We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really comfortable one night stay”
other travellers have booked this property
garden by house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden by house
La Maison du Frere kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
garden by house
La Maison du Frere
kitchen area
double bedroom in Gite
view across the river to potager and fields
the living area
Wallace by gite back door
lavender
a quiet corner by the ordchard
Fishing in the millpond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, Sarthe, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annabel20...
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really comfortable one night stay”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stopped here for one night en route from the ferry port to the south of France, and it was an ideal stopping off place. Elaine, the host, was helpfulness itself, warm, welcoming, and cooked a lovely 3 course meal. The place is well set up for visitors, with a fridge, tea, and coffee, downstairs, also with other drinks to buy. Upstairs, en route for the bedrooms, there is a large games room, ideal for families or for wet days. We stayed in the Blue Room, large, spacious, very well appointed, with a comfy bed.
Outside the mill pond, stream and old buildings are beautiful. The only down-side was that the outside in general, terrace etc, were in need of renovation, the chairs / loungers needed mending. Pity, as it's a lovely place to sit in the evening sun. That said, it's a great place for a stopover. We didn't have time to explore the local area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to give us a review! It was lovely meeting you. (It should be noted that your review has gone against our 2 bed holiday cottage reference - it should have been for our bed and breakfast accommodation. I have told trip advisor about this problem before). It was unfortunate that when we purchased the new sun loungers at the beginning of the summer, we didn't remove the worn out ones! This has now been rectified and we've added more new chairs so that there is now seating for 12 outside in addition to the sun loungers. Having been declared a natural disaster zone at the end of May, due to flooding - the outside area sustained quite a bit of damage this year. In addition the front parking area was dug up by the local authorities to enable the installation of fibre optic cable which should speed up our internet provision. Thankfully, the outside areas are now back to their normal well-maintained condition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Wonderfully friendly hosts, lovely house and immaculate rooms. Cute doggy too! Watch out if booking rooms on 2nd floor- stairs not suitable for the very old/young. Would highly recommend as stop over/holiday. Great food :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stopped over here on the way home from our family holiday in the South West of France, opting to break the journey with an overnight stay. What a great choice, Elaine and Phil were the ideal hosts, the building is amazing, a real credit to both, the rooms were excellent, very clean and well equipped. After a long drive, the offer of refreshments on arrival were very welcome. We had opted to take advantage of the evening meal and this proved to be an excellent choice, aperetifs on the patio were followed by a superb meal, accompanied by good wine, Elaines cooking is to be commended, as well as her friendly and attentive but unobtrusive manner, ably supported by Phil. Following a very comfortable night, the continental breakfast, accompanied by delicious home made jams set us up for the remainder of our journey. I thoroughly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Excellent hosts, superb accomodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Cave Creek Az
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I was really lucky to find this gite, and Elaine and Phil who have been wonderful during my stay. The gite was just perfect, proper kitchen, tv, internet, and soft beds. It is so very peaceful here, waking to the sound of the mill stream and birds singing, and there are lots of birds. The potager is fantastic and Elaine cooks with all of her own produce. There are some nice restaurants nearby an the villagers made me feel very welcome. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and look forward to returning again next year. Thank you Elaine Phil and of course my little friend Wallace ( the dog) who kept me company.

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rizla58
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“what a great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

stopped here with friends for our trip to the le mans moto gp, elaine and phil are great hosts, oh and wallace,very nice surroundings, rooms are spotlessly clean and tidy, a very pleasent ride to the track from here, took about 20 mins, would recommend this place for sure and will deffo stop here again next year now we have found it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing