We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family get together 2017”
other traveller has booked this property
Welcome to Dalkeith House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Dalkeith House
Georgian manse in heart of the small village of Newcastleton in the Scottish Borders Stunning interiors with loads of space, large secure garden, sun terrace, dog friendly
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Welcome to Dalkeith House
Georgian manse in heart of the small village of Newcastleton in the Scottish Borders
Stunning interiors with loads of space, large secure garden, sun terrace, dog friendly
don't fancy cooking book the caterers, ours are highly recommended!
fabulous dining room for celebrations and get togethers
relax in the drawing room; wood burner, 50 inch smart TV, sonos and FREE WIFI
Chill in the TV lounge with SKY, gaming and loads of movies
Enjoy cooking in the fabulous kitchen
at the heart of the house
with access all areas!
informal dining in the breakfast, next to the terrace making BBQ's or alfresco dining easy
BBQ and plenty of seating on the terrace for alfresco dining or sundowners!
Sleeps 10 in supreme comfort; red super king with en suite shower room
Sumptuous linens and fluffy towels provided as well as toiletries
Peachy twin with en suite bath and shower
Gold room super king double with en suite bath/shower
Pink twins, share the large family bathroom with the blue bedroom
Superking double or can be twins, share large family bathroom with the pink room
Luscious garden beautiful borders in spring and summer
Access to the garden from 3 doors really makes it part of the house
lots of nooks and crannies to seek peace and quiet in the sunshine
What our guest say or read them on Trip Advisor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newcastleton, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janicelli...
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Family get together 2017”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This was a family get together 8 in th party from Scotland, England and Cyprus, what a marvellous property nothing is left out everything you want and more, the owner Barbara was so welcoming and the Village and people so friendly,we have rented property for last 10 years but we were all agreed this one was top of the list. Thank you Barbara.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Fabulous, thank you all for coming. Delighted you enjoyed our wee village and the house. Best wishes to all, B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanbV56...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“birthday weekend”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Great place for a family celebration . House is beautiful with lovely modern bathrooms and kitchen and we loved the log burner in the lounge and the music sytem was a great hit with all ! would definitely recommend a visit. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review and comments in our book. Delighted the house worked so well for all of you and your expectations were exceeded. Happy birthday to all, hope to welcome you back in the future. B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A Hidden gem in the beautiful Scottish Borders”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The House lived up to its 5 star rating.
Beautiful surroundings Quality fixtures, superbly equipped kitchen and public rooms which adapt to any occasion.
Excellent catering from local Copshaw Kitchen, highly recommend.
Great walks and a friendly village, Kielder lake and Forest a must visit.
Family and friends enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing break at "Dalkeith House" and would hope to return in the future.
Margaret and David Sands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking time to write feedback for us. Delighted you all enjoyed the house and our wee village with all its eccentrics. Glad your dinner party was a great success and everyone enjoyed Robin's cooking. Wishing you all a happy and peaceful festive time, look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_B033
1 review
“Great house in a great little village”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautiful house which was ideal for our party, he everything we needed and more.

Village very welcoming and friendly to! Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Very pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and our wee village. Thank you for taking time to post a review for us. Haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MumsyHarr...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Utterly amazing house in lovely little village.”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed here with my family, husband two teenagers, our little whippet and the in laws. Seven of us all together.
I just don`t know where to start......
The first thing I will say is how clean it was, I don`t mean just normal clean, I mean super attention to detail clean. Really must say a huge well done to the cleaning team, as they do an amazing job,as the house is HUGE!
The other thing that stood out for us , was all the extra little things. Toiletries, lots of lovely thick towels, that smell glorious! Tea and coffee, sugar, cleaning items, too many to mention but we really appreciated all the little extras.
Loved the Sonos sound system too, might be getting one of those!
The house is wonderful, easily accommodating all of us and lots of space to spare.
WI FI is good, important if you have teenagers!
The village itself is quiet but everyone is so friendly and the house is staggering distance to two pubs. Our favorite was The Grapes, really nice family run it and good food served, they also do takeaways.
If you want to just go away and stay put in a house for a complete rest, I would highly recommend, as Dalkeith House is so wonderful, you don`t really need to go outside.
Not one negative thing to say. If I could give it six, or more, stars, i would.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Wow! thank you for taking time to post a review for us. It was lovely to meet you all, we are delighted that the house exceeeded your expectations. I have passed your feedback on to the housekeeping team and the pubs - they miss you! Please do come back and see us next time you need to chill out! Best wishes to all, B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing