We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding property; fabulous location...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cortijo El Ejido
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo El Ejido
Plunge pool with wonderful views and spacious terrace Outdoor dining on the terrace with more spectacular views of the Alpujarras
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Cortijo El Ejido
Plunge pool with wonderful views and spacious terrace
Outdoor dining on the terrace with more spectacular views of the Alpujarras
Relax by the pool
Chill out under the grapevine.
Light and airy living/dining room in the East Apartment.
Bathroom
Each bedroom has two single beds.
Bright and light living room of the West Apartment with private internal courtyard.
Dining and kitchen area in the West Apartment
Each apartment has a well equipped and fully fitted kitchen
With over a hectare of olive and almond groves theres plenty of space for a picnic with a view.
View of Cortijo El Ejido with the pretty village of Mairena in the background, just a 5 minute walk.
Explore the charming village of Mairena
A patio in Mairena
The view from the 'balcon' in Mairena
Cortijo El Ejido from Mairena
Sundowners in the Olive Groves
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mairena, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smallfish...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding property; fabulous location; wonderful views.”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We were so pleased to return to Mairena in October 2016. We had a very special time, a much needed rest and the pleasure of the changing seasonal colours and magnificent sunsets. The weather was fabulous over the week with temperatures up to 32 degrees. We have also spent time in Mairena in the Spring and this too is a magical time with the heavenly perfumes of orange blossom. The Alhambra Palace in Grenada is a must see.

Sue and Mohni have chosen a most beautiful spot in the Sierra Nevada. Their home, Cortijo El Ejido, worked really well for us. We stayed in one of two apartments. Both equally comfortable and fully equipped for self catering with local shops nearby. The apartments are stylishly appointed with wonderful views all around but particularly enjoyed from the front facing rooms and balconies. The views of the mountains reaching out towards the sea are accompanied by magnificent sunrises and sunsets. 

There is plenty to do for a balanced holiday. We walked in the mountains, visited the local vineyard and purchased champagne and red wine which we recommend, Tempranillo Privilegio 2009. We ate in the local restaurant in Mairena and visited the desert. Yet again we found that Mairena was a delicious place to spend whole days relaxing, reading and painting. We returned home restored and plan to return later this year with our extended family.

We were welcomed on the first day and shown where to shop. It was very reassuring to have Sherry, a friend, as a local point of contact if needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Second time as good as the first time in this beautiful, peaceful location.”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Another interesting course from an inspiring teacher who gave us so much support and humour!

Thoughtful, caring hosts who put themselves out for us in so many ways.

Excellent trips to local vineyard, mountain walks, local places to eat.

Can't wait to go back again.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MairenaNe...
Granada, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place to enjoy nature”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I followed a workshop in Sue's house and enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere. Sue provided delicious lunches and is very hospitable. The house is situated in a natural setting ten minutes walk from the the village of Mairena, which is a very charming and authentic village.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A stunning location, an excellent course and and perfect hosts.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My sister and I stayed here for just under a week whilst on a textile course which we both thoroughly enjoyed. The tutor was very skilled in helping us all to develop our ideas and work at our different levels whilst enabling us to have so much fun at the same time.

Our hosts were exceptional in their care and attention to detail. Nothing was too much trouble. They provided excellent meals and snacks and were delightful company whilst we relaxed at the end of the day.

The house is comfortable, well designed, attractive and stylish, perched on the side of the mountain with stunning views over the countryside looking out over terraces of olive, orange and walnut trees and grape vines.

We understand the pool is to be enlarged which will make the house even more perfect. A pool is essential with the heat in August. However, we used the pool in the local village which is very cheap and not far away.

A great base for walking, cycling and exploring the National Park or doing nothing! It's reasonably close to cities such as Malaga and Granada and there are a few villages and one or two small towns nearby. There is a bar and shop in the closest village within walking distance but a car is essential for venturing further afield.

A great place for a very Spanish experience.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene K
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning location if you just want to get away from it all and relax”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This villa is situated in the middle of the Alpujarra mountains in a natural park. It is a 10 minute walk from the nearest village and 10 minute drive from the nearest small town. The villa itself comprises of two appartments that are linked, so great for two families sharing. We went with another family; four adults and four children and it was perfect for us. The villa was very clean and decorated very tastefully with a beautiful patio and seating area outside. The view from the villa is outstanding and you really feel you are in the middle of the mountains.
As this villa is in the mountains a car is essential and prepare to drive everywhere. I would say the villa was perfect except for the swimming pool which is too small for the property however I am assured by the owners that they are making a bigger pool this year. Therefore we did go to the local swimming pool which was really nice and very cheap. I would recommend this villa if you just want to get away from it all and truly relax, however if you have kids that want to be entertained you will have to drive. Granada is beautiful and about one and a half to two hour drive away, Water parks about hour and a half drive away, beaches one to two hours drive away. But we were quite happy swimming in the local pool and eating in the local town and villages.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing