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had to stay in one of these beautiful cottages due to partner attending a local course. I really can't even attempt to praise these cottages and the family that owns them highly enough! It's a nicer home away from home, set up to the highest standards and in a picturesque setting!
We had a young baby and didn't need to bring a thing for her, highchair, travel cot even toys were provided for her!
Caroline and her family were so accommodating and friendly. They really couldn't have done anymore for us and we didn't want for anything.
The cottages are spotless and so well kept.
We can't wait to come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Family, Rural Setting Cottages
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2013
Hello Jennie,
Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope to see you all back at Drummeenagh in the future.
Kindest regards
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath B
Pietermaritzburg
2 reviews
“Warmest of welcomes”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This was our second stay in these character filled cottages. Both times have been wonderful. Caroline has accommodated our large extended family, and more recently my husband and I, with such warm welcomes. Nothing is too much trouble for her. We stayed in the 2 bedroomed cottage with every comfort, good fly fishing on the nearby Glyde river, and wonderful countryside to explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of the owner and character of the buildings
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillyAyrs...
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Excellent property. Fresh, clean comfortable cottage. Lots of added touches above and beyond what could be expected. Caroline is a gem. Thank you for a very memorable visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing