We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“it was fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Modern, spacious, cozy cottage totally private, with splendid sea views. Bikes on request
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Modern, spacious, cozy cottage totally private, with splendid sea views. Bikes on request
Lots of space to park and a deck to enjoy the view Large comfortable sitting room, with Radio, TV, DVD and internet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Modern, spacious, cozy cottage totally private, with splendid sea views. Bikes on request
Lots of space to park and a deck to enjoy the view
Large comfortable sitting room, with Radio, TV, DVD and internet
Large, modern kitchen, dishwasher, microwave, stove, hob, toaster, fridge, washing machine and space
1 bathroom with electric power shower
lovely sea views
2 upstairs loft bedrooms, 1 double and 1 twin
3 miles to Salthill beach and Blackrock diving tower, 1 mile to Silver strand beach
Close to Nature! Pristine bog scenery at your doorstep, perfect for walks and bike rides
Lots of local wildlife...and some not so wild
Beautiful scenery, this is Connemara and it is beautiful
The Cliffs at Dun Aengus, on Inismor, largest Aran Island, a day trip from the cottage
Incomparable Connemara mountain and lake scenery
Country roads....all to yourself
Romantic Castles everywhere, this one on Galway Bay at Kinvara
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barna, Galway, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
247martin...
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“it was fabulous”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The house was very nice and for us perfect.
I think that we will come back again. We really had a wonderful time.
The owner was very friendly and he was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTN1955
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Helpful host and very comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We struggled somewhat with the directions but once we spoke to Brian we located 'the Hideaway' in Barna. Accommodation was very comfortable in particular the kitchen / dining room which enjoyed lots of sun and was very cosy. Bathroom was sizeable with a good shower and nice thick towels. Brian gave us very helpful directions to the motorway for our early start to Dublin which enabled us to avoid the peak hour traffic around Galway. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Hideaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Friendly host
Liked least: no wi-fi internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polali
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a family getaway”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Idylic location and all the creature comforts. Brian couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. We will definitely be back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
I enjoyed having you stay. Your children were a delight and the weather you brought with you from Dublin, was perfect! Looking forward to your return visit. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaAN...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great location, wonderful host!”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We were absolutely thrilled with our experience here! The cottage is absolutely gorgeous - beautifully done with so much gorgeous wood and tile work - obviously a LOT of time and care has gone into making it the beautiful place that it is. There's an abundance of windows and glass doors, so it's very bright and cheery, with some VERY cool windows mounted in the ceilings on the upper level in the bedrooms and stairway landing. Functionally it had everything you could possibly ask for. Fully stocked kitchen as far as dishes and cooking utensils and miscellaneous pantry items. A large selection of reading material, TV channels, toys and games for the kids if you have them, and wi-fi internet connection. There wasn't anything we felt was lacking at all and actually exceeded our expectations. True to the other reviews we had read, Brian was a plethora of information as far as points of interest. There was one stretch of road, in particular, (through the "Twelve Bens") that we took at his suggestion, that can be described no other way than magical. A true highlight of our trip that we wouldn't have otherwise known about had Brian not spent the time he did with us the night we arrived. He also suggested a wonderful local place to eat in Barna (Donnelly's), which turned out to be the best meal we had in Ireland! Brian was so down to earth and friendly and funny, and his adorable dog, Puff, was the icing on the cake, visiting with us every chance he could. Just a great experience, wonderful location, outstanding host. We truly hope to have the opportunity to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
I am glad you had a great time in the west of Ireland. Thanks for your review. Looking forward to your return. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damien899
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“faultless”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

i recently stayed in barna cottages with my wife and 3 kids (4,4,2) from the moment we arrived Brian was pleasant,helpful and friendly; the accomodation was clean bright plenty of space and even had toys for the kids.
Beds were comfortable ,loads of hot water ,great cooking facilities.
location was fine i know my way around galway so it was only a 8 min shortcut to the city otherwise for the inexperienced 10-15 mins would leave you more than ample time to travel on the main road into galway
we generally stay in galway centre when were here visting....never again il be booking here from now on !its well worth it for the extra 10 mins travellin time .

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your holiday, and I am glad I was able to help you enjoy it. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing