We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket list”
Review of Meteora

Meteora
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Kastraki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2018

I spent two amazing days at Meteora. They really do look like they are suspending in the sky which his what Meteora means). Amazing views and I hiked to all the monasteries. They say they are all the same inside, which I found not to be totally true. Some monasteries include museums, Varlaam monastery shows how the room of the monks are and each monastery gives different views of Meteora. I hiked from Kalambaka. Kastraki is even closer but Kalambaka is bigger and has more accommodation choices. If you are not into hiking, you can rent a car, or pay for taxis, whereas buses are the cheapest options. It is truly unique views...

For people with revealing clothes - you can borrow clothes at the entrance of each monastery free of charge. There is entry fee for entering each monastery for foreigners.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Christoforos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"monasteries perched"
in 62 reviews
"rock formations"
in 66 reviews
"amazing place"
in 63 reviews
"out of this world"
in 32 reviews
"bucket list"
in 36 reviews
"holy trinity"
in 51 reviews
"great meteoron"
in 41 reviews
"two days"
in 41 reviews
"huge rocks"
in 20 reviews
"long skirt"
in 22 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 23 reviews
"breathtaking views"
in 45 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 25 reviews
"natural beauty"
in 20 reviews
"dress code"
in 23 reviews
"tour buses"
in 21 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 28 reviews
Filter

210 - 214 of 4,674 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

This is the shortest review I will ever do...
Don’t even think about it, just go...
Truly unique... overwhelming at times.
No photo will prepare you for this place!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Dorianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Not enough space here to review Meteora. People are so friendly and just about everyone I came across spoke English which made our travels so easy. Our lodging was at Hotel Kastraki (loved it) and favourite place to eat was Lithos Taverna (Grilled fresh fish).

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Ashraf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We stayed in Metsovo and drove here in one day. We drove around the monastries in a clockwise direction and went into about 3 monastries. The Meteora one was the most interesting as it had a museum and a display of the old kitchen as well as a beautiful Orthodox church. Generally, you park your car and walk to each monastry . The walks were all different and it was great to reflect on the distance and how the monks and nuns managed it in the past. You are required to pay a few euros to enter each monastry...it is shame you could not buy a ticket to see as many as you liked. The views were spectacular and the engineering skills used to build them fascinating.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank mothershipadrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Absolutely stunning! Not much else to say... A must if you are traveling mainland Greece. It was on my bucketlist for a very long time, so glad it didn't disappoint.
Easy enough access, but get there early for close parking and to avoid all the tour busses.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meteora also viewed

Kalambaka, Trikala Region
 

Been to Meteora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing