We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Art comes in many forms

Having visited Ruderi di Poggioreale some 7kms to the east and driven around this area devastated... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2014
VCB_10
,
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Beautiful - good work out. Bring water and picnic

This is a beautiful and serene place to visit. I found myself wishing we had brought water and a... read more

Reviewed 14 August 2018
travelingworkingmom
,
Los Angeles, California
via mobile
Read all 244 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Gibellina
from US$19.97
More Info
from US$5.80
More Info
from US$40.30
More Info
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
119
78
24
7
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
78
24
7
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street plan ruins site artwork concrete di roads destruction land village
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2016

The reviews I read abut it and the recommendations told me that I would find the destroyed houses. But we only found the Cretto di Burro with no one to explain. Some explained to us when we returned home. It is difficult to arrive thre, but for sentimental valuer it worth a visit.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

This huge expanse of awe-inspiring landscape artwork was created by Alberto Burri between 1984 and 1989. Burri covered the ruins of the town of Gibellina, which was completely destroyed by an earthquake in 1968, with a smooth and undulating cover of concrete where deep path-sized grooves preserve the original street plan of the town. The site has been recently reopened after renovation. There is nothing in the world like it.

The experience of walking through this construction evokes a mix feelings: reverence, playfulness, peacefulness, wonder, sadness, distress. Many bodies were never recovered, so the concrete with its streets is not only a work of art but also a tomb.

Understandably, many of the quake’s survivors who live in the rebuilt Comune di Gibellina, some 20 km west of the original town, are not happy with what Burri has done. This may explain the inadequate signage and difficulty finding the mammoth artwork. The drive itself is breathtakingly beautiful.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank campanero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Having visited Ruderi di Poggioreale some 7kms to the east and driven around this area devastated by the January 1968 earthquake we were able to find the site, and whilst managed to get fairly close to it, apparently shouldn't have done as currently closed for renovation work! Even from a slight distance you get a feel for what has been done by Alberto Burri who to quote from the noticeboard, "...transformed the ruins into a work of art. Cement blocks are crossed by regular fissures which basically reproduce the street layout of old.". It is quite fascinating and certainly thought provoking.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank VCB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews