We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic rural retreat near Hadrian's Wall; who...”
other travellers have booked this property
View of Keepers Cottage from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Keepers Cottage from the garden
Ground floor bedroom with 4 poster bed (6 feet wide) Enjoy a cosy night by the fire!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
View of Keepers Cottage from the garden
Ground floor bedroom with 4 poster bed (6 feet wide)
Enjoy a cosy night by the fire!
Upstairs room can be arranged as a twin or double
Poultry in the garden
Upstairs bathrrom and shower with jacuzzi bath
Stone stairs can be fitted with stair gates if neccessary
Local view of Peel crags and Hadrian's Wall
View of the garden
Kitchen area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bardon Mill, Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ghosttown...
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic rural retreat near Hadrian's Wall; who could ask for more.”
Reviewed 24 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Obviously the main draw to the area is Hadrian's wall, but scenery in general is stunning. The cottage, its location, its condition and its privacy are a delight and we couldn't recommend it more. The walk through the woods and along the boardwalk is sensational. The wildlife on the farm is amazing (how many times in your life have you shooed several peacocks away from your barbecue?) and David himself could not have been more welcoming. Keepers Cottage is five star. Don't miss it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2018
Many thanks for your review, and it's great to hear you enjoyed yourselves. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howiep22
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 21 January 2018 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed at Keepers Cottage in April 2017. The owners are friendly, location is great for Hadrian’s Wall. Accommodation was clean and well presented. It was lambing season whilst we were there. Owners happy to allow our two sons to get involved. We keep talking about going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Many thanks for your review. You would be most welcome to come again. Great that Maximilian and Lewis enjoyed the lambing. Regards David and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anby123
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely cottage in a nice area! Great for walking Hadrian's Wall. Lovely cake flowers and wine on arrival much appreciated. Living area is a little small for 4 people, kitchen well equipped. Bedrooms are spacious with very comfortable beds and en suite bathrooms. No wifi working during our stay but owners were away! Otherwise a great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Many thanks for your review, and glad that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear about the wifi problems. Openreach are currently installing fibre optic cables, so hopefully we can join the modern world soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theresabe...
Lake District, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Road”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ho I have just stayed in Keepers cottage and although we had a great holiday I think this cottage is best for walkers as the road is terrible to get to cottage so when visiting sites it is bad to travel on,also I don't think cottage big enough for 4 especially the kitchen,but lovely surroundings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing week”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a very enjoyable week staying at the cottage. The directions sent by the owners were excellent (and needed), and we were very warmly welcomed by Jane. We loved the cake, wine and flowers left for us. We went for a walk to Greenlee Lough almost straight away, which was beautiful and peaceful. Spent most of the week exploring Hadrian's Wall - Vindolanda is particularly fascinating, though we also enjoyed Birdoswald, Chester's, and Housesteads, and the walk from Steel Rigg along past Crag Lough including Sycamore Gap (strenuous but worth it).

The cottage is warm, well decorated and had everything we needed (including access to a washing machine). Wifi is limited to the living room but that was probably good for us! Very much enjoyed our stay and would love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind words! It's good to hear that you enjoyed the cottage, and the area. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing