We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
150
75
11
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
75
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charming hotel in town tapas lovely place the hotel staff comfortable rooms small hotel hidden gem stone arch potatoes harbour area stayed one night high standard basque region bar area superior room large room
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Well the outside is charming but the room had no mirror only one in the bathroom but no good for make up so we had to use the window reflection, furniture was rickety and on our first day there was no hot water. The socket in the bathroom was hanging off the wall and there was no shaving point. There was no holder in the shower so we had to use the toilet for our shampoo etc. The chandelier had exposed wires and in order to charge our phones and iPads we had to unplug our bedside lamps as there were not enough sockets in the room. There was no fridge or any other basic comfort in the room. We had a small black fan stuck on a small table by way of air conditioning. The maid just walked into our room the second day when I was getting dressed without knocking.

The shower was good but water ran over the bathroom floor so we had to use a hand towel to stop ourselves from slipping, when we got back to our room later that day the dirty towel was put on our towel rail how disgusting us that! The bed was not changed once in our stay. The shutters on the windows were a nightmare to open as we had to use them so we could have our windows open as night.

The bar staff were excellent, even though on one ossacion I was ignored when they served three new customers and I complained but it was clear they mis-understood the situatuion.

We certainly will not return to the hotel as there are much better ones for the price and much cheaper. Don’t know how it could have that rating of stars.

Room Tip: Quiet at the back
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank SusieFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenaida S, Propietario at Hotel Zubieta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

We are sorry for your disappointmet. We had a breakdown in the boiler on the holiday night, but by 10 o'clock in the morning it was already repaired. As you can see in any information of our hotel we have not air conditioning and not minibar: In case there is a very hot day (very few in Basque Countri), we leave a fan in each room so that guests can use it, and in case guests need to keep something cold we give them the service of keeping it in the hotel fridge. With respect to the rest of his comments, it is a pity that he has not commented with the receptionist because she would have solved it at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

My wife and I were underwhelmed by this hotel. Our room's decoration felt tired, with exposed wiring on the chandelier and harsh lighting overall. The bar area was charming. Breakfast wasn't great, in our opinion. The location is a short walk from the bustling center of Lekeitio, a town recommended by guidebooks (maybe too enthusiastically).

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenaida S, Propietario at Hotel Zubieta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

I regret that you have not enjoyed your stay at the hotel or in Lekeitio and I hope you can visit us at another time to change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

What can I say, this was probably the star of our travelling holiday in NW Spain. The staff friendly and helpful. The rooms comfortable and clean. A lovely terrace for coffee and drinks. The location in a quiet area just a short walk from the beach. I am reluctant to share it but must thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamcB8316OF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenaida S, Propietario at Hotel Zubieta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you very much for your very positive comments. We are happy to read them and to know that you have been so happy in Hotel Zubieta. We hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

on basis of the good reviews we chose this hotel.Although the room was good there was no a.c and no fridge or a minibar.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walking from the harbour and the beach.
The tapas bars on the harbour are not welcoming and even dirty
The beach has no facilities
The Basque country is so wonderful
Unfortunate not this place

Room Tip: try and get the bid room
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cucusido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenaida S, Propietario at Hotel Zubieta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

We regret that you have not been comfortable because of the lack of air conditioning and minibar. We are a country hotel without air conditioning and no minibar in the rooms, but we have fans in the rooms for the few really hot days of the year. We have also a bar with a continuous schedule of 8 to 24 for any fresh drink, and a service in case you had cold foods to keep. Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Have visited this hotel on 4 occasions while cycling round the Basque region. This time I turned up by car with friends. The welcome was warm on each occasion.
The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable.
Bathroom was spotless with lovely powerful shower.
Excellent buffet style breakfast... fruits and cereals, meats and cheeses, fresh selection of breads and pastries. All a cyclist can ask for, fuelling ready for the surrounding hills.
Plenty of character and very unlike the more corporate image hotels. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenaida S, Propietario at Hotel Zubieta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you very much for sharing your positive impressions on us and thank you for visiting us when you come by bike or car. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards from Hotel Zubieta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews